We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great courtyard!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Oro Viejo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Oro Viejo
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Nazca
Gatineau, Qc
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great courtyard!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed here as part of a tour. I shared one of the corner rooms on the second floor. The setup was lovely, the room clean and comfortable. Nice bathroom, too. However, my room mate had a lot of trouble sleeping without earplugs because of the constant noise from the street. Try getting a room further down the hall if you can.

The next day, breakfast was pretty good, although it could have used some fruit. The dining room is a big open space that was quite nice, although not as nice as the courtyard.

There are computers in the lobby where you can use the Internet for 15 minutes free.

The hotel was located near a local market, which was a lot of fun to visit. There is also a park one street down where teenager dance at night.

Room Tip: Take a room away from the streets or bring earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AyaReiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    114
    33
    6
    4
See reviews for
32
86
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This little hotel was suggested to us by a friend in Peru. He always stays here when he is in Nazca. It was clean, the breakfast was good, and the location is great. You can walk to anything in Nazca, and if you do the plane trip over the lines, they pick you up at the door to the hotel. And, it cost us $60 a night for two! I had to double check the exchange rate three times to make sure I wasn't crazy. I would recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
142 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Nice pool, good breakfast, very small rooms and no air conditiong in the rooms. This makes the rooms terribly warm specially during the hot season,

In Peru Air conditioning is rarely known in general ito the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed one night before our flight over the Nazca lines. We had a large room with a jetted tub, a queen size bed and lots of furniture to sit on. Free WiFi

We walked from the Cruz del Sur bus station. It is only a couple of blocks.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful, although there was no English spoken.

They had a good hot breakfast with eggs, a nice change from the usual toast and jam.

We had booked our flight with Air Paracas from a agent in Huacachina. It cost $110 for a five person plane. We were picked up at the hotel at 7.30 A.M. and were in the air by 8.30. A very professional operation. The pilots were very accomadating and made sure everyone saw the lines. After hearing so many horror stories we were very pleased with our experience

Our bus to Arequpa didn't leave until 10 P.M. so the hotel let us store our packs and hang around the pool. A nice way to spend the afternoon heat of the day.

Nazca is not much, but it was still fun to walk around, spend some time in the Plaza de Armas and try out some restuarants.

If you have to stay in Nazca I would reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the road side can be noisy, try and get one around the couryard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clancy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

We absolutely adored this hotel! The room itself was huge and very clean and the bathroom had a deep, jetted tub. The hotel grounds were beautifully landscaped and inviting and had many seating areas and outdoor tables situated throughout. There was a quaint reading area nicely stocked with books and magazines. The breakfast room was inviting and the complimentary breakfast was served rather than buffet. The meal was very enjoyable.

The hotel is situated just a block from the heart of Nasca so is more quiet than other hotels yet a short walk to shops, restaurants, and a small planetarium.

Since there was a small table and chairs in our room in, we opted for picking up a few empanadas from a local panaderia for dinner rather than dine out. The room was so large this was not uncomfortable at all.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BWBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed overnight to visit friends and this hotel had been mentioned in Lonely Planet...It looks like a door in a wall as so many hotels in Peru do. When you go through the door, it's lovely; hacienda style...open seating areas, a garden, small pool, grass! We walked in and booked/ paid about $45 for a 3 bed room upstairs in mid Sept. and the room was charming and large...bathroom with lots of hot water. Great breakfast buffet with eggs to order....very nice staff. Location is right in the business district a few doors away from a terrific souvenir shop.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UtahTravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
875 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 835 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

We were a walk in booking at the last moment, due to the bus to Cusco being fully booked. Lady luck sometimes throws you an ace ,and this was it. We had an extra day to relax by the pool and time to do the double decker bus city tour . The hotel ticks all the boxes .
if you are going to do the flight over the lines DO NOT book with the hotel as they charge120US dollars whereas if you go to the airport yourself its only 100US dollars for the same trip.Try to fly 3.30 - 4.00pm which gives much better light to see the lines. Excellent breakfast, clean tidy room with hot strong shower. Although you are required to check out by 11.30am the hotel has no problem with looking after the luggage and letting you use all the hotel facilities while you wait for the night time buses. Good all round value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nazca hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Nasca
0.1 mi away
Hospedaje Yemaya
Hospedaje Yemaya
#2 of 17 in Nazca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Hacienda Nasca Oasis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Majoro
Hotel Majoro
#7 of 17 in Nazca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#6 of 17 in Nazca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
2.1 mi away
B Hotel Nasca Suites
B Hotel Nasca Suites
#9 of 17 in Nazca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oro Viejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oro Viejo

Property: Hotel Oro Viejo
Address: Jr Callao # 483 ,, Nazca, Peru
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Nazca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Nazca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Oro Viejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oro Viejo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing