We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst receptionist in the world.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bontoc
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Churya-a Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bontoc
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Worst receptionist in the world.”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This place is decent value if you manage to get the 250ps shared shower room. I reckon the 500ps private shower room is overpriced. Allthough if your travelling with your partner its worth getting the 500ps room. The staff is nice but the receptionist is the most lazy guy in the world. He is always on the internet or watching movies and he seems annoyed if you disturb him. If you need something he will always say: 'no sir we don't have', allthough the rest of the staff can probarly help you out.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank korian89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
3
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This the first time we travel to Sagada Mountain Province with my family and friends, we stay in this Hotel, the place was quite very good to stay, has a spacious parking space for your vehicle.
A quite place to stay, staff were so helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left wing are good with a view on the beautiful pine trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed at The Churya-a Hotel extension wing last December 2012 on our first trip to Sagada. It was peak season, and all hotels were fully booked so there was no other choice. For all that I'm about to say about this hotel, readers are still advised that for a far-flung magical place like Sagada, this hotel is still arguably a better option compared to other Sagada accommodations. The following description should prepare future visitors for this hotel.

First of all, the design of the hotel is off. If you are used to traveling, the layout and design of this hotel will make your eyebrows jump. Its owners obviously have little experience about hotel design. The reception desk is not appealing, and the rest of the hotel experience takes its cue from this.

Our room was in the new wing of the expansion property. Our room (for 6 persons) was newly constructed. The walls are still in concrete finish, devoid of any wallpaper, interior design or even paint. The ceiling and doors remained unvarnished. The lighting is typical provincial lighting where you only have one light bulb for the entire room. There was a table beside our two double-decker beds that held our stuff. There was an attic with a mattress for our nanny.

The bathroom was small and very simple. It would get dirty easily as there was no mat nor curtain that separated the shower area and the lavatory and water closet. The lavatory drain was clogged and the water pressure not too strong so operating the heater was tricky.

Also, guests staying in this hotel should be prepared to hear guests in the other rooms. Our groupmates stayed in a room close to the reception area and they commented that they could hear the staff's kids play and shout right outside their room.

The food and service is simple. It took 45 minutes for their kitchen to cook fried chicken for 10 people. The staff do try their best (as it was peak season), but oftentimes fumble the smallest request.

All in all, the Churya-a is a very simple and provincial hotel wanting of many things. But, for a place as magical and captivating as Sagada, I will agree to staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheEuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Basic accommodation with shared bathrooms (no heating) go for p250. I opted for a room with the biggest window. Bed was comfy and sheets clean but bring ear plugs - noise from the street could be heard until midnight. Perhaps I could have gotten a room which does not face the street.

Most meals including breakfast are p100. I very much enjoyed the hot lemongrass tea with honey and lime. For dinner, I ordered chilli chicken which was supposedly served with mushrooms. What came to my table was chicken curry with chilli. I decided just to eat it anyway and found it delicious.

There was one annoying waiter who asked for my number too many times. The rest of the staff were pleasant and accomodating. In all, I would probably be back in this place when I am in bontoc.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alunsina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The rooms are very basic. The stairs are also steep so better take care while bringing things. The room rates are really affordable and you really get what you pay for. There are even insects in the bathroom that immediately scampered away when we turned on the light.

The staff are comprised of young teenagers who can be very slow at time and not proactive. You have to call their attention if you need water or if you need tissues..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthro_pologo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

The hotel is on the second floor of the building. You have to get up with your suitcases. The room we had was rather small and only with a very small window.
The bathroom was typical for a cheap hotel: There was a shower, but you better used the bucket, so no hot water.
The food in the restaurant was not that good.
You can use the front desk computer to check your email. But in our case they said it didn't function and in fact nobody did put it on.

I would recommend this hotel because you don't have mutch choice in Bontoc.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tbennekik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bontoc hotels
0.0 mi away
Pines Kitchenette and Inn
0.0 mi away
Ridgebrook Hotel
Ridgebrook Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bontoc
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vilma's Guest House
Vilma's Guest House
#2 of 5 in Bontoc
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churya-a Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churya-a Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Churya-a Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Poblacion, Bontoc, Luzon 2616, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Mountain Province > Bontoc
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bontoc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Churya-a Hotel & Restaurant is located at the heart of Bontoc, Mountain Province. It is near government offices and agencies. Likewise, Churya-a Hotel is only a walking distance from every public utility transportation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing