We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lumiang Burial Cave”
Review of Lumiang Cave

Lumiang Cave
Ranked #5 of 20 things to do in Sagada
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Lumiang Burial Cave”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Sagada is famous for its hanging coffins but there is also another traditional way of burying the deceased, by stacking the coffins at the opening of the cave. A visit to the Lumiang Cave allows you see this century old tradition. This cave houses at least a hundred of coffins that have been there for about 500 years.

Our guide told us that the coffins were positioned at the mouth of the cave for the belief that light coming in will protect the soul of the deceased from bad spirits. It is noticeable that the coffins are small for a full grown adult because the corpses are placed in fetal position liked in the womb, believing that they should leave the world in the same position as they entered it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jmtheadventurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    52
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Really really cool!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Definetely worth doing the connection!
The cave with rock formations is stunning but the adventorus part of the cave is totally awesome!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MS-SS-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“historic”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

interesting and historic. nothing much to see though. the walk to the cave was quite an excercise, we stayed there to just a few minutes.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank elle_0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“talk about culture ;)”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

the trek was worth the learning about the culture and ways of the ifugao. according to our guide, records indicate that the coffins here are 100-400 years old. women who died of childbirth or with child were buried on the other side, separately, since they believed they were cursed, and couldn't be buried with the others :(

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank istop4streetfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosendaal, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A dive into the habitat of bats, and bat poop”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Lumiang cave is part of the ‚ cave connections’ underground hike route you can follow. Mostly, you enter the caves through Lumiang cave. But it’s also possible to only hike the Lumiang track, although it is suggested to do both hikes and exit through Sumaging cave. The entrance is remarkable because of the piled coffins against the rock walls.There’s a sign asking you not to open the coffins or steal anything inside. We hiked through both caves in 4 hours. We can say it was thé highlight of our stay in Sagada. We were quite unprepared because we accidentally bumped into the entrance and a guide with two pinot tourists. We asked them what they were doing and they answered that they were preparing for the hike and asked us if we wanted to join if we paid. Of course we said yes, but we were walking on flip flops, carried a big backpack and another big camera bag. 
So, we suggest you put on some comfortable old clothes that are aloud to get dirty and wet, good shoes (or bear feat likes us), a camera, water and money (for the guide P 400 p.p, and a refreshing drink after). Oh and maybe a bikini/shorts because there is an opportunity to swim in the cold waters running through the caves.



NOTE: you can’t hike through these caves alone. A foreign couple tried to follow us and our guide without paying, but that is highly irresponsible. You really need a strong and reliable lantern, since there’s total darkness and a skilled guide to lead you the way. There are very dangerous cliffs in the cave, which can be very deceiving at first sight.


Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thesevenroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lumiang Cave also viewed

Sagada, Mountain Province
 
Sagada, Mountain Province
Sagada, Mountain Province
 

Been to Lumiang Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing