We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Informative museum and stunning location”

Our Lady of the Rocks
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.57*
and up
Our Lady of the Rocks - Express Tour by Speedboat from Kotor
Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in Perast
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Informative museum and stunning location”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a wonderful short trip to take when in Perast. You can get a boat to the islands (5 euros return) with Our Lady of the Rock being the most popular of the two. This man-made island is a real little gem with a wonderful church and attached little museum (entrance to the church is free but there is a 2 euro entrance fee for the museum). There was a very informative guide on hand who explained the amazing history of the island and the various icons and objects that decorate the interior of the church or which can be found in the museum. For such a small little island it really has a lot to keep you very interested and engrossed. Well worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    250
    68
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
190 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Picture perfect”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We didn't do the boat trip as we were on a schedule. However the village and the view of the bay and the church is beautiful and worth a visit. The whole kotor Bay Area is beautiful and successfully avoids the any over restoration. It's not disneyfied, it's real life and very beautiful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Murray007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Marvelous!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Nothing to dislike. An extraordinary place that must be visited while in Montenegro! It is in Perast and you can enjoy some of the terraces first and then go to explore this unique place filled with faith and art.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ljosipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
681 reviews
332 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,758 helpful votes
“Worth the boat trip”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

A fantastic view from the shorleline and a great photographic opportunity, but if you have the time its worth hiring a boat - take a small fishing boat if you can, just to view the island for yourself as the church itself is so unique and the story behind it fascinating

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SurreyGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“A lovely church on a man made island in the Bay of Kotor”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We arrived here by a tour boat from the nearby village of Perast. This small village has 16 preserved sea captains palaces and once had a bustling harbour. Today, while it is very picturesque it is much quieter. The water across from the village was calm and clear and we passed another island which is called the Dead Captains Island which was derived from a story some time back. It also has a church, but nearby is this man made island which took 200 years to build by seafarers.A painting of Madonna and Child was found on rocks here.
Now mainly concrete but the church has a story to tell. The church is not huge but very ornate inside and over the years people have donated items to thank for being saved from the sea. various items include, Grecian, Roman, ship parts including anchors, paintings and even old irons. Most were also donated from the nearby village of Perast. One lady spent 25 years doing a needlepoint of Madonna and Child which hangs on a wall. Not too large and the reason probably being that it took 650 stitches in gold and silver thread to do 1 centremeter! All patterned by the same lady. I really loved this church and its grand outlook over sweeping views across the large bay and especially towards Perast and the mountains beyond.
One of my special treats on our 5 week holiday around some European countries.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Niec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Our Lady of the Rocks also viewed

Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 
Cetinje, Cetinje Municipality
 

Been to Our Lady of the Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing