We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location”
Review of Hotel Admiral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Admiral
Ranked #4 of 7 Perast B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This restaurant has to have one of the best locations in the world. It is located on a jetty in front of the hotel in one of the prettiest villages - Perast - on the coast of the fjord. The views of the fjord and the mountains are amazing. Small boats go by and about half way through our meal a cruise liner. As the sun went down and sparkled on the water it would be hard to find many more romantic settings.

The food was excellent and good value for money. The waiter painstakingly filleted my sea bass - barely a bone left. We did find here, and at some other restaurants, that waiters do need to be more relaxed and friendly. Having said that our waiter was very helpful and attentive.

We had visited the restaurant a previous day for a well needed drink. We had decided to return to celebrate our wedding anniversary. In so many ways it lived up to or expectations but one major disappointment and concern. Like so many eating places in Montenegro - smoking at the meal tables should not be allowed. Unhealthy for those eating and who do not like smoking. Staggering how many were smoking in the prescence of young children. This needs to be brought in line with non smoking policies in so many other European countries.

Room Tip: We did not use the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAUL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    10
    10
    5
See reviews for
9
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I only had a dinner at their restaurant - we asked for grilled fish, salad and french fries instead of usual side dish for me. The waiter served us with one large plate of french fries, one large plate of a single average size fish and side dish, plus two small plates you would ordinarily use for appetizers. We sat at the table right next to the sea in the sunset, the weather was perfect, the town of Perast beautiful with just enough tourists.. and we were served with two small appetizer plates to share a single fish... dinner did not cost us much as the waiter was so considerate of our budget and diet, but I really find it a shame that they do not provide better service. Running a restaurant business with such a view should be considered a privilege.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamaroglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful view spot. However, considering the hefty price we paid for one night versus inhospitable owner ((who at one point started yelling at his staff that was translating his message to us) . If you end up there you will not beleive it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarvinBest_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perast hotels

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
99 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

we stayed 10 days in this charming hotel, just in front of the sea. The hotel has a restaurant just on the sea, it is fantastic. There is also a courtyard to park the car.
Perast is a perfect place to visit the area far from the crowd of Kotor.

Room Tip: try to have the room with the balcony on the first floor.No better place to watch the sunset .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londra_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This hotel is in an incredible spot in the cutest little town you have ever seen, and it is right on Kotor Bay with a breathtaking view that includes a couple islands with old churches or monasteries. The dining room sat on a stone pier right in the bay. My girl and I sat there for many hours just talking because it was so pleasant.

BUT, some of the staff, and particularly the owner, is pretty surly and just plain inhospitable. They don't seem to grasp the concept of "hospitality" industry. I assume it is sucha a noce place that people stay there anyway no matter how they treat guests. If they had competition they would be gone pretty quickly. The room I reserved was gone when I arrived -they said it was a "mistake' but I had just talked to her less than an hour before arrival and someone was unpacking in my room when I arrived. They lied.

Rooms are very small and not very nice for the prices. The room we had was a little bigger than my closet at home and the bath had a sloping ceiling that made it completely useless. What they call an "apartment" is just a basic room really.

Anyway - in spite of these issues we enjoyed this little town immensely, especially an evening stroll along the waterfront. I just would not recommend more than on night here - ever!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intlmanmystery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We have just returned from our first visit to Montenegro and Perast. The Hotel Admiral is a former Palazzo and is in a wonderful location right at the water's edge. It is a small and friendly place to stay and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The food at the restaurant is very good quality and good value for money and the views are breathtaking.

Room Tip: View the pictures on the website. We had room 102 which was at the side (so much needed shade in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suarez64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perast
0.1 mi away
Hotel Conte
Hotel Conte
#1 of 2 in Perast
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Per Astra
3.5 mi away
Hotel Pana Kotor
Hotel Pana Kotor
#4 of 4 in Dobrota
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#1 of 16 in Herceg-Novi
203 reviews
3.8 mi away
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dobrota
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monte Bay Retreat
Monte Bay Retreat
#1 of 7 in Perast
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral

Property: Hotel Admiral
Address: Obala kapetana Marka Martinovica 82, Perast, Kotor Municipality 85336, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Perast
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Perast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the fantastic location surrounded by the sea, with cordial staff and warm, family atmosphere, we'll provide you, at least for a short period of time, forget habits which modern way of life carries and enjoy in the charms of a true holiday. Hotel Admiral has 8 double rooms, each with TV, DVD player, air condition, mini bar, wireless internet connection, sea view. Hotel has restaurant with the amazing view of the Boka bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing