We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all our expectations met”
Review of Wasipunko Ecolodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wasipunko Ecolodge
Ranked #10 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Nazca
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is such a difficult review to write as I wish we could share the same experiences of previous reviewers, but we can't. We booked the Wasipunko around 6 months in advance and had contact with Alan who I understand is one of the son's. Contact by email was prompt, in English and he confirmed the rate of 150 Soles a night for the two of us, including breakfast, transfer in and out (arriving and leaving on Cruz del Sur) and also asked if we would like dinner, which we requested at a cost of 35 Soles each. Based on the reviews, particulaly about the good food and the location being quite isolated we were happy to eat at Wasipunko.

After booking, we had contact with Edmundo via email, Alan's brother who had a travel agency to help with booking our Nazca flights and also a trip to Chauchilla, however less than a week before we were due to arrive, at which point we were already in Peru with sporadic internet, he emailed asking for a deposit so we ended up declining the tour options and said we'd sort something out when we arrived in Nazca.

Arriving into Nazca Cruz del Sur we were greeted by Julianne (apologies if the spelling of the name is not correct) who is such a sweet person, 21 years old and did her best to communicate with us in English and with the help of Google translate on her phone! I admit we speak hardly no Spanish and accept that this does make things difficult but we got by in three weeks in Peru.

Upon arrival into Wasipunko via a taxi with Julianne and asked for 15 Soles when the transfer was suppose to be included, which we ended up paying as we were all stood there whilst the taxi was waiting for money. We were shown to our room which was nice as it was just past 7am. The place is nice and this is probably the saving grace, the rooms authentic and it was nice seeing the animals, peacocks roaming and doves. A farm in the desert and was exactly how we expected.

Julianne asked if we wanted to book any tours by Julianne and we opted for the Nazca lines at $100 USD each and Chauchilla which also included a visit to see pottery and how gold was mined for 60 soles. Julianne accompanied to the airport for our flight which was with Air Travel Nazca where she waited with us until we had a flight time then advised us a guide would be taking us to Chauchilla after our flight. She then left and indeed after our flight a guide was waiting for us who took us to Chauchilla where we had to pay our own entry of 8 soles each which I am not sure is normal. Our guide was OK, spoke English but it was a very quick visit, about 25 minutes and for the last 3 graves he left us and went to get the car. He did explain things and ask 'any questions' but it just felt a bit boring and slightly rushed, like he was going through the motions. He then said he was dropping us in Nazca to meet Julianne where we were going to see how pottery was made. This was a 15 minute visit maximum and feeling slightly under pressure to buy pottery with an average price of 200 soles, but we didn't. Next Julianne walked us across the road to someone's yard where an elderly woman wheeled out her husband in a wheelchair who then explained using some metal toy props how gold and minerals was mined for whilst his wife was in the background doing some kind of miming. They then ask for a donation and encourage you to buy jewellery, which is not authentic and we saw in many a gift shop in Nazca. This was another 15 minute visit maximum. Another taxi with Julianne to go to 'the agency' to pay the money for our tour then she put us in a taxi to go back to Wasipunko. To be honest we felt a bit ripped off and wished we'd of just booked the taxi's ourselves, I'm not sure what we actually paid for! The agency was Kanan Tours. During our time with Julianne we confirmed with her we were eating at Wasipunko and asked the time of dinner and what was on the menu, to be told 7pm at chicken.

Back was Wasipunko we chilled out and wandered round the farm. We didn't actually see anyone and it would have been nice to have felt a bit more like guests.

At 7pm we left our room and saw two women at 'Reception' so went to ask about dinner and offered to pay for the dinner and room then rather than in the morning. It all got very confusing but what was clear was that we were not expected for dinner, despite our email communication with Alan and conversation with Julianne. The lady got Alan on the phone. He was misunderstanding us that we had no money and it took quite some time before we understood one another.

Dinner, at 35 Soles was so disappointing. It was the most expensive meal in Peru. Perhaps it was that we were the only guests or that they had not expected us, but it consisted of soup, which tasted tinned, chicken in some kind of sauce, one potato each and some boiled rice and desert was a sliced banana each in some kind of alcohol. The main meal was nice, but what about fresh vegetables, home made dinner, this is what we were after.

Breakdast was also disappointing. We found a jug of juice, kettle of coffee and hot water and a basket of packaged buns with a plate of butter and jam. There are dozens of chickens in the place, what about eggs, cereal, cheese or fruit. It was laughable that this could be classed as breakfast.

They did get us a transfer to Cruz del Sur and at least we didn't have to pay for it this time. In our three weeks of travel in Peru this was the only place we were disappointed with and was probably one of the most expensive places too. I don't know if it was our lack of Spanish, that we were English or that we were the only guests but I wish we could have been more positive.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaRaRachelC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 45 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

My first night in Nazca I picked up some delightful food poisoning and was waylaid in a grotty hotel for 3 nights. I could take the crappy town no longer and forced myself to cycle the 15km or so south to Wasipunko, not sure what to expect but looking forward to some good birding never the less. I just wish I had forced myself to leave Nazca earlier.

Turned off at KM462 and a further 1km on a good dirt road brings you to a rather inauspicious looking entrance. Warmly greeted and formalities dealt with - I got a look at my room. Now, I have worked in upmarket African Safari lodges for many years and this was up there in terms of standards and feel. Excellent beds, minimilist but well chosen furniture. More than enough space to fit all my gear and bicycle with cramping the room. Just what wants from the ecolodge niche - a light in the bathroom and one in the bedroom, that was all the electrical points in the room.

The gardens are well shaded if not very large, one can also walk through the fields and vineyards surrounding the farm. Unfortunately my loss of time in Nazca limited my stay here to one night, it definitely deserved a longer stay though. Personally 2 nights would have sufficed for me, as a birdwatcher, I'm not sure what I would have done here for any longer. However, it would make a cracking base to visit the Nazca Lines etc.

Despite still being rather ill, the excellent food motivated me to eat heartily. The first thing the staff check when you arrive is your food orientation - cracking tamales for lunch (something I hadn't eaten since northern Argentina), Lomo Saltado etc. Drinks are ice cold - something oddly rare here in the desert! Breakfast was stunning too, although my bugs were getting the better of me at this early hour and I couldn't eat much unfortunately.

Had excellent service from everyone - special thanks to Olivia and the lovely lady chef who looked after me so well.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally good. If you do one thing - bypass the dump of a town that is Nazca and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaytonBurne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The drive to get there at night was all worth it when you wake up in this place. We had the full experience, the pachamanca ceremony, the animals in the farm, the peace of the deserts. The lodge are basic but comfortable and the service was friendly and warm. We really enjoy every minute of it, just wish we would have stay longer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Who would ever anticipate that as soon as you take a right passed “Kilometro 462 Panamericana Sur” (dirt road between the two poles) a unique and rustic dimension of warmth, peace and beauty is about to appear before your eyes. Six rooms small lodge that offers an infinity of meaningful details such as the rain stones corner, the ancient kitchen corner, the get together corner that become alive once you meet the owners Mother Olivia and Son Alan.
The rooms are simple but extremely cozy and comfortable. Each one individually decorated.

Breakfast was served every morning by Daniela, with fantastic “Campesino” bread, local fresh cheese, homemade marmalades in the marvelously decorated dining corner.

Needless to add that the guests we met during our stay were as special as the owners, Carlos Montenegro and Maritza as well as Mario Ortiz and Vanesa.

And then comes the Pachamanca prepared by a very special person, Adrian Peceros. It is more than a meal…it combines special ingredients…the smell of the marinated fresh meats, the potatoes, the pallares, the tamales that are about to be buried into the specially prepared heated ground above river stones and covered with palm leaves; it involves rituals and moments of gratitude (lead by Manuel Aguirre and by Maritza Linares) towards mother earth once Pachamanca is ready to be uncovered. Each guest magically engaged with transporting the meal to the kitchen where Maura and Vicky kindly did their best effort for a marvelous presentation. We were delighted by the flavours and the joy at the dinner tables!

The after dinner…everyone gathering at the “get together corner” surrounded by tamarind trees and naturally enlightened by million stars. We enjoyed unforgettable conversations spiced up with fantastic Piscos.

Who can ever forget such experience and smile while remembering it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Take a right between two poles just after 'kilometro 462' of the Panamerican and drive your way off the world into WASIPUNKO. Ring the entry bell hanging in the tree-bow-entrance. Charming rustic basic. Wonderfull socialising with other guests under the Tamarind tree, soft lightbulb glow fom afar. Freshly squeezed juice and coffee a volonté for breakfast, charming wood and straw chairs, a ceiling hanging full of little cans from around the world. The owners' aquarels of fruits and plants adorn the walls. Daylight streams into the bathroom buy the square hole in the ceiling ! (there is extra electric light if needed !) The prepared Pachamanca was a feast as feasts should be: slowly waiting for the wonders given by the under-earth-cooking by Pachamama, and finally shared by all present at the lodge. We were a bunch of friends staying there and we made new friends while beeing there!

Room Tip: ask them what you need as a room, they will provide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicoleOyegorda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Exactly the way I wanted to experience the desert. The lodge are comfortable but the big attracting is the property with the animals, the farm and the welcoming owner. I had a sense of peace I wanted to just enjoy the place. The kids had a great time. Thank you for the pachamanca ceremony!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeroTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I went with my 3.5 y-o daughter and couple friends with their 2 and 4 y-o daughters. The girls ran around, played, explored, fed the animals while we sat around under the shade of 70 y-o trees chatedand relaxed. The food served is freshly made by the same woman since the 70's and the owners are not only welcoming but helpful with annything that might improve your Nazca experience. Best experience!

Room Tip: Thinking of socializing at night time, I recommend families with small kids, to choose a room near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claudia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nazca hotels
6.9 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Nasca
5.1 mi away
Hotel Majoro
Hotel Majoro
#7 of 19 in Nazca
311 reviews
6.1 mi away
Casa Hacienda Nasca Oasis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
B Hotel Nasca Suites
B Hotel Nasca Suites
#10 of 19 in Nazca
20 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Maison Suisse
Hotel La Maison Suisse
#17 of 19 in Nazca
37 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Don Agucho
Hotel Don Agucho
#8 of 19 in Nazca
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wasipunko Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wasipunko Ecolodge

Address: Carretera Panamericana Sur km 462 | San Luis de Pajonal, Nazca, Peru
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Nazca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Nazca
Price Range: $73 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wasipunko Ecolodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Wasipunko Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing