We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, great location, friendly staff: only a bit expensive”
Review of Hotel Conte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Conte
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perast
Certificate of Excellence
Milano
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice, great location, friendly staff: only a bit expensive”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Perast is a very special location and Hotel Conte is right in the heart of it.
What they describe as an apartment, actually is a hotel suite: a big room with a leaving room area and minibar.
Staff is very helpful and friendly. Kids and babies are welcome.
Breakfast is good and very rich.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilou72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    64
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
44
117
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The location is very nice, but the service is bad. You can´t get a table next to the water, even when the places are free. After paying the bill, they really make it clear that they want you to move. Maybe we had a bad waiter... but they have to do something about this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bram B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed here for one night in May 2013, an attractive hotel with nice rooms. Still, one gets the sense that the true Hotel Conte experience goes to those with rooms at the front as opposed to the front. Ours was at the back, which meant the same price for no sea view and the sound of the kitchen below (someone hammering for an hour or so). These rooms should perhaps be cheaper. also, and quite bizarrely, they only had cheap shower gel and no shampoo / no way to call reception from the room.

Nonetheless, the location is great and the restaurant downstairs is lovely with a great choice of food and the single friendliest waiter I have ever met. Breakfast is fine too, so fresh it is made to your choosing in the moment.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the front with a sea-view and no above the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, ME
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a postcard perfect spot on the road beyond Kotor. The hotel is right on the water with an outdoor cafe and excellent indoor restaurant. Our room overlooked the entire bay. Great bed and bathroom. One minute walk to the water taxi to visit the two islands in the view from our room. Off season the excellent free breakfast and check out is not available until 10 so tell someone if you plan to leave early. This is a tiny unspoiled town with this wonderful hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rweis1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We suddenly decided to stay in this hotel after a dinner at restaurant's terrace. The location is great.
They have very good food. The majority of the staff is great and very attentive (especially 2 waiters).
The receptionist was very friendly and help us a lot. It is odd that they photocopy ID's.
The room was in the second building next to the main. The junior suit we booked had some minuses: there was a below space at the main door; the bathroom is not that good; the bedroom was without AC (only the living room).
Even if they do not have buffet breakfast (or they didn't have it then) we were late for it. But it was beautiful summer day and we ordered a la carte instead (and paid ;)) ).
Anyway, we are planning to go again :)

Room Tip: Anyway not the one in second building beyond the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyagepreneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We spent four nights at the Hotel Conte and stayed in the room with the balcony - room 6. It was a spacious room with a small balcony overlooking the bay, albeit partially blocked by the belfry in front. Please note the church is next to the belfry and the bells ring at 6am every morning so you won't need to set your alarm if you need to be up early.The room is detached from the hotel in a separate building about sixty steps uphill. Unlike other reviews, we were offered help in taking our luggage up to the room which was a nice gesture. The shower was very modern and the room had a fridge too. A few annoying points however were the TV and not being able to get wi-fi, which is only available in the main hotel building. The TV could only pick up a few channels despite there being a satellite / cable box. There was no remote control for the satellite box so we couldn't vary the sound on the TV which was quite low. We mentioned this at reception but they said it hadn't been connected fully by the engineer. It's not the cheapest of places to stay so I think things like this should be sorted.
Staff are friendly though, especially the waiter at breakfast, we think his name is George. Breakfast was brilliant, lots of fresh fruit, bread, preserves. You also have a choice of eggs or a cold platter of cheese and cold meats. We ate at the restaurant three times during our stay and every meal was excellent. Lovely setting in the evening next to the bay.
The main road is many, many steep steps uphill but if you are relying on public transport there is a small bus to Kotor, run by Blueline, which picks up just outside the hotel once an hour and is just €2.
We had to leave early on the day we checked out so settled the bill the night before (credit cards accepted) and as we would have to leave before the breakfast service begins at 8am, the girl at reception asked us if the kitchen would like to make us up a breakfast to take away which was brilliant and very welcome. All in all, I would stay again and we would have given it full marks had it not been for the TV and the lack of wi-fi in the bedroom.

Room Tip: Rooms in the hotel building itself benefit from wi-fi in the rooms, balcony room is in a separate bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraieemTchad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We spent 3 nights in Perast and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel's food is the best in the town, fresh seafood not to be missed. The breakfasts are also great with a massive choice. We had a very relaxing few days, sunbathing and swimming. Our room was very nicely decorated and seemed recently updated as the tv wasn't wired and didn't work.

My only comment would be that if you are staying for a week or longer I would look at renting an apartment. There are lots in the town and would be much cheaper than a week in a hotel. If staying for a few nights, hotel conte is definitely the best place in town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perast
2.0 mi away
Casa del Mare
Casa del Mare
#3 of 17 in Herceg-Novi
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Per Astra
3.6 mi away
Regent Porto Montenegro
Regent Porto Montenegro
#1 of 8 in Tivat Municipality
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#1 of 17 in Herceg-Novi
208 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
302 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa del Mare-Amfora
Casa del Mare-Amfora
#1 of 1 in Orahovac
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Conte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Conte

Property: Hotel Conte
Address: | Obala Kapetana Marka Martinovica BB, Perast, Kotor Municipality 85336, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Perast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Conte 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the former House of Culture and a step away from the Church of St. Nicholas, Hotel Conte (****) and its restaurant are located on the coast, on the main square in Perast and have a formal status of Historical Significance Object. In an environment adapted to the unique architecture of Perast, Hotel offers elegantly decorated rooms and suites, with breathtaking views of the Bay of Kotor. Known for its authentic ambience and a large selection of traditional dishes of the Mediterranean cuisine, Restaurant Conte is specialized in organization of weddings, business lunches, seminars and other types of gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Conte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing