We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of Hotel Poseidon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Budva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Poseidon
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Budva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at the Poseidon Hotel for a week. Its a lovely hotel, good location right on the beach just outside Budva and away from the hustle and bussle of town. The rooms are well equipped with a mini kitchen, excellent if you want a mid night snack or a cup of tea. The only let down was the food which wasn't very inventive, overall I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: No lift, if you don't do stairs, ask for a low level room. Also watch out for those peskey mosqu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerseyStar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 190 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed for one big week and the hotel is very nice. Rooms are big and clean, even with a little kitchen and you can have very nice views. Althrough they say it includes sunumbrella and place on the beach, the little minus is that the sunbeds in front of hotel are not included, which is a little minus. Also it's located right on the beach (which is not so common in Montenegro), but this part of the beach is made of little stones. It means also that you will every morning and evening eat at the beach. Food is not so various but good quality, local and home-made. The staff is very nice especially at the restaurant. The hotel seems perfect for families, so expect to find many russian and serbian families with young child. It remains very quiet place and not a all-inclusive disco-resort.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barbatruque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Up to expectations. All pictures on the internet reveal its true wonderful location.

Rooms are clean. Sheets are perfect white and changed every 4-5 days.
I had a room on second floor. Perfect view. Do not know about other rooms. This one is perfect.

Restaurant has a dream terrace. Service is good. Drinking water a bit expensive 3.3 EUR per bottle and not included in the package. Dishes are ok.

Don't even think about not paying the 8 eur price for place and sun-umbrella+two sunbeds. The alternative does not exist. They have just put a simple sun-umbrella in your balcony and if you try to place it in the public beach you will find your head lying on somebody's else feet.
Even with the paying option, avoid the beach place next to owners' reserved umbrella, he has numerous relatives. Wonder why he does not reserve two places instead of one.
;)

Shower functions ok, but beware that it has water-well water, so not nice to open your mouth while showering. I also hated the two manoples thing. I am used to a proper mischelator with just one stick. I found it difficult to reach the right mix of cold and warm water.

In overall a very nice place to bathe next to the sea.

PS: a big thank-you to staff that with so much dedication cleans all the stairs and patios very early in the morning!

Room Tip: I was on second floor. Perfect view. Do not know about other rooms. This one is perfect. Avoid th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guest01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I would like to thank Mitar & all the staff at Hotel Poseidon for an wonderful holiday stay.
The location is beautiful.The ocean views from our room were the best. More importantly the standard of service from all the staff was great. We found the 2 ladies on the front desk to be very helpful & very accommodating, promptly dealing with our requests.
We were there for a 9 night stay & enjoyed every moment, The restaurant & drinks menus are vast in choices & reasonably priced.
They have a special deal with a taxi company into Budva for only 5 Euro, & we found that very cheap to the other taxi companies.
The rooms are very clean, & serviced every day. All the staff were friendly.
We plan to revisit Montenegro & will most likely stay at Hotel Poseidon again.
We were in a group of 25 from Australia & the UK, whom stayed at other hotels in the area. We all agreed that Hotel Poseidon was by far the best value for money & offered all you need.
Again thank you to all the staff for making our stay an unforgettable stay.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent one week in early July and I must say everything was exactly as it is written on the web site. Rooms are spacious and hygiene is good. Staff is nice and helpful. Location is just perfect. As we have small kid, the only thing that was missing was a kids playground nearby. Would definitively come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marijana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Hotel Poseidon is located a few kilometers outside of Budva, about 5 or 6 Euros by Taxi. The dining area is perfect to sit and enjoy the lovely little bay while having your meal. Breakfast is the standard fare. The beach area is clean and there plastic walkways to get to your sunbathing chairs or to take a quick dip in the water. A short walk down the shore are less crowded areas to enjoy.

Room Tip: The Hotel does cater to large groups or holiday package tourist and famlies. The water is not potabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CappadociaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have just returned from a 7 night stay in Hotel Poseidon.It was beautiful!Poseidon is an excellent choise.Hotel is located on the beach with amaizing views from rooms and restaurant.Rooms are big and clean.The food is very good as all restaurant.Beach is long and very clean with comfortable chairs and firiendly staff.We felt nice all the time...Sea is amazing as a temperature.All staff are helpful,so we would recommend this hotel to everyone who want to spend summer holiday in Montenegro.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dita t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budva
1.6 mi away
Hotel Budva
Hotel Budva
#4 of 25 in Budva
182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Bojana
Hotel Villa Bojana
#1 of 25 in Budva
116 reviews
1.6 mi away
Astoria Boutique Hotel
Astoria Boutique Hotel
#11 of 25 in Budva
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort
1.8 mi away
Hotel Blue Star
Hotel Blue Star
#5 of 25 in Budva
95 reviews
11.8 mi away
Regent Porto Montenegro
Regent Porto Montenegro
#1 of 10 in Tivat Municipality
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon

Address: Beach Jaz, Budva, Budva Municipality 85310, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Budva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Budva
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Poseidon is located in excellent location - on beach Jaz, one of the most beautiful beaches - or maybe the most beautiful one - on Montenegrin coast. Location of Hotel Poseidon is such that makes it an excellent choice for a quiet family holiday and enjoying our beach and the sea, and to visit other beaches and attractions of Montenegro. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing