We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My first Falls”

Bomod-Ok (Big) Falls
Ranked #4 of 20 things to do in Sagada
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cebu City, Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“My first Falls”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

All I can say is wow. The trek going to the falls is 45 minutes to 1 hour but it will take longer for the picture taking because of the breath taking view of the nature and rice terraces.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geezelle_Geemiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    78
    19
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tiring trip,yet worth it..”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

It was like more than 3hrs of trekking back and forth just to get to the falls, but the scenery on the way covered for it..You will have to get a guide just for this trip separately,pay fees and all that..water was really deep and cold,so you'll get refreshed after a very tiring trek..not for kids and oldies but we still found some oldies doing the trek..overall it was a great experience,but it was really tiring that I almost gave up! lol

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mahcoolet08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not for the faint of heart!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The family went on a second visit to Sagada this year. From Manila or from Bataan, it would take around 12 hours drive, but what makes our trip enjoyable -- we usually have an overnight in Bontoc. The stopover is Uhaj Village Inn, sleeping in the original Ifugao house on top of a mountain resort, with truly breathtaking views. We resume our trip to Sagada the following morning which takes us another 3hours drive. We rest in the afternoon, this time checking in at St Joseph Resthouse, which has a nice garden of flowers. The next day is the challenging part- we make our way to Bomod-ok Falls, bringing along the grand parents and 4 kids (ages9, 7, 6 and 3). It was like a segment of the show Survivor! Long and tiring trek, but the dip in the cool water of the falls was worth it! Try some Halo-halo merienda on your way back too. We rewarded ourselves with a sumptuous lunch in the famous Yoghurt House. Next day we did spelunking inside the Sumaguing Caves (this time minus the grandparents and the 3 year old).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Poletski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“hidden wonder...”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

One of the best in Sagada...
though this one is not for the fainted heart, as it requires a lot of endurance..
the descend is not an easy one, but the breathtaking views more than made up for challenge.

coming here, one must register and pay the tour guide ( it's required), and the P10 enviromental fee, which according to our guide, is use for the maintenance of pathways going to the falls. They also provide you with a walking stick, which is very very helpful.

the rice terraces are superb, they may not be as beautiful as the one in Banaue,but they are an attraction themselves...

and after an hour of trekking,you will the mighty Bomod-ok falls in all its wonder...

what's not so good are the line of hose along the falls,which according to our guide, is use for the nearby barangays irrigation and drinking water (sad), but it's their only resource, so we can't complain, as visitors, we are just passerby's. It's their living.

but overall,the hike is worth it....

and by the way, don't forget to take a dip at the ice cold pool down the falls,it chilling but exciting at the same time... it'll wake up all your senses :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Worth the climb!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Caveat Emptor: The trek towards this falls is not for the faint of heart, weak of stomach and most especially, the whinny of mouth.

But if you do brave the 8km vertical descent under an unrelenting sun, you'll be rewarded with a most magnificent sight. The pool under the falls is ice cold, perhaps below 15C, and is the perfect way to refresh one's self after an hour's trekking.

Total time backand forth:3-4hours. Including 1 hour at the falls.

PS: Bring lots of food and drink!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jian_Joseph_Tayaban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bomod-Ok (Big) Falls also viewed

Sagada, Mountain Province
 
Sagada, Mountain Province
Sagada, Mountain Province
 

Been to Bomod-Ok (Big) Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing