We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are into getting wet”
Review of Pongas Falls

Pongas Falls
Ranked #12 of 20 things to do in Sagada
Attraction details
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“If you are into getting wet”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were unable to go Bomokod Falls so we settle in Pongas falls instead. However, the trekking was all worth it. The view in the falls is beautiful, but you cant go dipping for long because the water is freaking cold.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank xChaLeex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marikina, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Making a big splash as Sagada's most extreme adventure”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Pongas Falls was just opened to the tourist trail a couple of years back and is now making its mark as Sagada’s new most extreme adventure. The Lumiang – Sumaging cave connection is still the popular choice, but the trek to Pongas is slowly gaining ground as the main attraction to best try once in town. Those who have been to Sagada before went back as soon as they found out there’s a new Pongas attraction – that includes me. Hearing that a newly discovered series of falls (initially reported as the “7-Falls Wonder of Sagada”) just tickled our curiosity and sent us packing to go back right away.
The hike to Pongas offers a 1-hour river-trek going up, which adds to the mystique of the whole adventure. You will pass by a series of smaller falls and plunges, and it gets better and better as you get nearer to the main falls. Be careful not to slip on the slippery rocks and on the rice terraces along the way. When you start to see Pongas and the its immediate surroundings, you’ll be captivated by the cascades. Wrap the trek up by having a dip at the ice-cold main plunge, but there are other spots there where you can just literally chill. Going down the falls, there’s an easier trail carved at the side of the mountain and it will take you just 30mins back to the jump-off point.
If you’re the hardcore adventure junkie, avail of the extension tour! You will have to scale Pongas to get to the higher and more breathtaking falls. From what I heard, there are at least 4 more taller and more imposing falls up there, and will require you to spend the whole day for the extension tour. When we get back, we’ll definitely try it. You’ll be surprised to know the local Pinoy celebrity who got to those falls first.
Hire an experienced guide at the town proper, be on your dri-fit get-up and start your Pongas adventure now.

Gie and Pipo

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank PipoEsporlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valenzuela, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Scenic few of the terraces!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

After almost 1 hour of trekking in some rice terraces, big boulders of rocks will welcome you at the foot of the 3majestic waterfalls. Its such a photographers' haven. I will never get tired of having great shots all the time!

I dislike how the tourist are leaving their trash such as the candy wrappers around the place.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tere B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“All Adventure!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Sagada is a place for people who clamour for adventure.It definitely means doing intangible things and beyond measure activities a city life cannot offer.The rocky trails and quite steep cliffs route to Pongas Falls just made the whole trip FUN!The walks along the dikes and some muddy areas were totally bearable coz when you reach the series of falls,you might not wanna find your way back as the sight was spectacular!The quick plunge at the small pool is a must do as well!My friends and I vowed to keep Pongas Falls as one of the best places to visit in Sagada.Forget about how hard it was to get there,Sagada afterall is a place to brave the unexpected!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Teacheekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An exciting adventure away from the crowds”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I did this trek with 2 other guys, we had 2 guides from Saggas, one carried our stuff whilst the other led the way up the waterfalls. We scaled all 3 waterfalls and saw Tap-Ew falls at the end, having a swim in the freezing plunge pool. This trek was just what I wanted, off the beaten tourist track and through the real countryside. We spent 8 hours trekking through rice paddies, climbing up waterfalls using ropes and rock hopping up river. All in all, it was an exhausting but exhilarating trek, very rewarding, the views of the valleys and rice terraces are unrivaled.

Do this trek if you are looking for something more challenging and to get away from the tourist trail. Didn't another soul on the trek except for the occasional farmer.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cb3689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pongas Falls also viewed

Sagada, Mountain Province
Sagada, Mountain Province
 
Sagada, Mountain Province
 

Been to Pongas Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing