We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Suceava and the Maramures Tour

Wonderful trips with the Sorin Fodor who have extensive knowledge in the painted monasteries in... read more

Reviewed April 6, 2024
tcjli
A great experience

We took the classic tour of the bucovina monasteries with Florian and it was a great experience... read more

Reviewed October 2, 2023
Laurence T
Read all 73 reviews
  
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
70
1
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
70
1
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews delicious lunch painted monasteries day trip sorin driver history romania paintings company
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 73 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2018

Our tour with Florin was great. We went to four painted monasteries and the pottery workshop. He knows a great deal about the monasteries, their history, and their art. He is a very pleasant and friendly person, and we enjoyed spending the day with him.

Date of experience: September 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
3  Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ovidiu-George, Director of Sales at Explore Bucovina, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2019

Dear Mr. Kevin,

Thank you for you visit in our lovely Bucovina and thank you for choosing us as your travel partner!

We are looking forward to see you again and to help you to discover other beautiful regions of Romania.

Kind regards,
Ovidiu Botoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018

Florin was an excellent and knowledgeable guide who spoke very good English and a real knowledge of the area. Highly recommend.

Date of experience: July 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank James v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ovidiu-George, Director of Sales at Explore Bucovina, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2019

Dear Mr. James,

Thank you for visiting Romania and for ch0osing us as your travel partner!

We are looking forward to see you again and to help you to discover other beautiful regions of Romania.

Kind regards,
Ovidiu Botoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2018

Excellent tour with Explore Bucovina. We visited all the main monasteries and received all the info to understand the history. I recommend it to you. Our guide was very good.

Date of experience: August 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Gregory V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ovidiu-George, Director of Sales at Explore Bucovina, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2019

Dear Mr. Gregory,

Thank you for visiting our country and for ch0osing our services!

We are looking forward to see you again and to show you the other beautiful regions of our country.

Kind regards,
Ovidiu Botoni - sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018

Based on the internet feedback, I booked “Explore Bucovina” for one full day tour covering Humorului-Humor Monastery- Voronet Monastery- Moldovita Monastery- Sucevita Monastery). The price quoted was for 2 persons private tour which I agreed. Ovidiu Botoni communicated frequently before the trip. I infact cancelled my booking with another travel agent (Hello Bucovina) for the same trip in anticipation that Botoni will be able to live up to the reviews.
On the day of the trip, Florin reached our hotel on time. But soon, to my surprise I discovered, he was supposed to pick another Spanish couple. We had squeeze in a Volkswagen Jetta even after paying higher price for a private tour for 2 persons. This is absolutely unacceptable. I would have never engaged a tour agent who couldn’t stick to his words and so unreliable . It was definitely a breach of contract and entire trip was so unpleasant!!!!!! So I can’t recommend this tour agent to anyone. There are few agents who conducts this trip, pls look for them and don’t trust this person . Any last minute surprise can be possible. I am sure no one would like to spoil their trip even after payment full amount. So just AVOID Explore Bucovina !!!
Only plus point of this trip was the guide cum driver Florine. He was good and interactive and could show the monastery properly.

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank singharay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ovidiu-George, Director of Sales at Explore Bucovina, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Dear Mr. Kausik,

We thank you for your feedback, it will be very helpful to improve our services.
At the same time we are very sorry and surprised that the tour was under your expectations and the Volkswagen Jetta under your standards.

With all the respect we need to clarify some aspects the most important is that you never booked or payed a higher price for a private tour. Your request was: and I quote "best possible rate for 2 persons". You booked and payed a normal tour not a private one.

Normally for 4 people we don't use a VW Jetta but that was a last minute situation for which we are very sorry. We are sorry that you had such an unpleasant tour but we are very suprised since you didn't said anything to us or to the tour guide, and he remebers that there was a very pleasant atmosphere during the tour and you enjoyed his presentation of the monasteries.

We wish you all the best and if you will ever need tour guide services in Romania please contact us we really want to change your perception on our travel agency and to have again a percentage of 100% satisfied travellers.

Kind regards,
Ovidiu Botoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018

Ovidiu led group of friends around Romania on a very special and enjoyable custom tour in summer 2018. Our itinerary was crafted by two of the tour members - one Romanian, one French, who had long dreamt of sharing the wonderful Romanian landscape, people and cultures with friends from Europe and the USA. Ovidiu met us off the night train from Bucarest to Sighet, then led us as guide and driver through stops in Maramures, Bucovina, and Transylvania. We stayed in private accommodations full of character in villages and castles as we wound our way to churches, monasteries and other attractions including stops in Breb, Viseu de Sus, Viscri, Suceavita, Sighisoara, Crit, Brasov and Peles. Ovidiu is a charming, patient and highly knowledgeable guide with a deep love and understanding of Romanian culture and history. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank stevetav2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ovidiu-George, Director of Sales at Explore Bucovina, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Dear Steve,

Thank for your appreciation and thank you for all the great time that we had together it was really fun.
Please send my greetings to your friends and hope to see you again sometimes.

All the best!
Ovidiu Botoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews