We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No place like Kanip-aw Pines Lodge.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kanip-aw Pines Lodge
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Sagada
Alabang, Rizal, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No place like Kanip-aw Pines Lodge.”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

First, to Kuya Oscar and Ate Epi, thank you very much for a warm welcome. I can say that we enjoyed our trip in Sagada because of Kanip-aw Pines Lodge and kuya Oscar's stories hehe. Although it's a bit farther than other lodges, it's the very reason why we went to Sagada in the first place, Adventure! Sagada is all about trekking and you can practice that through Kanip-aw Pines Lodge. One will appreciate the quietness of the lodge at night because you will really need it after spelunking for 4 hours inside Sumaguing and Lumiang caves or just after strolling the town and watching the beauty of Sagada. What I really loved about this lodge is the amazing view of the Kanip-aw Mountain (which kuya Oscar shared us the name of the mountain and the story behind it). You can still see the view even when you're just inside your room and it's really breathtaking (You just might be tempted to stay in the lodge, enjoy the view, get to know the other guests or listen to kuya oscar's stories). I know that kuya Oscar is still doing some improvements for the lodge and I bet, people will love the lodge even more. We would definitely go back there... Til next time! =)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MandyManderico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
epiphaniamagwilang, Owner at Kanip-aw Pines Lodge, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Thank you so much for considering Kanip-aw Lodge as part of your enjoyable Sagada trip and for taking time to share this very helpful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    46
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
19
30
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
manila
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

i felt home as soon as walked in Kanip-aw Pines Lodge. It gave me the feeling that I was a part of Sagada and its daily life. The place itself is an experience of the current Sagada life. The owners, Oscar and Epy are very accommodating and friendly. Good value for money, the rooms were clean, neatly prepared cozy rooms ( i really had good sleep there), cold and hot showers, and the view is nice especially in the morning. Good wifi connection, and it is very close to lemon pie house! I definitely will recommend this place, and the rate is very reasonable for what it is, a home for the visitors of Sagada.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wjfrando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
epiphaniamagwilang, Owner at Kanip-aw Pines Lodge, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Madam,

Our deepest gratitude to you for sharing a review for Kanip-aw Lodge. Thank you very much for considering the lodge as a home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabang, muntinlupa city
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

i instantly love the place the moment i set in. it was late when we arrived yet not a hindrance to notice the cleanliness of the common area and the room was neatly prepared comes with warm n cold shower, the place got a great WiFi connection too. In the morning, the cold breeze of air and trees greeted us, perfect nature scene from our room. The place is with a very accommodating owner (kuya oscar n ate epy) thank you so much with all the help n guidance with our trip to n from there.. We had a great stay in your place.. Hoping to be back there again.. God bless..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katenkeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
epiphaniamagwilang, Owner at Kanip-aw Pines Lodge, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for this very helpful review of Kanip-aw Lodge.

God Bless...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

No expectations, I just want to reach the place called Kanip-aw pine view lodge. When we are inside Kanip-aw, I was awed by the view from our terrace they called "eco valley". This is perfect......with hot & cold shower, WIFI , TV, clean room. I'll be back! Thank you to the owners, Oscar & Epy. it was indeed a memorable vacation for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
epiphaniamagwilang, Owner at Kanip-aw Pines Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Our deepest gratitude for your tripadvisor review for Kanip-aw Lodge. We're very glad you had a memorable vacation here.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davao
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

we stayed two nights here and had a great time! from the outside, it does not look impressive at all, but once we were inside, we were floored by the amazing view of echo valley from the wraparound terrace. our rooms (four) were basic but very clean, the showers were hot and strong, wifi connection was strong, and the owners oscar and epy were very friendly and helpful. they even allowed us to use their kitchen for cooking. hot and cold drinking water is available. the only downside is the slippery short walk from the main road, but they are currently fixing it. also, i wish they'd put screens on the windows so we could keep them open without fear of insects coming inside the bedrooms. but that's minor..i'd stay there again and again. thank you, oscar and epy for making our sagada experience very memorable!

Room Tip: ask for the rooms facing echo valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank millety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
epiphaniamagwilang, Owner at Kanip-aw Pines Lodge, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you very much for sharing a review for Kanip-aw Pines View Lodge. We're blessed with one of God's gifts to Sagada ... the beautiful nature surrounding the lodge... and we hope more guests will share and enjoy such environment with us ... like you did.

Again, thank you and God Bless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Sagada is beautiful for the adventurer, the nature lover and the photographer. Kanip-aw is home. Nestled in a quiet area of Sagada with rooms that have fantastic views, Kanip-aw soothes the weary traveller. Coming from Batad where I and a friend had it really rough with endless hiking, rain and slippery trail, Kanip-aw means restful sleep, warm shower, 24 hour hot water for coffee, a veranda where I would sit most of the time with my camera zooming in to what the mountains would offer. The owners are very friendly and will certainly make you feel at home. Should i have the chance to visit Sagada again, Kanip-aw will certainly be on top of my list.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
epiphaniamagwilang, Owner at Kanip-aw Pines Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for considering Kanip-aw: ... ... a home. We will try our best to always make it one .. a home for every guest.

God Bless ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Special thanks to kuya oscar for being such an excellent host. Hehe very accomodating. Super nice din ng rooms. Very clean and cozy. Hehe. With hot shower and wifi. Sinundo pa kami ni kuya oscar from the municipal hall and hinayid sa terminal nun pauwi. ;) very friendly din ung wife and son nya. Hehe

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank telmin89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
epiphaniamagwilang, Owner at Kanip-aw Pines Lodge, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding our simple Kanip-aw Lodge. We're really very glad you enjoyed your short stay with us.

We apologize for some inconveniences but we hope we will be able to address those as we try our best to improve Kanip-aw Pines View Lodge.

Again, our sincerest thanks po.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sagada hotels
2.4 mi away
Coffee Heritage House & Hostel
0.8 mi away
Misty Lodge and Cafe
Misty Lodge and Cafe
#1 of 22 in Sagada
116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Isabelo's Inn and Cafe
Isabelo's Inn and Cafe
#3 of 22 in Sagada
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sagada Heritage Village
Sagada Heritage Village
#6 of 22 in Sagada
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agape Log Cabin and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Shamrock Tavern Inn
Shamrock Tavern Inn
#14 of 22 in Sagada
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanip-aw Pines Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanip-aw Pines Lodge

Property: Kanip-aw Pines Lodge
Address: S Road, Sagada, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Mountain Province > Sagada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Sagada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the beauty of Sagada right from your window. Hear the tweeting of the birds and the hissing of the fresh escaping air as they seranade your weary ears. Drink our brewed coffee while letting the warm rays of the sun gently lay on your face. Feel Sagada. Feel it at Kanip-Aw Pines View Lodge. We are located in Atey, Dao-angan, Sagada Mountain Province. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing