We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$234
$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $318/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Vila Lux(Budva)
$56
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saki Apartmani(Budva)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveler rating
104
72
22
18
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
72
22
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantprivate beachsea view suiteold cityinside the city wallsincluded in the room ratehand held showerreception staffper daymain gatebeach barstayed here for nightshotel is excellenthotel beachperfect locationsmall hotelwi fi
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 228 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is an unusual review as we ended up not actually staying at the Hotel Astoria Budva! (although did we did use their restaurant, bar and beach facilities...)
Back in February 2013, I booked and paid for (in full!) a double room at the Budva Astoria for 2 nights in August 2013. This was done via www.booking.com.
When we arrived in the late afternoon for our first night's stay, the guy on reception could not find the booking, but eventually tracked it down in his system, but explained that due to a computer error the hotel was full and there was no room for us that night.
We reluctantly agreed to stay our first night at the Astoria Budva's sister hotel 25 km away in Kotor. There was no offer to drive us over, although the Astoria did offer to pay our car-park charges. We were allocated a lovely big room in the eaves of the hotel - the Iota room. It was very comfortable indeed with excellent air con and a wonderful view, however the wifi kept dropping out which was very irritating. (When I asked, the manager said that the wifi is designed such that it disconnects you automatically after 10 minutes online, to prevent too many people using the system at the same time and making it slow: how very unsatisfactory!) Loud music played outside until 1am - sleeping before this time would not have been possible without ear plugs. In the morning we were annoyed to be awoken at 7.30am by a member of the house-keeping team walking into our room - very odd. We had eaten a modest dinner in the Astoria Kotor's restaurant which was good quality and well-priced. In the morning I expected that the 40 or so euro bill would be taken care of by the hotel. This was clearly not the Astoria's plan, and after a short discussion the receptionist called the hotel manager whom we spoke to in person, and she eventually agreed to waive the small food bill.
We learned that no room was going to be available at the Astoria Budva for our second night, and that the Astoria had therefore booked us a room in the 4* Budua Residences, very close to Budva Old Town. (Budua residences is a modern, holiday apartment block - not actually a hotel - which provided decent, if characterless, accommodation, and was staffed by an extremely friendly receptionist. It was fine, although of course, nothing like what we had planned, booked and paid for six months earlier).
Astoria Budva did organise car parking, arranged for us to take breakfast the next morning in its restaurant, and reserved us a spot on the beach for the day, free of charge. I asked to make a reservation for dinner at the roof-top restaurant that evening, but was told it was already full up, and this would not be possible. I was greatly annoyed, as providing a restaurant table is surely the very least that the Astoria could have done to people whose holiday they had messed around with that much!
Astoria's private beach at Budva is great for swimming, although umbrellas are tightly packed together and loud Serbian pop music beats out all day long (why??), preventing true relaxation. It costs 20 euro per person per day - even for hotel residents - which should be borne in mind when budgeting for your trip (= 280 euro for a couple staying for a week!)
The Astoria Budva has a huge terrace restaurant and bar which is open to the public, just as you walk into the Old Town. It was heaving! The menu is exactly the same as at the Astoria in Kotor, although 25km apparently makes all the difference, so the prices in Budva are higher! We ordered cocktails which had been delicious the night before in Kotor, but were not in Budva. My Long Island Iced Tea was the wrong colour, tasted of lemons and lacked alcohol. I complained and asked for it to be changed. What I got back was a very alcoholic, brown drink, which looked the part, but certainly did not include the spirits listed on the menu. It was disgusting and I was being ripped off. The assistant manager apologised but did not offer to take this off our bill. Avoid this bar/restaurant.
Zlatko on reception was extremely apologetic throughout our 'non-stay' and was clearly distressed on our behalf because of the disaster that had befallen our planned stay at the Astoria Budva. He also kept trying to get us a place at the roof-top restaurant ( the lovely-looking one on the hotel website) and eventually succeeded. This dinner was a great experience - lovely romantic setting, delicious food and wine, exceptionally good service. I recommend this as the place to go for a top quality meal in Budva. Just make sure you make the effort to organise your reservation in this restaurant in advance - don't think that being a hotel resident will guarantee you a table.
Breakfast we took on the beach. It is chosen from a menu and includes a savoury option, a sweet option, a juice and hot drink. The quality was good and the service was friendly.
In conclusion, our experience of 'staying' in the Astoria Budva was a stressful and vexing one. Despite Zlatko's charm and helpfulness, the overall response by the Astoria management team to their error which impacted us greatly, was really poor. Not a single free drink or dinner were we offered. Budva is a bafflingly-popular resort - brash, tacky and largely ugly (the small bit of old town, aside) - and Astoria knows it does not have to try too hard and it will keep on being fully-booked. Because of our experience, I would not choose the Astoria again, but in fact, I would recommend that everyone avoids Budva completely, and instead goes to one of the many truly lovely places that abound in Montenegro.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank CJMANUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The advice that I would give anyone about Hotel Astoria is only stay there if you are tied to staying in the old town. We were very disappointed with our stay and would have provided this feedback if they had asked. We read amazing reviews beforehand so now really question how they are rated so well.

In no particular order these are things we thought impacted our stay.
Room looked onto a wall with air conditioning vent
Bath towels were thin and some had holes
Shower was luke warm
The 'beach' out front is packed and as a guest of the hotel you still have to pay to use it.
Pack your own beach towels, any provided by the hotel are tiny and extremely worn. In my own home id have been embarrassed to give guests these. (We got beach towels at another beach with a sunbed that were better quality than ones provided)
The daily room service didnt readily replenish stocks or clean classes.

On a plus, room size was good.

Id normally brush over the negatives and focus on why you'd stay somewhere, but the quality was below average and worth noting.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank planningatrip1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Last night discovered a gem of a restaurant in the old town of Budva Montenegro. Amazing view, great food and attentive service. Definitely recommend visiting and hotel itself looked quite nice too. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MickeyMarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel is amazing..the rooms are spacious, clean, modern...the hotel is a prime location, the beach is superb. The staff at the hotel are super friendly and nothing is impossible for them. This is one of the best hotel experiences I have had. When in budva this place is a must. There is nothing I can fault this hotel. Standard, service, location, breakfast, beach and their restaurant are excellent.
Thank you to the team for making out budva experience exceptional. We will be definetley back and brining friends with us.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank pilo110373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is an excellent hotel. The location, just inside the wall of the old city, is excellent. The staff was very warm, welcoming and helpful. Breakfast out back overlooking the sea was lovely. There were, however, a few disappointments.nfirst, while the room was very clean and well appointed, it was quite small and there was not much room to maneuver. Second, while I asked for a sea view and expected it, all I got was a small window with a view of a sliver of the sea. Third, the room was not sufficiently soundproof such that we could hear the entertainment in the plaza at night. All things considered, I would likely stay at this hotel again were I to return to spectacular Budva.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews