We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventurous trip to a secluded village.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ramon's Homestay and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Batad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Adventurous trip to a secluded village.”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Ramon has been a great host to my husband and I.
We stayed at one of the traditional huts that he has rebuilt in order to restore the cultural heritage of his village. He tells stories of how life used to be hundreds of years ago and still is today. Only 7 years ago electricity was introduced to the valley. Most of the time there is no mobile phone reception. A perfect place for relaxing and being 'away from it all'.
It is so nice to live in a completely different surrounding, no electricity in your own hut, being woken by the roosters at sunset and going to bed after dinner and sundown. The huts are basic, but have good beds. The bathrooms are shared and basic as well. But you can handle that for a couple of days.
The massages that were arranged after a long hike through the ricefields and terraces and the trip to the waterfall, were definitely necessary and great for our bodies!
Irene, the extremely service minded and always smiling host cooked up great breakfast, lunch and dinners for us. Not only tourists stayed at Ramon's homestay, also people coming from larger towns in the surroundings to help their families with keeping the ricefields in good shape and ready for a new planting of the seedling. We saw the villagers and especially the children , before going to school, pound their rice every day, so they would be able to have breakfast, lunch and dinner. Ramon also invited us to have a try. What we also tried and liked a lot, is his home made rice wine! Ask for it. Eating on the terrace with the wide view over the mountains and feeling the crisp air was always a good start of the day.
The trip from Banaue to Batad itself is adventurous and beautiful. Expect to sit in a Jeepney for 1,5 hours and walk down to the village in about 1 hour. Walking is still the only way to reach the village and then ask for Ramon. Every one knows him! Have a great stay.

Room Tip: The traditional huts are great when you are with 2, 3 or 4 people. Some have a window, others don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jeroen1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    30
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
10
38
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Ramon's Homestay may have been my favorite lodging in my whole 6+ months of backpacking. Batad itself is absolutely breathtaking, and at Ramon's you can stay in a traditional Ifugao hut. Reading by candlelight is surprisingly possible, and very peaceful. Ramon and his family are really nice and will take the time to sit down and talk to you about, well, whatever you're interested in or curious about. I was lucky to be there at the same time that a local family was hosting a wedding; Ramon invited me to join him. It was such a great experience!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rdigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed 3 days 2 nights at Ramon's as part of my Banaue tour. It was a very memorable stay. Nestled within the Batad terraces and mountains, Ramon's homestay provides an authentic native experience. The surroundings are breathtakingly beautiful and serene. Something to look forward to is having breakfast while looking out into the mountains. Peaceful yet awesome.

Do stay at the native hut if you get the chance. There is no electricity in the hut but you can charge your cameras and phones at the kitchen. You really won't feel like doing much in the hut anyway..other than just totally rest and relax in the darkness. This is especially true when your legs are tired from a day of trekking. The hut is clean and spacious enough for at least 3-4 people. The beds are comfy and blankets are provided too.

Ramon is friendly and welcoming. Same goes for his niece and my guide, Irene, who treats me like a sister. Both are knowledgeable and proud of the Ifugao culture. I would definitely recommend anyone who wants a true native experience to stay at Ramon's homestay.

Room Tip: Go for the native hut if it is available. It is cool in the day and comfortably warm at night. Thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Xinyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I don't write a lot of reviews here, because often what needs to be said has been said, or it isn't worth the time - however, Ramon's Homestay was one of the best places I've stayed in all of my travels.


Sure, it isn't a 5 star resort like the Ascott in Manila, but it is authentically Batad, and it certainly feels like home. In all my travels, I've never felt more relaxed and "away from it all" than I did here (and I honeymooned in Hawaii).


Batad is hard enough to get to and remote enough that you feel disconnected from the hustle and bustle, and also free of typical travel "screw the tourist" pressure. This is a private get away, where you are really a guest in the home of Ramon, and a guest of the entire village.


We had a local guide from Ramon's helping us out all the way along (even organising to be there when we got off the bus). Even though my wife speaks fluent tagalog, a friendly face with local knowledge and local connections was worth it - in fact everything this far away from Manila is exceptional value. (And for the sceptics like me, this isn't a "touristy" tour guide scenario - it is a hanging with a local scenario).


You could get lost (in a good way) in the hikes around here for days. The rice terraces truly live up to the 8th wonder status, and living within the terraces and the culture is truly a privilege we will never forget.


I have to echo the sentiment of other reviewers here, the best part of Ramon's is Ramon, Irene and the other people that work there and around them - the have an amazing and inspiring culture, which puts the "Home" in homestay and "Wonder" in 8th Wonder.

You can contact Irene - bireneann@yahoo.com



Please note, the ATM's in Banaue don't support Maestro or Cirrus, so come prepared!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank damiendonnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stayed 1 night here in the native hut. Staff was friendly and helpful. Good food as well although selection is a bit limited. The place has a nice view of the rice terraces.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vinkoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Ramon's homestay is the perfect opportunity to experience Batad in an authentic and natural setting. Centrally located, we quickly found our way to various points of interest in the area, and worked our quads into top shape from climbing up and down, down and up, up and down. We were even serenaded at all hours of the night by rice wine imbibing locals walking the nearby trail. Best of all is Ramon. We spent three days hiking through several nearby villages with him and found Ramon to be a source of endless knowledge about the Ifuagao rice culture and the native plants and foods. I cannot recommend Ramon enough - he is extremely friendly and went far out of his way to help us learn as much as we could about the local rice varieties and customs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZARAGOZA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stay one night in this Homestay. We found this place with Irene's help (she is Ramon's niece and she's also guide.). We visited with her the water falls.
Our room was a small native hut, clean and with beautiful views. This is not a 4stars, but enough for a night in this small village. Toilet and shower were separated, next to the hunt. Food was simple but good. The views from the place where we eat were amazing.
Ramon is a very good guide. He loves his village and he knows everything about the region and its traditions. We return with him walking to Banga-an, and then to Banaue, explaining us a lot of interesting things during the walk.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ZAPETON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batad
0.0 mi away
Batad View Inn and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Banaue Homestay
Banaue Homestay
#2 of 14 in Banaue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bogah Home Stay
Bogah Home Stay
#3 of 14 in Banaue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Native Village Inn & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Rice Homestay
Rice Homestay
#3 of 15 in Banaue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malapascua Budget Inn
Malapascua Budget Inn
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramon's Homestay and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramon's Homestay and Restaurant

Property: Ramon's Homestay and Restaurant
Address: Batad 3601, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Batad
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Batad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramon's Homestay and Restaurant is inviting you to "Go Local." Stay and have an experience in the traditional Ifugao house - so called "no nail house" - overlooking the magnificent rice terraces. Hotel provides shuttle from Banaue bus terminal to Batad saddle point with tour guide, upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Ramon's Homestay and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing