We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, decent”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Unirea Hotel & SPA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Unirea Hotel & SPA
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Iasi
St. Maarten
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well located, decent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

This is my second time on this hotel and I find it quite decent. The breakfast is good, the service is good, there's a Cafe bar next to the Hotel (Cafeneaua Piata Unirii) which has karaoke on Wednesdays (packed! lots of fun). It's also well located, I'm close to the places I need to visit. The room smelled a bit like smoke, but faded away on the second day. The room is very clean and in good condition. The restaurant at the top of the building is open till late and servers good food.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    119
    35
    8
    4
See reviews for
25
49
26
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Hotel Unirea has a good location, the rooms are large, well equiped and clean. The Internet is fast and free. Cafe Bleu off the lobby is a good place to meet, limited food menu but the food is good quality for the price. The 13th floor restaurant has great city views, but the ambience of a Soviet-era dining hall. The restaurant food is average quality but expensive. The restaurant staff would all rather be working someplace else. OK for short business stays, but don't expect a friendly welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor so you get the city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boomer-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

It is supposed to be a 3 star bussines orientated hotel and that's exactly what it is. It has a very good central location. The room price varies from 50 E to 80 E. The furniture is nice, the mattresses are very confortable, the finishing materials for walls, bathrooms, doors are very nice, very pleasant. Overall the interior design is simple and classic and of good quality. This gives a confort feeling when staying in this hotel. Breakfast is really great. The only draw back would be the panoramic restaurant, which used to serve traditional food, but 2 years ago they changed the menu to an international cuisine, with some "delicate" courses, which don't match with the location. Traditional Romanian food was very very good when they used to serve it and it was more apropriate. I would definetly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ionutvasilescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela F, Director of Sales at Unirea Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Unirea Hotel & Spa, and we much appreciate your reccomandation. Don't hesitate to try Panoramic's new menu next time you are in Iasi. I am sure you will enjoy our cuisine. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana, Cuba
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Well, the 50 euro per night for a single room, is too overpriced for the Romanian standards. The hotel however, is a nice place, with spacious rooms, tasteful breakfast, free access via Lan and it could be a 4 star one with some extras. The area is very central in the heart of Iasi ,with taxis outside of the hotel available during the whole day and night. I liked it, even if it is maybe 10-15 euro overpriced for the Romanian standards, but worth it. As tip, I would suggest you to pay the room price in euro, through their change course is far too bad, in comparison to the official one.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank distance10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Very central, old style hotel, but clean and comfortable rooms, exceptional breakfast for a 3* hotel, parking can be very crowded in the eavening and night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neamtu2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
1,335 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,667 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

This was just exactly what I was looking for on my way to Moldova. Large, clean, modern room, excellent breakfast (didn't have supper there, but there is a restaurant), very good bar with comfortable chairs and cheerful barmaids, highly competent, English-speaking staff, ready to help whenever I asked, a large, airy, cool lobby with computers where you can check your email, etc (the front desk printed out an email for me)... Good bathrooms.

The position's ideal, at the top of Piata Unirii (pedestrian, but taxis can park in front of the hotel), and at one end of the avenue leading to the Palace of Culture. Stroll down that for half an hour and you go past almost all the famous sights in Iasi (the Three Hierarchs, the National Theatre, the Cathedral... ) Or just have a walk with everyone else, children etc, in Piata Unirii in the evening, and admire the historic statues.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

Standard hotel located in the center of the city, with a panoramic view. Panoramic restaurant at the last floor, the 13th. Average bufet breakfast. Strange ventilation system of the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorinaAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Iasi hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel International Iasi
0.0 mi away
Traian Grand Hotel
Traian Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Iasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pleiada Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Select Iasi
Hotel Select Iasi
#4 of 23 in Iasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Iasi City Centre
0.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#15 of 23 in Iasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unirea Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unirea Hotel & SPA

Property: Unirea Hotel & SPA
Address: Piata Unirii No. 5, Iasi 700056, Romania
Location: Romania > Northeast Romania > Iasi County > Iasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Iasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Unirea Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, comfortable and accessible, placed in the heart of the city, Unirea Hotel will surprise you from the very first moment you enter it. Recently renovated, the hotel is well adjusted to the international standards and requirements. The privileged position of the hotel allows one to visit important religious, cultural or historical sights, as well as modern buildings of Iasi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Unirea Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unirea Hotel Iasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing