We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, quiet location”
Review of Hostel Camiluz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Camiluz
Ranked #8 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Nazca
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good, quiet location”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed here one night as part of a Geckos tour. The reception staff were friendly and helpful – organised our breakfast early so we could eat before our Nasca Lines flight. Our room was clean and a decent enough size but didn’t feel ‘finished’ – no TV although cables were present, some finishing touches not properly done, no decoration at all made it feel like a stark white box. Free wi-fi in common areas. Lobby area and outdoor garden courtyards were nice but not presented to their best effect. Good, quiet location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meagsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    41
    12
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
39
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Marco, the owner, picked us up from the busterminal. He is very helpful and a good tourguide. He drove us on one day to the cementary with the mummies and on the other day to the Paracas lines and to the water systems from the inkas. We had like a private tour with him. He is flexible and offered us to eat the breakfast after the flight over the Nasca lines what he also organised. The room we had was great, clean and quiet. The hostel is near to the plaza de armas. We had a good time in Nasca because of the hostel Camiluz.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife and stayed here for 3 nights; quiet location but close to Plaza, very helpful management and staff (Fernando speaks Spanish and Marcos speaks good English) -- large clean room with comfy beds, excellent toilet/shower facilities (Hot water!), good breakfast, use of office computer, wi-fi, arranged and organised ALL tours at very good prices, know all locals and they helped get anything needed. We only caught bus to Cusco in tthe evening (9pm approx) and we were made welcome to use all hostal facilities, including a shower, until we left for the bus. Both Fernando and Marcos used their own private vehicles to drive us around and both pick up and drop off at the bus terminal. Great people to deal with -- these are honest and genuine families.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jairos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My friend and I stayed in Camiluz for three nights. The beds were comfortable and it was quite at night. The breakfast was great in the morning, either cheesy potatoes (patatas), fried egg (huevo frito), or scrambled egg (huevos revueltos). The staff is friendly and helpful. Don Fernando, el dueño (owner) of the hostel was kind and helpful. Marcos, a member of the staff was also helpful and went out of his way to make us feel comfortable and made sure we had everything we needed. Great place to stay and relax in Nasca after jet setting over the lines. The hostel has two names, Pirwa and Camiluz. It can be hard to find, beneficial to take a cab from bus station and tell them you are going to Camiluz on Maria Reiche Ave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chelleg1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herent, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The owner of this hostal, Don Fernando, gives a great service. We had just arrived 10 minutes and he was already able to change our reservations for the flight over the Nazca lines so we could fly this same day instead of the next day. At the time of our arrival it was a sunny afternoon. Fernando drove us with his car to the airport, for free. We were very lucky, because there is often a smog in the morning so the airplanes can't take off. And indeed the next day other people had to wait for hours till the late afternoon.
Don Fernando organized a tour with a reliable guide with a car so we could visit the irrigation canals, the cemetery, the temple in the desert, ect. Fernando is a former pharmacist, he knows nearly everyone in the little town, we learned a lot about the life and the history of the town. We could use his PC as well and he allowed us to wait in the living room until our bus was leaving at night. Fernando and the guide drove us with our luggage to the bus station, also for free.
Our room was very spacious, quiet, clean and well furnished. The breakfast was good, but as we Belgians like a large breakfast, we had to ask for more bread.
If you to to Nazca, go to Hostal Camiluz!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed for a night at this hostel. Location was good 5-10 mins. walk to Plaza de Armas in Nazca and lots of restaurants and stores nearby. Staffs were helpful. Free Wi-Fi. Our room was in good size and clean, comfortable bed and pillows. Breakfast was lovely. The downside no hot water in the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lmv62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Level Contributor
260 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We were traveling with a group and arrived late and left early. Even though short, we did enjoy our stay. The rooms were large, clean, quiet, and comfortable. Breakfast was a festive affair with interesting and tasty food. The hosts were energetic and caring -- and working very hard. I'd say it would be impossible not to like them!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HungryGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nazca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hospedaje Yemaya
Hospedaje Yemaya
#2 of 18 in Nazca
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Nasca
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oro Viejo
Hotel Oro Viejo
#3 of 18 in Nazca
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#5 of 18 in Nazca
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nazca House
Nazca House
#1 of 30 in Nazca
182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Real Alcazar
Hostal Real Alcazar
#5 of 29 in Nazca
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Camiluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Camiluz

Property: Hostel Camiluz
Address: Av. Maria Reiche 304, Nazca, Peru
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Nazca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Nazca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Camiluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing