We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel”
Review of Hotel Blue Star

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Blue Star
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Budva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2009

The room was nice and clean, the breakfast was a little bit poor, but I think the price is too much comparative with the quote.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sghelbereu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 94 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2009

A friend of mine told me about the hotel and im glad they did.
It was a friendly place to stay 5 Min's from were you need be be in Budva
old town.The rooms are very comfortable and service was grate. All in all
not a bad place to stay for the money in Budva, as it can be very expensive
in the bigger hotels near by.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gibo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

I arrived at the hotel during high season and it was perhaps the only room left in Montenegro. I was a bit shocked to pay 100 euros per night, but the room was nice and it was, afterall the high season. I had no running water on the morning that I left, so I was unable to bathe prior to a 9 hour bus ride where I sat uncomfortably knowing that my odor was probably quite offensive to the 50 other passengers aboard. When I brought it to the attention to the person at the front desk, he was unable to do anything except charge my credit card for my stay. I didn't expect much from him, personally as he was the late night worker, however, I certainly expected running water from a 4 or 5 star hotel, which, when one does the currency conversion, was every bit as expensive as one in Paris, London, or New York.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank oghueyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2007

We were there two nights between Xmas and New Year. The weather was clear and sunny but cold at night....which led to our first problem...no heating. The aircon is supposed to double as a heating system. It didn't. Vaguely warm are dribbled out at a pathetic rate. We were cold and they had no portable heaters to offer us. Someone did come to fix it but all he did was to confirm it wasn't working. Brilliant !!
We were offered an alternative room only to lug our cases (no help!) up two floors to find twin beds rather than the kingsize we'd left behind ! We opted for the kingsize. Nothing else was available apparently, even tho the place seemed half empty.
Which brings us to the beds. Possibly the hardest I've ever had the misfortune to sleep on. We had to use the spare thin duvet as extra padding. Never again !
Bathroom - hair dryer was next to useless. Bring your own !
The shower tray had not been installed properly and the sealant had split from the wall. Water was seeping under the shower tray and out onto the floor at the front. I dread to think what the underneath of the tray looked like ! Black with mould I would imagine !
Food varied between bad and awful. We had dinner the first night and it was bad. Breakfast the following day was even worse. I'm not sure what it was they served us as coffee...I think that it might have been well used Castrol GTX. It certainly had no taste of coffee! The food was as bad.
We didn't eat in the 2nd night.....
2nd morning's breakfast was better as they had a full buffet. Where was this the previous morning ????? Even had palatable coffee. Ask for Nescafe, i.e. instant, but it is VERY milky.
Beware the stairs in the hotel. They are marble and have no gripper strips across them. They are VERY slippery. I fell badly on the first night and still have problems over a month later (cartilage or ligament?). If it was the UK I'd be sueing !
A shame really. The hotel is new and smart but does not live up to expectations. Poor food and maintenance need to be addressed. I would not expect to pay €180 per night for this !
p.s. the reception staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BATS666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Nenad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wolfgang G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Ayse a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budva
0.4 mi away
Hotel Budva
Hotel Budva
#3 of 25 in Budva
180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Lux
Vila Lux
#14 of 25 in Budva
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Slovenska Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Meridian
Hotel Meridian
#7 of 25 in Budva
63 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Montenegro Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Dukley Hotel & Resort
Dukley Hotel & Resort
#22 of 25 in Budva
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Star

Address: Mainski put bb, Budva, Budva Municipality 85310, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Budva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Budva
Price Range: $69 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Blue Star 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Star Hotel 4* is a city hotel located in the heart of Budva close to the old town and administrative offices. It is 15 km from Tivat International Airport and 70 km from Podgorica Airport. Our hotel offers 24 beautiful rooms and apartments with views of a quiet street and a garden. The hotel’s main restaurant serves international dishes and offers a wide variety of wines. In our café Bonjour, you are welcome to try desserts and cakes prepared daily in our own pastry. Our hotel’s location makes it a perfect choice for a business traveller. Our experienced staff can help you make the most of your trip to Montenegro – help with getting around the city, renting a car, booking tickets, etc. Our conference room, comfortably arranged for small-scale meetings and events, is also at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Blue Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing