We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel..just a few downsides that need ironing out!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avala Resort & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avala Resort & Villas
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Budva
Southport, England!!
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice hotel..just a few downsides that need ironing out!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

First and foremost we enjoyed our stay in Avala - it is a modern hotel with amazing views and two great pool areas. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice!

However in some ways the hotel lets its self down just a little...the staff (particularly at breakfast) are not the most friendly people. At reception we also noticed a sign that said if you got caught bringing in food and drink you would be chared 50 euros (we were cautious to even bring water in!!!) The wi-fi was poor, its free in the lobby but might as well not exist. The hotel is also very dark in the lobby areea.

Despite these minor bumps, this is a good hotel - the rooms are nice and the location is top class being right in the centre of beautiful budva!
*just be cautious that if you stay in a beach view room and/or visit the downstairs pool area you can here club music pretty much all day until about 8pm from the nearby Club88 (though i enjoyed the tunes) :)

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room..although beach music is played until 8pm we spoke to a couple who stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    236
    112
    62
    43
See reviews for
113
289
31
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have just returned from Avala. We spent 3 days there. My first impression on the interior design was not so good, since everything is in black and brown colors...but that is my personal taste, somehow, for the hotel at the see, I prefer brighter colors. Parking of the hotel is very well organized and there is always a space for your car, they have a garage too. Location of the hotel is perfect, just at the entrance of the Budva old town and on top of the beach (private). The hotel is very clean and the room is huge with big bathroom, separate sanitary (toilet ) and a huge terrace. We had a superb view from our terrace on a see and old tow. Food was delicious and tasty with a variety to chose. The restaurant is not in the main building, but you have 3 escalators that takes you to it, so it is not far away and the view from the restaurant is just superb. The pools are clean, spa ,fitness center, massage parlor, Turkish bath, sauna (fitness, Turkish bath and sauna - free of charge) are very good . Wi FI Internet is excellent in the room and you pay for it depending how many ours that you want (1, 5, 8...). Free internet is only in the lobby of the hotel.

The negative side:

In our bathroom there was no bathtub only shower fixed on a ceiling even thou it was enough space for a tub. No trashcan in the room, and the room was a little bit stuffy. No coffee/tea maker in the room. We had a late checkout (6 pm) and that day they did not clean our room at all, no do they changed the sheets and towels !!!
Hotel beach is 5 min walk , but you have a beach just in front from the hotel. You have to pay to enter on this beach (this was earlier a hotel beach but they sold it to private person). Music from that private beach is very loud all day, so you can not enjoy fully at the terrace, and can not keep the terrace door open because of it.
At the pools there where not enough sunshades.
When you check in ask for a towel card, since the receptionist forget to tell you that you need those cards if you want to take a beach/pool towels.

It is lovely hotel but for this room rate it should be better.

Room Tip: S19 is the perfect room if you want to have large balcony with see and Budva old city view (and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanijelaMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and baby son stayed here for 4 nights and loved it.

The location was perfect (next door to the Old Town and beaches), the hotel was clean and modern (yes a little on the dark side in regards to decor), well maintained and the room was massive (2 TV's, large balcony, seperate living space). The view from the pool was stunning. We found the staff to be very helpfull and polite (NB: the locals love babies!). Comparing other hotels in Europe we found breakfast to fine, lots of fruit, cakes, sausages, bacon etc and the breakfast staff very attentive (nothing compares to the breakfast you get in South East Asia though!).

Budva itself seemed to be the place to stay if you want a bit of everything. Lots of bars, resturants, accommodation.

We would defintely stay at this hotel and in Budva again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scooter_in_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, España
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Good points: Our first impression of the hotel was just amazing. Beatiful, big and very nice room ( 2 tv, big balcony, nice bath tube, modern, well decorated). The pools are wonderful. The views stunning and the location is perfect.
Bad points: staff is gentle and polite but we have the sensation of a false smile and in the end we find out that all the litlle problems that we have were not solved. Explaning: it is not allowed take drinks and/or foods to the room, so we decide to follow the rule....where is the menu to ask for room service? Doesn't exit. We ask for one and wated for it for 5 days. We were there for 5 days and we only had towles to use in the beach/pool one day. They were always out of towels and always sad to get back later, and later there wasn't towles as well. One daynwhen we got back to the room at 4pm the room was still not done, so we asked for it and they did it but it wasn't clean, which is not a nice thing for a hotel in this level. Overall opinion, it is good but there some issues that be considered.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlaviaDU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korea @ moment
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have arrived with no reservation, but very helpful hotel receptionist arrange double room for us despite being peek of the season. Prices at hotel are considerably higher in compare to room prices over one of booking web pages, so it is recommended to do booking in advance or online.
Hotel itself is pretty new, well maintained, hotel stuff is very helpful and up to the level.
Recommendation would be to choose room with the sea view as it will assure great view over the beach, sea ,and Budva old town.
Breakfast is a bit limited but still OK. Number of stuff takes good care about restaurant requirement and guests. It is weirdly arranged, as restaurant is separate from the main hotel building , accessed by 3 escalators ,but not much bothering. Hotel has own parking (guarded) but also garage. Garage shall be requested at reception.
Hotel has nice spa ,fitness center, massage parlor, Turkish bath, sauna (fitness, Turkish bath and sauna - free of charge)
Hotel is greatly situated, just 50 m away from Budva center.
It is well recommanded, just impossible to understand that hotel offers very poor FREE wi-fi (only at ground floor) while it charge for room service despite high room rate (256 EUR / night).

Hotel stuff is just great and very helpful ( Luka and receptionist Zeljko).

Room Tip: Do booking online. Villas are more remote from the beach that knows to be noisy during summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kesa021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Difficult to find
Disinterested reception staff
Very dark
Very modern
Hotel beach is NOT next to hotel - as you may be led to believe
VERY LOUD DANCE MUSIC PLAYED IN HOTEL AND ON PUBLIC BEACH RIGHT NEXT TO POOL, ALL DAY!!
Beaches heaving with young people. No room to even stand!
We hated this hotel as there was nothing relaxing about it whatsoever!
We left just as quickly as we could to find some peace & quiet.

Room Tip: It was so noisy everywhere that I do not believe the room choice would help much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scottsfarmsucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budva hotels

Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The Avala is right beside the old town in Budva so it's the perfect spot for a break.
The rooms are nice and air conditioning works really well - in the summer you need it!
Overall I found the staff very helpful and pleasant to deal with and I would stay there again.
There are a few things that are annoying, however.
The wifi in the room is paid and I couldn't get it to work. Considering the price they charge for the room I'd really expect to have free wifi in 2012.
They also have a really silly list of "rules" that include things like threatening to find you €50 if you bring any water or other food into your room from outside!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mneylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budva
0.2 mi away
Hotel Budva
Hotel Budva
#6 of 24 in Budva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
2.3 mi away
Queen of Montenegro
Queen of Montenegro
#2 of 8 in Becici
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#8 of 24 in Budva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Bojana
Hotel Villa Bojana
#2 of 24 in Budva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Slovenska Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avala Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avala Resort & Villas

Property: Avala Resort & Villas
Address: Mediteranska 2, Budva, Budva Municipality 85310, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Budva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Budva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avala Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Avala Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avala Resort And Villas
Avala Resort & Villas Hotel Budva
Avala Resort Budva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing