We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby farm in the middle of nowhere!”
Review of Hotel San Marcelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel San Marcelo
Ranked #4 of 29 Nazca B&B and Inns
London
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Shabby farm in the middle of nowhere!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here as part of a tour group for 2 nights and the rooms were really shabby with dated decor and slow running water. I agree that the grounds are lovely with lots of ducks and geese wondering around and fabulous mango groves with beautiful ripe mangos hanging off the tress. It was nice having a pool and terrace area where we could sit at night and have a few drinks although I wouldn't recommend going in the pool as there were some questionable things floating around!

This place has so much potential and is in much need of some TLC! The breakfasts were good with lots of nice bread rolls, eggs and fruit from the farm.

The location is lovely as you feel you are away from everything although the town isn't too far away and this is a great place to stay for visiting the Nazca lines. Word of caution; mozzies and bugs rule here so pack lots of repellent as you will certainly be needing it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    12
    9
    10
See reviews for
2
15
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We arrived here as part of a tour group and couldn't make out how the place looked like until the morning. The ground were delightful with big trees, flowers, livestock running around in a farmland like surrounding. Didn't use the pool but one was available and someone from our tour group had to take the pool net to fish out some debris. Our room had two basic beds and a bathroom. I am extremely allergic to mold and noticed an allergic reaction from the mold build up on the walls of the bathroom (and probably in places that I couldn't see).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JY_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nazca hotels

Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed here with our tour group and it was the worst place we stayed in Peru.

Our room on the ground floor looked like we were sleeping in a garage - it had a cold painted floor, loose plug sockets, dingy lights, a TV that wasn't even tuned in properly and some existing residents - mozzies, cockroaches and a massive locust/cricket.

I asked reception if we could move and he was really unhelpful and just tried to give me a mozzie plug. I demanded to move so we got moved a few doors down, to a room that was just as bad. In the middle of the night I went to the loo and found another cockroach, gross.

It didn't feel that safe - all the rooms have internal style doors but open out onto the main courtyard and anyone could walk into the hotel. All in all it was quite dark and skanky.

Food was ok but not great. Served in a massive room that felt like a youth hostel. The wi fi worked a bit but was flaky. There were bugs everywhere - a massive one jumped on me at dinner!

It's far away from Nasca town along dirt tracks so you won't be able to get into the town from here. The pool is old, unloved and full of bugs. Very depressing place to be avoided!

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I felt I had to write a review of this place, especially after reading what others had written about it...
We found that the rooms were more than adequate for our short two day stay in this place. They were clean and tidy. The hotel staff were very accommodating and friendly and we had plenty of hot water, which due to the water shortage in the area we didn't exploit. Of course we're in the dessert and there's going to be dust and insects around, but hotel cleaning staff did an excellent job in keeping them at bay. We never found any insects in our room.
After a day on the sand dunes the swimming pool was a very welcome relief. It was clean and the view across the fields and into the sandy wasteland was pleasant.
Yes the place is a short distance from town but all tour operators offered shuttles to their ventures (ie Nasca flights and dessert dune and archaeological sights trips). Our experience was that the price for the 'pick up' was included in the price of the tour.
We never felt threatened at all about the journey to the place as one reviewer mentioned and one of the other local tenants (an executive from a mining company) gave my wife and I a very informative history brief about the area and some of the sights we had seen on the way.
We had an albeit short, but very enjoyable stay at San Marcelo Hotel, Nasca

Room Tip: Go for the 'matrimonial' option
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hiphopapotomous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
521 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 572 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I have to disagree with the 3 previous raters who said this was poor. It's far worse than that. Rotten location, poor service, food poor. This is the sort of place the budget tour groups use, and its even poor by their standards.

Our bed was so squeaky it squeaked when we breathed. The walls are so thin they must be made of tissue paper.

Nazca mightn't have many decent spots to stay, but this would be at the absolute bottom of the list.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, go to somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1800hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The hotel looks pretty nice. Rooms are OK as well. Nice garden.
However, the hotel is pretty far from town, on the end of a single lane dirt road.
You have to call a taxi to go to town, which is cumbersome.
When we were there the road was blocked by a broken down truck, so cars couldn't get all the way to the hotel.

Restaurant is much more expensive then in town and is as cosy as a factory canteen.
Breakfast however, is very good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchman-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

I stayed here one night as part of a Gap tour. As we drove there we were scared as we kept driving down some dark, dirt road until the hotel showed up at the end of the road. The hotel looks nice until you see the rooms. My room had at least 5 dead roaches (and I don't know how the cleaning people missed them) and a dirty shower. Plus the hotel was filled with creepy local construction workers.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mybincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nazca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hospedaje Yemaya
Hospedaje Yemaya
#2 of 18 in Nazca
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Hacienda Nasca Oasis
1.8 mi away
B Hotel Nasca Suites
B Hotel Nasca Suites
#9 of 18 in Nazca
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Nasca
2.1 mi away
Hotel Majoro
Hotel Majoro
#7 of 18 in Nazca
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oro Viejo
Hotel Oro Viejo
#3 of 18 in Nazca
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Marcelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marcelo

Property: Hotel San Marcelo
Address: Car. Panam. Sur km. 444, Nazca, Peru
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Nazca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Nazca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel San Marcelo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel San Marcelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing