We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much variation, but worthwhile”
Review of Cantalloc Aqueduct

Cantalloc Aqueduct
Ranked #3 of 31 things to do in Nazca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: An ingenious system of stone aqueducts built by the people of Nasca in ancients times is still functioning and used by local farmers for irrigation.
Barendrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not much variation, but worthwhile”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

There is no official entry point for the site, but there is some man walking around selling tickets.
The site shows several of these spiral type wells that are basically all the same. Still it is worthwhile to visit and see this site. If you take a cab, you can be back in Nazca in 1½ hour having seen the place at ease. But if had to choose because of limited time... the cemetery (which is on the other side and further away from the town) is more interesting.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank ECJ73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    149
    47
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worthwhile”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Most tourists in Nazca seem to spend a day, doing the overflight in the morning and a tour in the afternoon. Almost all the tour agencies seem to recommend the tour to Chauchilla cemetery. I was more interested in seeing the Cantalloc aqueducts, and it was either 1 or the other not both. We had to make many enquiries before finding a tour which went to the Aqueducts, Buena Fe geoglyphs and the Pardeones ruins. We were also able to talk the driver into stopping at the ceramics workshop on our way back. The effort in getting this tour was worthwhile because the aqueducts were very interesting and there was only 4 of us on the tour rather than the busloads that go to Chauchilla.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank survdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruit Cove, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“When you need fresh water you do whatever it takes”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Man's Ingenuity to get fresh water. Very educationals.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maximino G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Amazing and still i use . A must see if you are an engineer or love clever designs"”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Went there with a local guide and got the entire explanation. Several miles of aqueducts still in use. Colseby you can see a few Nasca lines from a small hill (free) and a few miles along the highway to Cusco you can also see the talles dune in the world.
Enjoy !
Moro

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Moro1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An Underground aqueduct”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The aqueduct is actually a series of holes in the ground lines with stones in such a way that you can spiral down a trail to collect your water and bring it back up. They tap into two small underground rivers that merge there in the park. We did not count these rock lined holes, but there must have been something like 10 or 12, each one a bit different. The park is very scenic, with flowers and birds and palm trees. The fences are thorn bushes with the sharpest points I have even seen. Do not miss the Inca fort a mile or two away. Do not know why it is not advertised but it is quite a ruin in itself. We drove by it on our way from downtown and asked our excellent guide, Christopher, set up by Yesenia at Kunan Wasi, to stop. He gave us an impromptu tour of the place, which must cover 2 football fields basically for free.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilson-House_Balt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantalloc Aqueduct also viewed

 

Been to Cantalloc Aqueduct? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing