We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to write home about”
Review of Hotel Philia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Philia
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Podgorica
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We need hotel for night sleep on our way from the shore to Dormitor - the hotel was perefectly all right but nothing special. We had a familly suite - which is one large room with double bed and sofa bed. Breakfast was OK - actually every thing was OK but alltogether nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    21
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
14
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
east sussex
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I like to be in small hotels and this was one of the best. The staff were friendly and could not do enough for you. It was lovely to sit out in the garden and have your food. I was sorry they got a bad review because of a dog barking as I was there and didn't hear it.

The breakfast is good with lots of variety but the hotel doesn't do evening meals but they will order something in for you from a nearby restaurant.

Parking is good at front of hotel and I would definitely stay here again if I return to Montenegro.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrspink3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

They relocated me to lower priced room which was not as comfy. Staff were very apologetic next morn. Owner made no attempt to do the same. Just smiled the whole time like he thought the situation was okay, who knows maybe the show dog owners were his personal guests.
Price was reduced to level of downgraded roomnot for the discomfort caused. Only room left was next to reception so heard everyone coming and going, thus awful sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gonetoplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tivat Municipality, Montenegro
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

As full-time residents of Montenegro living on the coast, we rarely need to stay overnight in Podgorica. Previously we used a city centre hotel, where parking was very difficult, but as it was full for the night we needed, we tried the Philia. For us, ideal. Right side of town for the places we had to go to. Spacious comfortable and clean (cleanliness is not something you take for granted in this part of the world!) bedroom overlooking a field on one side and quiet gardens on the other. Also, on-site parking. Very friendly reception and a perfectly sufficient breakfast rounded off the experience (we had the extra cost option of espresso and cappucino not the standard breakfast coffee, so cannot comment on another reviewer's remarks on the topic). Another plus point is that it is markedly cheaper than the city centre option. Definitely the place we'll stay in future.
The only downside was that the first impression of the room, as non-smokers, was that someone had smoked in it, as to our sensitive nostrils there were traces of cigarette smoke. We were offered another room, but decided anyway to tolerate the very faint smell, which in fact was not as persistent as our first impression. As anyone familiar with the Balkans knows, smoking is a way of life, with overflowing ashtrays beneath no-smoking signs.
Not a problem for us, but possibly for those for whom movement is difficult, is that there is no lift.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back look onto fields; the front faces the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uropwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Excellent service, beautifully appointed and spacious rooms and public areas. The staff was friendly and helpful for the entire stay. Apparently we were the only ones, so though buffet was closed, but we were given the option to order whatever we wanted, and it was delicious.

If you are visiting Podgorica (which we weren't), it may be a too far out, but I suspect most people in the area will have their own car, so it shouldn't be a problem.

I read a review about noise complaint. It is on the "main" road into town (which is just a two-lane road), but we had a room on the side with a semi-view to the road and couldn´t hear anything. To the contrary, it was a huge advantage to be easy to find as we arrived late and I didn't feel like getting lost in town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles

Helpful?
Thank salkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

This hotel is on the road to/from Cetinje and the road noise is quite loud with the windows open. Our air conditioner decided not to work during the night. Breakfast is adequate but the coffee is the second worst so far in Montenegro. The rooms are old but reasonably well kept. No toiletries but pump soap supplied. Beware there are no self serve/coin laundries to be found in Podgirica. Even though this hotel said we couold do our own laundry there, we foud out otherwise on check in.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teaneff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

This hotel was situated in a quiet location just outside the main town area. It was within walking distance if you dont mind a 25min walk. Taxis were the best way to travel, very cheap and easily accessible from hotel reception. The hotel is small but the rooms were clean, not overly spacious but comfortable enough for a short or longer stay. The bar stayed open all hours, reception was helpful and the food was interesting and tasty. Breakfast was plentiful, hot or cold options available, would recommend the omelettes! If there was something you wanted that was not on offer the hotel would try and get it for you for the next morning. The local bread was very tasty too. There is a comfortable lounge area to sit if you wish. Staff were very accommodating (apart from one, who closed the bar early to party with his friends). We had to leave at 7am on our last morning but the restaurant opened up for us at 6am and made sure we had a good helping of the hot/cold breakfast bar. There is a local small supermarket close to the hotel if you needed anything. Free internet service was available in the lounge area. In all a very reasonably priced hotel offering a very good standard of service.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Podgorica
1.8 mi away
Hotel Podgorica
Hotel Podgorica
#6 of 17 in Podgorica
136 reviews
23.1 mi away
Hotel Vardar
Hotel Vardar
#3 of 4 in Kotor
224 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Podgorica Crna Gora
Hilton Podgorica Crna Gora
#3 of 17 in Podgorica
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ramada Podgorica
Ramada Podgorica
#4 of 17 in Podgorica
233 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Keto
Hotel Keto
#7 of 27 in Podgorica
49 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel M
Hotel M
#3 of 27 in Podgorica
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Philia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Philia

Property: Hotel Philia
Address: Cetinjski put bb, Podgorica, Podgorica Municipality 81000, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Podgorica Municipality > Podgorica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Podgorica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Philia 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Philia is an authentic building with architectural synergy of modern and old elements and it is situated only 5km from down town Podgorica. It is positioned along the highway Podgorica-Cetinje and it has parking spaces at its disposal which corresponds to hotel capacity. Hotel Phila has 26 beds + 3 auxiliary beds allocated in 12 rooms and 3 suites. Vividness of the hotel capacity is the reflection of the complete privacy of each unit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Philia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philia Hotel Podgorica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing