We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really fascinating”
Review of Nasca Lines

Nasca Lines
Book In Advance
More Info
$428.65*
and up
Nazca Lines and Huacachina Oasis from San Martin Port
More Info
$456.77*
and up
Paracas Shore Excursion: Nazca Lines Tour
More Info
$169.00*
and up
30-Minute Flight Over Nazca Lines from Nazca
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Nazca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really fascinating”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We went to Nasca only to see those lines in the desert. Our hostel offered flights, so we booked directly through them. The flight takes about 30 minutes and it can get quite bumpy. So it's a challenge for people with motion sickness. But if you're interested in this kind of historical things it'a absolutely worth it. It might be a bit disappointing if you imagined the lines from documentaries or pictures. It can actually be quite hard to see some of the figures. But the more satisfying it is, when you recognize them in the sand. I would recommend a visit to the Maria Reiche Planetarium on the day before as you don't get very much information on the short flight.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mila_Norge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,373
    669
    224
    72
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lima
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were really looking forward to seeing the Nazca lines and took a trip there especially for this purpose. We planned to take the flight over the lines but all the tour operators were charging upwards of $90 just for this, We thought it was expensive especially considering the amount of time you're in the air and how dangerous these little planes are. We decided to see the lines from a mirador at the side of the road, we knew we wouldn't have a great view but were positive anyway. When we got up there we could see three of the figures perfectly but this wasn't the problem. The whole thing was just a huge disappointment. The lines aren't that big or even built deeply into the ground, we later found out that an earthquake had destroyed many of the figures so many of the lines aren't even the originals - I doubt the tour operators would tell you this!
If you have the money for the flight then maybe do it but if you're debating whether to go or not I would recommend that you don't.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 199cate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fascinating!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Due to weather, our tour was delayed from 8am until noon. Since everyone says to make sure to catch this early in the day for the shadows, I was concerned that I wouldn't be able to see anything very clearly, but it was still amazing. They probably weren't as easy to see as they would have been earlier, but I still saw all of them. What I didn't expect was for my stomach to be affected. I do fine on rollercoasters, but by the end of the flight my stomach was feeling a tad tossed, as were the others on the flight.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Stop Considering and Just Get Up There!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

There seems to be a lot of concern that the lines are not easily seen once in the air, or that they look better in National Geographic, well certainly for the latter this is true. Everything you've ever seen printed has been digitally enhanced and if you are taking this flight expecting that you will be disappointed. On a clear day (mainly everyday in the dry season) the lines are perfectly visible and you will get great photos (Which you can enhance yourself if you so please!)

The only way to really get a sense of the scale of these lines is from the air, so if you are interested in the Nazca culture and history and are not on a very tight budget then the US$80 you'll pay for a 35 minute flight is a must-do. Viewing from Terra Firma is just not the same.

You can just arrive at the airport and shop around to see which operator you prefer, all will be similar prices, and will get you in the air within an hour or so. However, if you are in Nazca or already have a preferred operator it's worth booking in an office in town/online as the will provide a free transfer to/from the airport saving you around 10 soles.

There is at present a 25 soles pp departure tax at the airport not included in your flight price. And you will need your original passport, not a copy.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderSmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great view, but very quick by plain”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

If you have time, view the Nasca Lines using the "miradores", too.
The flight to see them is very quick and you can't see all the figures included in the flight tour, since the plain doesn't turn around in some of them.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisco-RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nasca Lines also viewed

 

Been to Nasca Lines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing