We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible owner”
Review of Inti Wasi Hostel

Inti Wasi Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nazca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inti Wasi Hostel
Ranked #25 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Nazca
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“horrible owner”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

the owner of this place was waiting at the bus station when we came from huacachina. we were pretty much forced to get into his taxi and go to his hotel. once we arrived, he tried to force the nazca lines plane tour down our throat and wouldnt give us anytime to think about. his prices were ridiculous and told us lie after lie to get us to book with him. he was also very creepy with my friend who i was travelling with and is just a generally awful person to meet. please DO NOT STAY at this hostel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Murray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    2
    2
    31
See reviews for
Families
0
9
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Important note: this hostel has a new name. It is now called the Nazca Inn Hostel. The Inti Wasi sign could be seen in the hallway when I was there.
Unfortunately, despite the manager's assertion that with its "new owners" the place has changed for the better, we haven't witnessed that.
The hostel is alright, clean, the rooms are decent, but the manager "Miki" is not to be trusted. He persuaded us to book his tour to the Nazca lines and later pretended to have forgotten to tell us that we had to pay airport tax in addition to that. We really had to insist until he not only admitted he was wrong but also agreed to pay for this tax. Other examples of unsuitable behaviour from a hostel manager were his sexual comments about his female guests. From what we could see, he is, unfortunately, more interested in making money out of travellers than in providing a good service that will have them leave Nazca with good memories. Don't support this behaviour by going there. But If you still happen to end up there, do not give up and make him (and everybody) see he is doing it all wrong. If he rips you off, be stubborn and demand what you are entitled to until he gives in. We can't see any other way to prevent these things from happening.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ernesto398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nazca hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stay away specially if you are a woman, he'll invade your personal space and will intimidate you! I stayed at this hostel with a friend after being poached from the bus station by a short, large long haired english speaking peruvian. After badmouthing to us about the hostel we'd booked, we naively followed him into his lear ... the place looks good but he is a con man.
He bullied us into buying what turned out to be the most expensive tickets for the Nazca lines and then again he conned us with the tour of the Chauchilla cemetery; By 11:15 am when there was no sign of a bus, I started asking what was going on, and why he kept disappearing without a word, leaving us 2 girls waiting ... that's when we realised he was going to the b. station trying to get more people to actually form a tour. When I complained again, he told us that there had been a strike by some gold miners and a road block was delaying the tour. I expressed my discontent with the situation and wish to cancel it as it was a waste of a day just hanging around. After he disappears again, a taxi pulls up to take us to the cemetery, the driver was fantastic until we reiterated again that we did not wish to go to any pottery factory or anywhere else but the cemetery... that's when he stopped talking and drove like a maniac back to the hostel. The entire mob are bullies, liars and out to take your hard earned money.
We felt so intimidated that we planned our escape by paying for the room and then waited for him to go out, picked up our bags and took off, to find accommodation at another hotel !
After reading all the reviews, I'm amazed this place is still in business ... note the name was only recently changed to Inti Wasi, I wonder why ... !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goretti_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The owner "Luis" picked us up from the bus station and brought us to his "Hostel". Quickly he sold us the very expensiv flight tour with lunsch and dinner for 430 Soles. The transfer to the airport and the flight was ok bus after this it was an nightmare. The lunsch was dirty and was near by the bus station called "Jasmin". The was no Dinner in the evening. In the morning by check out he was sleping drunk at the reseption floor. Aja the rooms were dirty to and the bathroom especially the shower was no working.
DO NOT STAY HERE !!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skater0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The short story: do not stay here! Go elsewhere. I liked the Guang Zhou (spelling)
Long Story: I told the cab driver to take me to another hostel, he took me here and overcharged me. The owner said the other place was closed, of course!
I asked for the dorm, he said it was full and they only had single rooms. Later on that night I saw him show the dorm to another couple and it was EMPTY!
I made the mistake of booking my flight over the Nazca lines here - DON'T DO IT! Walk 5 minutes into the town center and book it there. Shop around and get the best price. Make sure to ask for a better price from the initial offer!
The luggage storage consists of leaving your bag in the front room, which is never locked or secure.
If you do stay, try to stay upstairs. All the windows face into the center, which the owner is trying to make into a bar at night with really obnoxious music. In the morning that bar is the breakfast space, people are up early to catch the flights over the lines so if you have a later appointment you are woken up at the crack of dawn. You can hear EVERYTHING. I didn't get any sleep.
The water was lukewarm at best.
The owner/manager is pushy and rude. Don't believe anything he says. Make all bookings elsewhere for much less!

Room Tip: Top floor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copacabana, Bolivia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The location is reasonable, the room as well. The shower is bad, really few water comes out. But the big point of this hostel is that the owner, Miki, definitely wasn't born to run a hostel. His posture is completely equivocated. He is always trying to sell the host something, trying to make as money as possible from each host. For him, ever tour is well worth, mainly the most expensive. He has a seller soul, not a hostel owner soul. And I'm quite sure he overpriced in 20 soles the bus tickets he bought for me and my girlfriend.By the way, before selling the overpriced tickets he was insisting with us to buy tickets with him from a certain bus company, really insisting, certainly because he would make some money from that. And he sad he had 8 tickets that we could buy after coming back from a tour. But when we came back from the tour he had already sold the tickets. By the way, we paid for this tour 30 soles as we sad we wouldn't take it for the original price of 50 soles. And he told us not to tell the girls from Holland that were in the tour how much we paid because they had paid 90 soles. That kind of person is Miki, a seller, a man with a seller or loan shark soul, never a hostel owner. I strongly recommend to DON'T STAY IN THIS HOSTEL.

Room Tip: Far from the backside, were people chat freely and noisily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Renato B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

If you have to stay at this hostel, do not book your tours here. Shop around and dont make the same mistake that we did. They are not trustworthy and you will pay considerably more than the going rate.

In terms of the hostel itself, it is just outside the town which isnt a dealbreaker. The rooms are clean and it is ok for a one night stay. Breakfast isnt much, tea, eggs and toast but that is standard for Peru.

One to avoid for sure

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevekiely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nazca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hospedaje Yemaya
Hospedaje Yemaya
#2 of 18 in Nazca
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Nasca
0.1 mi away
Hostel Nasca Trails
Hostel Nasca Trails
#5 of 32 in Nazca
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hospedaje Brabant Hostel
0.1 mi away
Hostal Real Alcazar
Hostal Real Alcazar
#4 of 29 in Nazca
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nasca Lodge
Nasca Lodge
#3 of 32 in Nazca
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inti Wasi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inti Wasi Hostel

Property: Inti Wasi Hostel
Address: calle Jose Maria Mejia B-10, Nazca, Peru
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Nazca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Nazca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing