We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth”
Review of Hotel Tiara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Tiara
Ranked #11 of 28 Ploiesti B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We slept in this hotel twice, in 2004 and in 2012.
The worst and most weird hotel ever. Weird because the (probably) hotel owner , the older lady checking on the receptionists and scolding them in front of the guests, or scolding the waiter in the breakfast room, all this made us as guests of the hotel feel very uncomfortable. That reminded me heavily of the communist era where a manager thought he had slaves not employees. I was almost embarrased for the young man at the reception and the man in the breakfast room. So, 8 years later, the hotel did not improve at all.
To mention the rooms, the walls very thin and you really hear everything from the other room, plus the beds are very hard,old and uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Choose instead Hotel Central, my son just told me of having a good experience with friendly people a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 205Scottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I'm not taken with this place. Its my companies hotel of choice when in the area. I wasnt greeted with a friendly welcome. The restaurant is small and red, i havent tried the food as visually it just looks uninviting. The decor everywhere is tired and dated. The matress is shaped like a banana. Dont leave it too late to have a shower in their 1970's splendor as the hot water will be cold.
Its central its cheapish. Fine for oil workers, dont bring the misses.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deltashad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I stayed in Hotel Tiara for business purpose for almost 3 weeks. It's in the city center, food in hotel is good, rooms are big enough and they keep it very clean, internet wireless and very fast. Yes, furniture is little bit old but to me that is not a big issue. Stuff was very friendly. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend first floor for better internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I spent there 3 nights. The room was good, with tv and bathroom. The furniture and design was "typical" for Romania (I think).The bathroom was good with towels, soap, ... but it looked like very old one.
Breakfast was good, you could choose from different type of food, but you have to get up early, because later you could not have enough food to choose.
Hotel is situated near some shops, exchange, banks and Mc Donald.
So if you need to stay somewhere in this city and you dont expect luxury, it's a good choice.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lucia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night while on business, as my first choice hotel was booked up. The hotel is dated but clean, tidy and close to the center. However on my return from dinner I was checking my emails in my room at about 10pm when I heard a faint knock on the door which i mistook for another room. Then I realised my door was being opened, I let out a shout and the person stopped. I immediately ran out to open the door to see who the hell this was and it was the male receptionist who made a weak excuse that he needed to get into my room because he did not know my name, even though he had my passport details and completed check in form. Maybe no one else has had this problem but I can not think of any good reason this guy would be coming into my room at 10pm at night when he could of rang the room if he needed any info. Strange behaviour and I nor any of my collegues will ever stay here again. Stay well clear.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andyw48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nach hinten raus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank korfluer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank Mell3nium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ploiesti hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#1 of 10 in Ploiesti
199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Forum Ploiesti
Hotel Forum Ploiesti
#8 of 10 in Ploiesti
12 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sky Blue Hotel & Spa
Sky Blue Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Ploiesti
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
GP Hotel
GP Hotel
#10 of 28 in Ploiesti
3 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Tudor
Hotel Tudor
#7 of 10 in Ploiesti
6 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prahova Plaza Hotel
Prahova Plaza Hotel
#4 of 10 in Ploiesti
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tiara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tiara

Address: Tache Ionescu No. 6, Ploiesti 100022, Romania
Location: Romania > Southern Romania > Prahova County > Ploiesti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Ploiesti
Price Range: $42 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tiara 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tiara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing