We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun, beach and city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hunguest Hotel Sun Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Herceg-Novi
Serbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Sun, beach and city”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

All in one. This hotel is very good located, at the beach and walking promenade, but also close to the heart of old city in Herceg Novi. Very good that hotel have his own parking, because this is a very big problem in the whole city. Few diferent hotels buiding and rooms can satisfied a various needs, from families to young people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    50
    48
    18
    10
See reviews for
48
53
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights at beginning of group trip. The entire experience at this hotel was very poor. Upon entering the room, the first thing that greeted us was very dirty stained carpet along with pretty worn chairs. As it was quite warm in the room, we attempted to turn on the AC and discovered only heat coming out. We then proceeded to open all the windows - much to my surprise, I was quickly eaten alive by mosquitoes.

Then upon really looking in the bathroom, I discovered we only had a bathtub - no shower. Fortunately, we're mobile folks - as the bathtub had quite high sides and a strange shape. I went to the front desk to inquire about a room with a shower and was basically told that all the rooms were like ours - with just bathtub - along with a bit of an attitude from the front desk personnel. I later found out this was NOT true. I was NOT happy having to "swim" in my own dirt to bathe. - or with the black mold around the sink and bathtub.

The dinners were OK at the hotel, breakfast not really. Worst part of breakfast was ONE automated coffee machine to supply coffee to everyone at breakfast. The coffee line was like something you'd imagine in the old Communist regime!

The entire stay at this hotel was rather "third world" or what you'd of expected under the Communist regime.

Only plus side was the location directly on the Bay of Kotor - very beautiful setting and very nice sea promenade where you could walk great distances in either direction. The hotel pool also looked pretty decent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikesluckywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Herceg-Novi hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel has a very good location, near the sea and the promenade. No problem with the parking place, it is near the hotel on 3 levels. Very good breakfast. They offer the possibility to choose your room at your arrival. The staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radu974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We used this hotel as a base to explore the Bay of Kotor. One caution, we used booking.com to make our reservations – about 2 months in advance. I had made several reservations knowing that per booking.com I could change them with no penalty. However, I tried to change this one and found that the fine print had¬ read that even at 6 weeks away we would be charged for the full stay. So we built our trip around those dates and everything worked out. I have read some of the negative comments about the hotel but I have to say our room was nice, for us the hotel staff was helpful, pool was nice and the beach is only steps away. We did have a problem with them being out of towels one day, but that was minor. The all-inclusive breakfast and dinner was very good for the price - 10€ for dinner I think. The dining area overlooks the water, parking is adequate and free.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidD841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Having read the previous review, mentioning the problem with the balcony window parting company with the frame, I was a little nervous about staying here. We decided to go for it and turned up without a booking. We got in for a couple of nights without any drama. Indeed there was a problem with the window! It is the type where you rotate a handle 90 degrees to tilt the window and another 90 degrees to slide it. I have seen these at other hotels and they are always a problem. I was able to close it with a bit of force. We did not want to use the balcony, so it stayed shut. We also had some problems with the electronic room keys. The computer that was meant to write them, was not working well and then the battery died in the lock. They quickly sorted out these issues when I went to reception.

The hotel in general could do with a little upgrading outside, especially the pool area. That is the end of the niggles. Aside from the problem with the window, the room was excellent. There was plenty of space and they provided a good cot for our daughter. The air conditioning was very effective, the bathroom modern and clean, comfortable bed, clean and soft linen. We all slept well, especially our 7 month daughter who slept through the night for the first time.

Breakfast was excellent with a good selection and lunch by the pool was nice. We did not take dinner there, so cannot comment on that.

The pool is a good size, but not heated, like all others in Montenegro. There is a smaller shallow pool for young children too. The beach is really a concrete platform where you can enter the sea and sunbathe. So it is too deep for young children. You can walk a hundred metres to a public beach.

Internet is a wired connection in the rooms, reception will loan a short cable. Bring a long one if you want to laze in bed with your laptop.

Overall, this was a very good stay and at a good rate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davestly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights. The upside is the view, and the pool. Then I opened the glass door to the balcony, and found I couldn't close it properly. I tugged on it and the entire door and frame came out from the wall by several cm. I was able to partly replace it but anyone could have broken into our room thereafter. The buffet dinner was generally good, but it was quite a feeding frenzy.

Room Tip: Apart from the above major structural problem, the poolside suites were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelrangerSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We are spending now a full week in Sun Resort, first time after being here 3 times for long weekends.
The location of the hotel is really great, large space direct access to the sea with hotel beach reserved. There is a great swimming pool inside, with a direct view to the sea and you can enjoy great sunsets from there if you wish so.
The place is in beteween of Herceg Novi, noisy party areas, still one night club is "entertaining" you by night nearly every day. The brekfast is good, the restaurant is offering good quality food if you do not like to walk. In the evening we prefer the south direction for walks and great seafood dinners. The hotel has tennis playgroung as well, with a long time not fully fit net - it is possible to play, but do not plan "pro" games. The hotel has a very spa area as well with massage. The hotel is offerning very good additonal programs, like boat and bus tours, fishing and rafting. Good quality and very good service we've experienced with all tours we did. It is very much recommended for families, kids are welcome and they will feel very well.
Somif you want to stay in one or take some excursions, walks the hotel is really best fit - plus the panorama is really great.

Room Tip: Do not take first raw to sea, might be noisy due the party music. The second raw is much more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ferenc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herceg-Novi
1.4 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#1 of 16 in Herceg-Novi
203 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Xanadu
Hotel Xanadu
#3 of 16 in Herceg-Novi
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apart Hotel Kukoljac
Apart Hotel Kukoljac
#4 of 16 in Herceg-Novi
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Casa del Mare
Casa del Mare
#2 of 16 in Herceg-Novi
103 reviews
0.9 mi away
Igalo Spa
Igalo Spa
#3 of 4 in Igalo
45 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#1 of 2 in Bijela
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunguest Hotel Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunguest Hotel Sun Resort

Property: Hunguest Hotel Sun Resort
Address: Ul. Sveta Bubala bb, Herceg-Novi, Herceg-Novi Municipality 85340, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Herceg-Novi Municipality > Herceg-Novi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Herceg-Novi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Herceg-Novi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunguest Hotel Sun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hunguest Hotel Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunguest Hotel Sun Herceg-Novi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing