We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps the finest in Transylvania”
Review of Hotel Simfonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Simfonia
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ramnicu Valcea
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Perhaps the finest in Transylvania”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Located not far from the middle of nowhere, Hotel Simfonia is a surprising island of sophistication and class.

The decor is refreshingly eclectic and stylish, modern but highly compatible with the history of the surrounding area.

The rooms are bright, comfortable, and spit-polished clean.

Food was excellent, both at dinner in the upscale rooftop restaurant and at breakfast in the more casual lobby-level cafe.

The staff is knowledgeable about the area, helpful, efficient, and very professional.

Our only complaint is about the air conditioning in the public areas. In your own room, the AC works like a champ and the setting is totally at your own beck and call. But management is pretty stingy with the cool air in the restaurants and lobby areas. Our otherwise charming and delicious evening dinner was uncomfortable to the point of unhealthy for my elderly traveling companion because of the heat in the restaurant.

So, I highly recommend Hotel Simfonia with the caveat that you may have severe AC withdrawal pains in the summer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsPincheon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
36
4
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The city is nothing special. Nice little town with very little to see or do, but it was a stop along the way.

Parking is free under the hotel but you MUST be driving a smaller car as the garage has some very tight corners.

The hotel is not very old, but very nicely done. Each floor has a theme. We stayed on the second floor and the theme was beaches with man of the pictures from Greece.

Room was very clean, comfortable, and efficient. Very nice bathroom and shower.

We decided to eat upstairs at the restaurant. While a bit pricey, it was very good. There are some local restaurants, but I doubt better than this one.

Wifi worked in all areas. Very strong signal.

Overall, for the price of this place I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitesti, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Beautiful place in a small town,with delightful french and mediteranean cuisine..an excellent location,best services,good quality finishings,verry good food ,professional and friendly staff..
A best impression from first minute to last!!congratulations hotel simfonia!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alina_nita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

What a delightful surprise we had from the very first moment we walked into the hotel. A hotel like a book full of fairytales where you can escape from the reality to couple of different dimensions since every storey has different style. You can choose the classic rooms which speaks about luxury, you can try going out to the sea by choosing the Mediterranean rooms with pastel colours or you can take the Oriental ones for getting an Asian touch but also the Modern style rooms furbished in white and red with lots of playcards on the walls.
This is a lovely new hotel opened in September 2012 with extremely tasteful, subtle decor and very spacious rooms. The staff, service, facilities and food were impressive especially for a patriarchal city like Ramnicu Valcea.
The entire experience was heavenly and there's nothing to mention as a so called minus but maybe the location on a very narrow street which is not so appealing considering the houses you met and imposes very careful movements when parking. Still the parking from the basement counterbalance this possible minus together with the fact that dowtown can be easily reached on foot.
The name of the hotel Simfonia really stands for what it offers to its guests!
If passing by the lovely city of Ramnicu Valcea don't miss the chance of discovering Simfonia hotel as a gate to another world, the world of class and serenity!
It is pointless to mention that I'll return considering the above lines. I'll end by saying that the hotel will be my residence when visiting Ramnicu Valcea!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cat_ioan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baia Mare, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Best impression from the first minute to the last !
One of the most friendly teams I've ever seen in a hotel; everyone's got a smile on their faces and they all look eager to make you feel good.
The rooms are cosy and confortable; good quality finishings, carefully chosen and combined to render a warm homy athmosphere; the food and beverages are well chosen and the service is great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thegreyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rm Valcea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

An excellent location,big and confortable rooms, great personal , the best services! I recomand Hotel Simfonia!!!!You can spend a great evening in the restaurant and enjoy a good food cooked by great chefs!Or you can drink a coffe on the teras and enjoy the great view!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VieruBianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Râmnicu Vâlcea, Valcea, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

A very nice 4 stars hotel,excellent services,very beautiful rooms!The girls from the reception desk are so nice and kind,i love the mediteraneean floor,i ate a lot of french cuisine specialities and it was Oh my God!

Room Tip: The rooms from mediteranean floor are so beautiful,it makes you think that you're at the seaside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adelina-Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramnicu Valcea
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Sofianu
Grand Hotel Sofianu
#2 of 9 in Ramnicu Valcea
64 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 2 in Baile Govora
16 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#1 of 1 in Calimanesti
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gemina
Hotel Gemina
#4 of 9 in Ramnicu Valcea
4 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Oltenia
Hotel Oltenia
#1 of 2 in Baile Govora
1 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Tisa
Hotel Tisa
#1 of 2 in Baile Olanesti
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Simfonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Simfonia

Property: Hotel Simfonia
Address: Strada Enescu George 42-44, Ramnicu Valcea 240545, Romania
Location: Romania > Southwest Romania > Valcea County > Ramnicu Valcea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ramnicu Valcea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Simfonia 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simfonia boutique hotel, Ramnicu Valcea, waiting for you to spend unforgettable moments in the exclusive comfort of our hotel, and also you can enjoy a wide range of dishes from international cuisine. Accommodation and services offered by Hotel Simfonia takes place in an environment where quality and luxury impose their presence by providing modern rooms and professional staff, always coming to meet the desires of the most demanding guests. Combining both comfort, elegance and technical equipment, and personal service, Hotel Simfonia offers its guests 34 double rooms and 2 suites with terrace offering a great view over the city. All rooms are equipped with fine furniture and modern shower, hairdryer, cosmetic mirror, desk, wi fi internet access, telephone, LCD screen TV, cable TV, minibar, box safe, air conditioning, electronic card access. Each of the four floors have different styles and are able to satisfy the most sophisticated and demanding guests:- 1st floor is designed in the Classic style defined by elegance and opulence, combines pastel colors with stylized floral elements.- the 2nd floor is designed in the Mediterranean style that evokes the romance and brings a vibrant and relaxed atmosphere. Its colours are inspired directly from nature.- the 3rd floor is designed in the Modern style, probably the most popular among young people, give rooms a sophisticated and mysterious atmosphere.- the 4th floor is designed in Oriental style, exotic style with unique and interesting accessories. Hotel Simfonia offers its guests 2 restaurants and a Terrace Salt Diamond, where they can enjoy delicious aromas from both local cuisine and International ones.Let your senses free to enjoy the freshness and flavor of vegetables and fruits,seafood and fish,meat and mysterious spices together, perfect for inspiration cooks every dish transposing the joy and harmony of what we promise to be an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Simfonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Simfonia Valcea County/Ramnicu Valcea, Romania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing