We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On main street, good restaurant”
Review of Hotel Alegria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alegria
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Nazca
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Clean. Air conditioning. Cable TV. Good restaurant for lunch and dinner. Big courtyard. Breakfast served by a single waiter so we had to wait ages just to get bread, jam and butter. WiFi free. Small double room. Good front desk staff. On the main street next to shops.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Mister_Bump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alegria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 282 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

We got to Nazca in the afternoon coming on a Cruz del Sur bus from Paracas and stayed in Hotel Alegria one night. Staff was really nice, wi-fi worked, the room was OK and the inner courtyard a great place to rest away from all the noise and heat in the city. Even though breakfast was included we didn't try it since early in the morning we took the Nazca Lines flight and knew eating before was not an option.
The flight with Allas Peruanas was great but beware! the plane really has to recline "a la derecha" and "a la izquierda" so that all passangers get to see the geoglyphs bellow.
The local agency Alegria Tour located next door to the hotel also arranged for us a visit to the Chaucilla pre-inca cemetery where we saw incredible mummies and on the way back to town we stopped at Jenny Calle's traditional ceramics centre. Can't tell anything about Alegria Tour's prices since everything was included in our Peru trip booked through Adventure Hollidays Peru based in Cusco. But I noticed that Nazca was the only place in our trip where we had to pay for an airport tax (aprox 9 usd/person) and an entrance fee for something that was part of our tour (the Chauchilla cemetery entrance fee aprox 3 usd/person).

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Magda_Cristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed at the Alegria for 2 nights. I stayed in the "old rooms" in the back, which are less expensive. The room was big, but basic. But it was worth the price, since your could have breakfast on the patio, use the pool and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Since my bus was leaving at 10pm I was trying to get a half-day rate to stay longer in the room. After long arguments we came to an agreement, but I thought they were a little small minded. My room rate was S 90 and an additional 5 hours cost me S60.
The travel agency next door (same name) offered me some tours and when it came to paying, suddenly the prices were dollars not soles. I did some price comparing in town, and found out the owner had quoted me almost the some price in dollars, than others charged in soles.

Room Tip: the second floor for the "old" rooms is a better choice, since the rooms face the parking...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnkeSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed only one night, the staff are helpful, the rooms comfy with air con hot showers, cable tv. It has a good location in town, can be a little loud from street noise nothing ear plugs cant fix. Awesome pool area. Wifi is sketchy but works.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have stayed twice at the Hotel Alegria and fully recommend it for a night or two while you visit the Nazca lines. I stayed once in 2011 and in January 2014. Both times the staff have been welcoming, helpful and friendly. On our first night some other guests sat outside our room on the balcony talking until midnight before I decided to call the night staff to see if they could usher them downstairs to the pool side. They responded quickly and politely asked them to move for us with no fuss whatsoever.

The rooms are comfortable and come with hot powerful showers, clean bathrooms and excellent air con which was a delight in the hot heat of the day. The wi-fi was also great with no loss of connection or strength at any point.

I have used the sister agency (AlasPeruanas) for flights over the Nazca lines both times too. Situated just next door it´s easy to organise a flight with no fuss for about $80. The flights are also excellent we opted for an early flight with pick up at 9am, which is better as it makes for a less bumpy flight than in the afternoons due to the heat. There were also two pilots and only 4 passengers, the pilots ensured we got views of the lines on both sides of the plane.

The hotel itself is situated directly opposite the Cruz Del Sur bus station so there is no need to get a taxi, the hotel staff will also come and pick you up but be wary of anyone trying to take you to Hotel Algeria II.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was fine however associated tour agency was bad. Poor tour guides with very bad English, didn't visit the cemeteries or all the stated sites. Would have accepted this as part of travelling in South America apart from the fact they promised an English speaking guide and that we would visit all those sites. Also the plane that they use which did flight over nazca lines had faulty headsets and couldn't hear pilots instructions on where to look for lines. May as well been flying over any old desert.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Mpand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We arrived on a bus from Lima so we were happy to just walk across the street to check into this place. The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was the same. Plenty of water pressure and hot water.

We were easily able to walk about a block to the tourist area of the town where the restaurant and souvenir shops were. Directly next door was the company we had already chosen for our Nazca and Palpa lines flight, which was also convenient.

Breakfast was good. They offered eggs along with bread and juice and coffee/tea. When I said I don't like eggs and asked for fruit or yogurt they smilingly accommodated my request with both --the fruit was freshly cut.

We only stayed one night in Nazca (no reason to stay longer, the lines are the big attraction) but after we checked out of the hotel it was fine for us to stick around in the pool area until our night bus left around 10 p.m. and we ordered drinks, used the internet and wifi.

Wifi signal was strong and consistent. They discontinue your password after checkout but the desk person gladly created a new one for us to use while we waited in the pool area.

The pool looked inviting even though we didn't take a dip.

The only issue was that when we were ready to pay for our drinks and dinner before departing, suddenly we were not allowed to use the credit card for more than sol/20 (we weren't clear why). This was annoying because my husband specifically asked before ordering if we could use a CC for these expenses (having learned that lesson the hard way too many times in Latin America). We scrambled for cash to cover the rest but that kind of thing always leaves a bit of a bad taste in your mouth after an otherwise excellent experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schlegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nazca hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Nasca
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oro Viejo
Hotel Oro Viejo
#3 of 18 in Nazca
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hospedaje Yemaya
Hospedaje Yemaya
#2 of 18 in Nazca
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DM Hoteles Nasca
DM Hoteles Nasca
#6 of 18 in Nazca
258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Hacienda Nasca Oasis
0.4 mi away
Hotel Don Agucho
Hotel Don Agucho
#8 of 18 in Nazca
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alegria

Address: Calle Lima 166, Nazca, Peru
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Nazca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Nazca
Price Range: $57 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alegria 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Alegria in Nazca is located just 5 minutes away from the Maria Reiche airport and the main town square - Plaza de Armas - near the bus station. Its superb location provides easy access to all Nazca`s tourist attractions. The Hotel Alegria was built with the latest technology in antiseismic construction offering comfort and safety. Its 48 spacious rooms have 24 hours ecological hot water systems, private bath, private Satellite TV, national and international telephone connections and laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegria Hotel Nasca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing