We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice experience but will not go back” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Masferre Country Inn and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Masferre Country Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 22 Sagada B&B and Inns
San Fernando, Philippines
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Nice experience but will not go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

I dont have any complain with service, food, and cleanliness of the place. However, for the same service and satisfaction, you can opt for other inns in the vicinity due to price, which is not competitive.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lonewolfshifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    25
    15
    2
See reviews for
13
25
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Firstly the good points for this hotel:

We paid around 900 Pesos for a room which had comfy beds, spacious bathroom with hot showers. While the rooms were not perfect and there was some building work going on with the balconies outside, I did think they were excellent for the price.

The restaurant was large and had character. However, in the restaurant, it was hit and miss. One meal I had was quiet nice, the other was pretty horrible. The service was generally slightly slow, although not something to get too worked up about.

I would perhaps have given this hotel 3 or 4 stars but for 1 reason. We arrived at 8pm and went out for a quick drink and a meal. They have a 9pm curfew which was not properly explained to us at the beginning. We got back around 9:30 or 10. While I have stayed in hotels with curfews before, there is usually hope of getting in by ringing a bell etc.

However here, we were banging on the metal shutters for about 30 minutes to no reply. Luckily some locals took us back to their squat and built a fire so we didn't die of exposure!!!!

This was ok for us, but for elderly people spending a night outside in Sagada's, chilly and damp nights in the mountains this could be quite dangerous.

The following day we were asked with a smiling face by a staff member "where did you sleep last night?". This made us wonder if they had heard us knocking. There was no apology and we were left feeling annoyed by this.

At the end we were not offered a discount on the bill for the night sleeping rough, but did not pay the full bill anyway.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmazingSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sagada hotels

Japan
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

The place is right smack at the center. After moving from two other locations, we finally settled in Masferre. The price is higher than most. We got our room for two at 1500 pesos a day with free breakfast. It has everything that we can ask for. Ensuite bath and a water heater for the cold weather. Extra pillows and blankets were immediately given. The only downside was there was no hair drying to dry wet hair which can also be very irritating.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthro_pologo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

The Masfarre Inn in Sagada has now been renovated and is located in the centre of town.The rooms are small but quite comfortable.It has new bathrooms with hot water and a small verandah.1400 pesos sngl 2000 dbl.WIFI .
Very good food in the restaurant, most things about 200 pesos not all of the staff speak english,but try very hard to help.Great photos on the walls.They also sell condiments honey jam coffee etc,all made locally on the farm.Take a guide even if you just go walking in echo valley.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rick1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

We rented 2 rooms at Masferre. If you arrive with your own car, they provide a parking space in a separated compound just opposite the hotel. You enter the hotel area through the restaurant. This itself looks very simple and not very impressive but the rooms are very clean and tidy. We got towels, soap, tooth brush and tooth paste in the bathroom and the room was spacy enough to stay in there. The hot water running well and was always available. The view from the balcony was nice and chairs are waiting there for you for spend some time there after a hiking day.
The staff there is friendly and averagely skilled. The food is standard but good- coffee is rather not that good- better opt a juice there.
Masferre´s location allows you to discover Sagada town easy and reach all highlihts in a short time. The staff is helpful with any questions you got.

Room Tip: The attic room got a wooden flooring. We had the rooms below and found that out after a group of Kor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JollyBee2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City/ PPC, Palawan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

December 24, 2011, we had an early Christmas Eve dinner at Masferre. We had 2 tables reserved for 21 individuals. We even payed in advance.

This was the scenario:

- On my way to the buffet table, my sister asked me to request some tissue paper/ paper table napkins. I told the waitress wearing a pink shirt. (excuse me, may i request for some tissue/table napkin?) Everything seemed okay because by the looks of it she and the other waitress behind the counter (wearing black) exchanged words regarding my request. But I waited for more than 15 minutes but the table napkin did not arrive.

- I went back to the buffet table to get some tea, the waitress in pink was standing nearby and so I followed up the request ("miss, uhm, where's the tissue...?) , she again nodded and went to the counter to talk with the woman in black w/c I saw go inside the kitchen. I went back to our table and waited but still no tissue. And now I see the waitress in pink behind the buffet table.

- When my sister went to get some more tea, she came back with a handful of table napkins. So I asked her where she got it and she told me that she only asked for it. "once" I got irritated and wondered, "are they ignoring my requests on purpose?"

- Just to confirm, I waited and started thinking on how to do another request, just in time, my aunt who was beside me wanted some water and so I presented myself to ask for it. This time I got the attention of a small woman that looked very boyish. "May I request for 3 glasses of water?" She nodded....but again, I waited for 10 minutes and no water came. I looked at the counter and majority of the staff/crew were just there talking to each other. How hard is it to get 3 small glasses of water?

- This time I told my mother (who was the one who made the reservation with the owner/manager) I explained what happened. I asked my dad to call the owner to express my concern. When she came and heard us, she apologized and explained that "maybe" her staff who were according to her are contractual, were tired or frantic/panicked by all of the nights work.

HUH?! "again" how hard is it to get tissue paper/table napkin and 3 glasses of water?

I personally did not feel any sincerity from her (the owner/manager).

I think there was a 3rd incident where - at the buffet table - I was about to get some pasta and right there and then, a different waitress quickly took the pasta from the table. That time I thought that there must be something wrong with the spaghetti for them to take it away. But now that I've thought about it, I could say that it's a part of it...maybe a sinister plan against me? Why?

Because a day before (Dec 23), we were also supposed to dine there. But my mom already had a reservation at Haddeku and our guide who was supposed to cancel (as agreed earlier) forgot to do it. And so, there was no choice but to proceed with Haddeku because the buffet was already prepared specially/only for our group.

But during that time, most of our family was already inside Masferre (no orders yet) and by the time the rest of us got there, I was the one who told everyone (who was inside--sitting-- Masferre) about the predicament and that we have to leave and proceed with our previous reservation with Haddeku.

So, paranoid as I may seem, that is the only logical evidence/reason I can think of. They "maybe", thought that I cost them their earnings for that night. Because before we left, a staff called my mom's attention and told us that because of us/ our group, they rejected an earlier reservation by foreigners, and that they we have to tell/ explain to the owner.

That night night, when we left Masferre, that boyish looking woman was at the door and even had the guts to stare at me eye to eye...Non of the staff came and apologized.

Though the food was okay, the service was horrible.

Thank you for ruining my Christmas Eve.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PlayPoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagada
16.5 mi away
Banaue Hotel and Youth Hostel
46.6 mi away
Villa Diana Hotel & Cafe
0.0 mi away
Shamrock Tavern Inn
Shamrock Tavern Inn
#10 of 22 in Sagada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sagada Grandmas Yellow House and Cafe
0.5 mi away
Misty Lodge and Cafe
Misty Lodge and Cafe
#1 of 22 in Sagada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
18.6 mi away
Batad View Inn and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masferre Country Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masferre Country Inn and Restaurant

Property: Masferre Country Inn and Restaurant
Address: Poblacion, Sagada, Luzon 2619, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Mountain Province > Sagada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Sagada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of Sagada, Masferre Country Inn and restaurant offers the most accessible lodging with hotel-like amenities including a full service restaurant. It also houses the world-renowned photographs of the father Philippine photography, Eduardo Masferre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Masferre Country Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing