We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic few of the terraces!”
Review of Pongas Falls

Pongas Falls
Ranked #12 of 20 things to do in Sagada
Attraction details
Valenzuela, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Scenic few of the terraces!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

After almost 1 hour of trekking in some rice terraces, big boulders of rocks will welcome you at the foot of the 3majestic waterfalls. Its such a photographers' haven. I will never get tired of having great shots all the time!

I dislike how the tourist are leaving their trash such as the candy wrappers around the place.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tere B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“All Adventure!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Sagada is a place for people who clamour for adventure.It definitely means doing intangible things and beyond measure activities a city life cannot offer.The rocky trails and quite steep cliffs route to Pongas Falls just made the whole trip FUN!The walks along the dikes and some muddy areas were totally bearable coz when you reach the series of falls,you might not wanna find your way back as the sight was spectacular!The quick plunge at the small pool is a must do as well!My friends and I vowed to keep Pongas Falls as one of the best places to visit in Sagada.Forget about how hard it was to get there,Sagada afterall is a place to brave the unexpected!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Teacheekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An exciting adventure away from the crowds”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I did this trek with 2 other guys, we had 2 guides from Saggas, one carried our stuff whilst the other led the way up the waterfalls. We scaled all 3 waterfalls and saw Tap-Ew falls at the end, having a swim in the freezing plunge pool. This trek was just what I wanted, off the beaten tourist track and through the real countryside. We spent 8 hours trekking through rice paddies, climbing up waterfalls using ropes and rock hopping up river. All in all, it was an exhausting but exhilarating trek, very rewarding, the views of the valleys and rice terraces are unrivaled.

Do this trek if you are looking for something more challenging and to get away from the tourist trail. Didn't another soul on the trek except for the occasional farmer.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cb3689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“havent reach the falls”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

we went there with friends unfortunately i had not reach the exact location because the road is very slippery with cliffs on side and i was scared for i have poor balance, i suggest they will improve the road, install hand rails , it was so dangerous for first timers like me i wont suggest for not experienced trekker or mountaineer, no safety measures installed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank byebyelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloocan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BEWARE”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were one of the first to visit this place and I can actually say we almost died there. The guide didn't know the path, got lost several times. He made us cross on the EDGE OF THE WATERFALL, didn't tell us that we will climb a FOUR STORY WATERFALL. We were totally unprepared for it and it was a very traumatic experience. If they offer it to you, make sure that you make them explain to you in great detail what to expect. But based on what we've experienced, I doubt if it has changed or if they could still change it.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank barnes29caloocan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pongas Falls also viewed

Sagada, Mountain Province
Sagada, Mountain Province
 
Sagada, Mountain Province
 

Been to Pongas Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing