We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, surrounded by gardens and views of the mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St Joseph Resthouse
Ranked #5 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Sagada
London
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great spot, surrounded by gardens and views of the mountains”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This guesthouse is up a flight of stairs right next to the bus station in Sagada. They have a wide choice of rooms, from basic with shared bath to stand alone cottages. We chose a double room with private bathroom, which was very reasonably priced. We had reliable hot water every day, and breakfast was available from the onsite cafe - although service was not great at the cafe, so I would recommend heading to the excellent Yoghurt House. The room itself had a very Swiss chalet vibe - lots of wood panelling!

The best thing about the place was the location - set in gardens right at the top of the village, which were great for relaxing in after a days hiking. It was also convenient for accessing the trail to Echo Valley, as well as heading to the small waterfall and Mt Kiltepan. It was also very close to the departure point for the Jeepneys down to Bontoc.

My only criticism would be that the rooms were quite noisy - ours was directly off reception, so we had noise both at night and early mornings - so maybe go for a room at the back. But Sagada is a fantastic place!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BalhamWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    66
    38
    11
    2
See reviews for
26
43
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

According to Filipino village standards, this is a great little place. Very basic, clean & has decent bathrooms. The bed was comfortable. The setting in Sagada is just beautiful. Be sure & take good ear plugs. The walls are paper thin & you can hear EVERYTHING. I had a snorer next door & it sounded like he was in the same room. There was a gentleman sitting at the front desk chain smoking & stunk up the whole place. In fact, my friends had to shut their window because his smoke cloud was floating into their room. Everything is open air here & it is a shame that they were not able to sleep with windows open. I couldn't go in the small lobby because it was filled with cigarette smoke. I had a massage in my room. The woman was very nice & quite good if you don't mind the uncomfortable nature of not being on a massage table. It was very cheap. Out of the few places I stayed in the region, this was the nicest, but keep in mind it is very basic. The area is just beautiful.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glcovington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

This is a very basic place so do not expect any amenities (though it does have hot water). Still, if you are in the area and need to stay in Sagada this is where you should stay. Sagada is an amazing place, well worth the inconvenience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JamesXXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

This guest house is situated on the top of the town with a great view on it.
Room and. Bungalows are also availables in a wide garden.
The place is very quite (no karaoke). The house and rooms are made of nice wood.
Bed is confortable, furnitures are provided for confortable stay.
Bathroom is clean with electric hot shower, unfortunately waste water drain can smell bad sometimes (around 1200 pesos the night).
Management is welcoming and can give good information for visiting the area.
Restaurant is not to be recommended but we did not try other in the town because of poor offer.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank r_gir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

we appreciated our stay in saint joseph.
the staff was friendly and welcoming.
room was clean and basic, bathroom as well.
only drawback is that wooden walls make the room noisy when other guests pass in the corridor.
restaurant is cheap but we think we got ill after dining there so we would not recommand it.

Room Tip: we had a double room air con on the first floor with a view on the garden but there is a lot of diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maguie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City/ PPC, Palawan
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This is the biggest inn/hotel there is in Sagada. They have lots of spacious areas to play and hang out with. They have individual cottages to give more privacy to families and friends. They also have a building for backpackers. The only concern is, they mainly used wood for the structures, so if children were running upstairs, you can really hear them. But other than that everything is perfect. They even serve good food.

Room Tip: Pick individual cottages for more privacy but if not, you better request a room on the 2nd floor. An...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PlayPoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgique
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Good surroundings, however too rustic accomodation, although it seems to be one of the best, if not the best, in town. No heating during the cool nights.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pinayfrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sagada hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagada
16.4 mi away
Banaue Hotel and Youth Hostel
1.8 mi away
Coffee Heritage House & Hostel
1.7 mi away
Sagada Heritage Village
Sagada Heritage Village
#7 of 24 in Sagada
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Isabelo's Inn and Cafe
Isabelo's Inn and Cafe
#4 of 24 in Sagada
66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kanip-aw Pines Lodge
Kanip-aw Pines Lodge
#3 of 24 in Sagada
108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Tavern Inn
Shamrock Tavern Inn
#14 of 22 in Sagada
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Joseph Resthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Joseph Resthouse

Property: St Joseph Resthouse
Address: Staunton Road | Poblacion, Sagada, Luzon 2619, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Mountain Province > Sagada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Sagada
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saint Joseph Resthouse boasts of its strategic location within the heart of the famed, beautiful and peaceful town of Sagada. The place, amidst the towering pine trees has a commanding view of the rice terraces and villages surrounding the town. The fresh pine scent gives you that unique feeling which tends to make you feel that you have regained that paradise lost. It is an ideal place for relaxation after a day's adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St. Joseph Resthouse Hotel Sagada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing