We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth It” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Masferre Country Inn and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Masferre Country Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 22 Sagada B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
83 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Worth It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Their rate is a little pricey than most inns in Sagada. But I would have to say that their rooms were clean and spacious, beds-comfortable, floors-nicely tiled, decors-simple yet elegant, shower-hot and even has a big balcony. I love that they are located right in town so we were not far from everything. Also comes with complimentary breakfast.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have balcony to make sure you request for a room that has one. I also prefer the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marikeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    25
    15
    2
See reviews for
13
25
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
98 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in the room for 4 people and paid 2600 PHP for a nice room with balcony. The hotel was relatively empty and it was quiet. The food in the restaurant was good. We have not checked any other places for accommodation. There was nothing bad about it. It is close to the market and shops

Room Tip: Take one with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karelcermak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

we got scammed about booking online on another hotel (did a separate review on that Costa Luz Resort Club), and was desperately looking for some place to stay that is acceptable. Few places we liked were already full, this was centrally located and we tried asking and luckily they had couple of rooms available. Generally the room was ok, bit more expensive to Sagada standards.

Pro: centrally located, safe enclosed parking, rooms have their own bathroom and hot water. Breakfast was quite reasonable, they have a good cook.

cons: was noisy, woke up few times at night. cold air was blowing through the gaps in door and toilet doors.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IT-biz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

A building or two away from the municipal hall, this place was convenient. We drove all the way from Baguio then Sagada, we found this place right away. They had three (3) parking spaces at a gated area across the inn which helps as the narrow roads of Sagada don't really encourage street parking!
The rooms are clean and basic. We had one with two doubles (our 7 yo son and 4yo daughter were with us) ensuite t&b w cold/hot water, and there was a balcony-- which looks out into the Anglican church and pine trees in the distance.. and the neghbors below or they look up at you! Though in the middle of where most things happen, as it is Sagada, the scent, sight and sounds of (household-use) livestock are inevitable. At about 4am, we woke up to the screeching of a pig or two (being slaughtered?) then the cockrels did their concertos.You have to sleep with your windows open: no other means of ventilation and it's nice to sniff the cool, crisp mountain air! No mosquitoes though and other insects are at a minimum. Most accommodation in the populated area are small and compact, hallways and staircases always bear signs such as: "Please observe silence at all times." So when inconsiderate fellow guests decide to converse unecessarily 100 decibles more than they should, say goodbye to your morning sleep-in!
It seemed that everyone ate at their restaurant for dinner, so if you plan to, better place your orders early as they run out of items! Combo meals ie rice with viand & veg, are value for money, the rest are not gourmet but definitely edible.Breakfast is buffet and only for the in-house guests; very generous choices: fresh mango, watermelon, cucumber, tomatoes, local longganiza (local pork sausage), bacon, scrambled eggs, pan de sal, rice, cereal and milk. Coffee was local brew (not instant!), tea, a couple of juices (from powder mix) available too
WiFi free but only available at the reception/restaurant area.
Staff were helpful and, most of the time, not clueless.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHL2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

we went to sagada last week and planned to eat at almost all of the trip advisor recommendations. masferre was one of those.

the ambiance of the place was cozy and simple. but the food was surprisingly tasty and good and at a very reasonable cost.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank telmin89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Philippines
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

I dont have any complain with service, food, and cleanliness of the place. However, for the same service and satisfaction, you can opt for other inns in the vicinity due to price, which is not competitive.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lonewolfshifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sagada hotels

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Firstly the good points for this hotel:

We paid around 900 Pesos for a room which had comfy beds, spacious bathroom with hot showers. While the rooms were not perfect and there was some building work going on with the balconies outside, I did think they were excellent for the price.

The restaurant was large and had character. However, in the restaurant, it was hit and miss. One meal I had was quiet nice, the other was pretty horrible. The service was generally slightly slow, although not something to get too worked up about.

I would perhaps have given this hotel 3 or 4 stars but for 1 reason. We arrived at 8pm and went out for a quick drink and a meal. They have a 9pm curfew which was not properly explained to us at the beginning. We got back around 9:30 or 10. While I have stayed in hotels with curfews before, there is usually hope of getting in by ringing a bell etc.

However here, we were banging on the metal shutters for about 30 minutes to no reply. Luckily some locals took us back to their squat and built a fire so we didn't die of exposure!!!!

This was ok for us, but for elderly people spending a night outside in Sagada's, chilly and damp nights in the mountains this could be quite dangerous.

The following day we were asked with a smiling face by a staff member "where did you sleep last night?". This made us wonder if they had heard us knocking. There was no apology and we were left feeling annoyed by this.

At the end we were not offered a discount on the bill for the night sleeping rough, but did not pay the full bill anyway.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmazingSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagada
16.5 mi away
Banaue Hotel and Youth Hostel
46.6 mi away
Villa Diana Hotel & Cafe
1.7 mi away
Isabelo's Inn and Cafe
Isabelo's Inn and Cafe
#2 of 22 in Sagada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Shamrock Tavern Inn
Shamrock Tavern Inn
#10 of 22 in Sagada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sagada Grandmas Yellow House and Cafe
0.5 mi away
Misty Lodge and Cafe
Misty Lodge and Cafe
#1 of 22 in Sagada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masferre Country Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masferre Country Inn and Restaurant

Property: Masferre Country Inn and Restaurant
Address: Poblacion, Sagada, Luzon 2619, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Mountain Province > Sagada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Sagada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of Sagada, Masferre Country Inn and restaurant offers the most accessible lodging with hotel-like amenities including a full service restaurant. It also houses the world-renowned photographs of the father Philippine photography, Eduardo Masferre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Masferre Country Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing