We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long trek but worth it”

Bomod-Ok (Big) Falls
Ranked #4 of 20 things to do in Sagada
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Long trek but worth it”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

It was said that the hike going down the falls area will take 20 minutes and going up will comprise more time. Guess what, it was longer than we expected! It took us almost an hour going down, but of course with some stops to buy food, rest, and take pics. The water was so cold when we reached the falls; hence, we can hardly enjoy taking a dip. I suggest going there when it's not too cold to swim. Wear hiking shoes, sandals, or slippers that you are most comfortable with.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jillsparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    80
    19
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taguig City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“chill~”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hike was much easier than the one I had a day before (Banaue). I had a friend who took pictures of the people on our way there and that pisses me big time. I hope tourists would respect people's privacy, they are human beings whom we should ask permission to.
The water was chilly so I wasn't able to enjoy the water but just looking at it is enough for me.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank anne_rainne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baguio, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cold refreshing dip after a steep hike”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Bomod-ok falls might not be the highest falls in the Northern highlands of the Philippines nor is it the most picturesque but the clean and refreshing waters would more than make up for what it is not. Add to that the hiking experience through pine tree covered trails and open winding rice field paths. Indeed for the nature lover and adventure seeker, this Sagada side trip does not need a guide nor a park fee.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lam-ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“soar high sagada”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

the most challenging part of it was the departure from town to the falls.. we travel their with our own feet because it's the only means of transportation. maybe we walk an hour or more. so damn hot but when we reach our destination, its all gone because of the cool , fresh, and relaxing view of the place. want to visit them all over again. jeje

Helpful?
2 Thank Marvic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Freezing Falls”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I super loved the trek even if it was so taxing. The chill, the scenery and the great company made up for it. It was a long way down to the waterfalls but it was so worth it. We were there November, so the weather is already colder than the usual. When we reached the waterfalls, the water dropping from the fall was so strong that even if you haven't gotten close yet you can get wet already and the chills! Oh my God! So freaking cold! The current was also too strong that we were not allowed to go near the drop and do some floating. But being the adventurers that we are, we still dipped in the super cold waters. It was so much fun! One of my favorite adventures in Sagada!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank lizl0ves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bomod-Ok (Big) Falls also viewed

Sagada, Mountain Province
Sagada, Mountain Province
 
Sagada, Mountain Province
 

Been to Bomod-Ok (Big) Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing