We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis within the oasis”
Review of Hotel Sol y Dunas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sol y Dunas
Ranked #2 of 29 Nazca B&B and Inns
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An oasis within the oasis”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Nazca. It is a very modern hotel and very clean (rooms are cleaned every day). Breakfast is basic but good. Good WiFi in the rooms too.

Staff are very friendly and helpful and they will also help you book trips like flights over the lines at competitive prices, which will save you trekking round the endless agencies in Nazca.

When I was there the main road outside was being replaced so looked a bit like a building site. I was dubious at first but it didn't affect the quality of the hotel at all. In fact I got a decent night's sleep because there were no cars beeping their horns at all ours. There is a great sun roof too with good panoramic views of the surrounding mountains.

I arrived the day after a big group had left so seemingly had the whole place to myself so your experience may differ, but this isn't really the typical backpacker place to meet people. I got a big en suite single room incl breakfast for around £11. My room also had a fridge, cable TV, a fan and plenty of storage space.

My bus wasn't until 9.30pm and the hotel owner was more than happy for me to not only leave my stuff at the hotel but have a late checkout for free too.

I enjoyed coming back to my nice hotel room after spending the day in the hot and dusty town!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
19
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

This place ticks all the boxes ... Friendly staff, very clean, and nice rooms, reflective of the fact that it's a new built. Probably the best value package in town ... Hard to beat.

The staff at front desk speak very good English and in my experience extremely helpful.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank globetrotterdborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The rooms are spotlessly clean and quite comfortable--and they are very reasonably priced.

Numa, the owner, welcomed us with a warm smile and gave us free transportation in his car to the Naza airport and then again to the bus station when we left town. When we offered to pay him for this service, he simply said that his priority was making our stay with him the best it could be and no, we could not pay for the transport.

Numa also helped us arrange a tour of local ruins on 15-minute notice, and the guide (Pepe) was outstanding.

I cannot say enough nice things about Numa and Sol y Dunas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewinDC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights and have found it a great place to stay. At my first night in Nazca I ate a bad ceviche and got quite sick. The owner of the hotel took me to the hospital at 2am and when we got back to the hotel, he and his wife made us tea, even though it was the middle of the night. We stayed a couple more days so I could recover and staff was always interested in my well being. This is a brand new hotel, cleanest and shiniest we have seen in 6 months of travel. The price for a room was very reasonable. There is secure parking next to the hotel. I recommend you stay at this hotel when you visit Nazca.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardB255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was a bit skeptical getting this hotel with no reviews but that's because it's brand new. Also the price seemed really cheap.
Honestly this is probably the best hotel I have stayed in for the last 2 months. Everything is brand new and clean, staff speak excellent English. I paid $22 for a single room but honestly would have paid $80 it was that good ! It's a bit out the way probably a 5 min walk from the main square but a taxi will cost 1 or 2 soles. Seriously you stupid not to book this hotel if you staying in Nazca ! It's really well worth the money !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markdrifter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nazca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hospedaje Yemaya
Hospedaje Yemaya
#2 of 18 in Nazca
189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Don Agucho
Hotel Don Agucho
#8 of 18 in Nazca
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kunan Wasi
Hotel Kunan Wasi
#12 of 18 in Nazca
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Nasca
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oro Viejo
Hotel Oro Viejo
#3 of 18 in Nazca
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Real Alcazar
Hostal Real Alcazar
#6 of 29 in Nazca
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol y Dunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol y Dunas

Property: Hotel Sol y Dunas
Address: Av. Circunvalacion 1285, Nazca, Peru
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Nazca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Nazca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sol y Dunas 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol y Dunas is a brand new and modern hotel in a quiet neighbourhood only 3 blocks away from the city centre.We offer you clean rooms with a private bathroom and cable TV.To provide you a good service and a nice stay in Nasca is our goal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sol y Dunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing