We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best little place in Ica” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ollanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ollanta
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Ica
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best little place in Ica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hotel is a five minute taxi ride from the bus station in a quiet residential oasis away from the hustle and bustle of central Ica. However, because the city is relatively small, everything is walkable. We arrived in the evening after a long overnight bus journey from Cusco and then a full day in Nazca, but were made to feel incredibly welcome by the owner, Luis. He asked one of the guys working in the hotel to carry our bags up to our room, which was done quickly and efficiently without any fuss (or hanging around awkwardly for a tip).

Our room was peaceful, with a large comfortable double bed, tv, and lovely clean bathroom. We were also provided with fresh towels free of charge (unlike other places we've stayed). The internet wasn't fantastic, but there is an internet cafe directly across the street which charges about half a solo per hour and has a fast connection. Breakfast was great too - a bowl of fresh fruit, a basket of bread, tea or coffee and the best plate of scrambled eggs in Peru.

The hotel is comfortable and clean, but the thing that really makes this place special is the owner. Luis made clear that he was available day and night if we needed to ask questions or to make a request. He gave us fantastic recommendations for ceviche restaurants, places to buy bus tickets, and even where to get a tailor to fix my torn jumper. On request, tea with milk and sugar was brought up on a tray to our room (at no extra charge). If you want a taxi, Luis will call and when the cab arrives, he will make sure you're paying the right price.

This place is a little gem. Luis makes the hotel feel private while ensuring that you're as welcome as if you were in his own house.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RTWBB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    36
    26
    16
    9
See reviews for
16
62
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

The owner was incredibly helpful. He helped us book tours near Ica and gave us great ideas of what to do around the city. When we were looking for a place to eat, he walked us to some of his favorite places. Since it was late and they weren´t open, he helped us grab a cab and negotiated the price for us.
Comfy bed and hot showers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

1. Good firm and supportive mattresses
2. Internet connection fine.
3. Shower ok, good hot water.
4.Clean
So those are always my main criteria.

We had a lovely time there because we got on very well with the erudite owner Luis, who was kind and entertaining. He was happy to chat and share his knowledge if Peruvian food with us and accompanied us on an fascinating trip to the market. The staff there are generally very friendly and helpful.
There is a great roof terrace with views of the dunes of Huacachina. Its a 5 soles taxi ride to Huacachina. I wouldnt walk it. but its close enough to dip in and out of backpacker land.We are both seasoned travellers, in our 40's and want to meet other backpackers but dont want to do dorms.. so Hotel Ollanta met our needs.
Paid 80 soles per night inc breakfast.

The Ica location of the hotel is in a safe place although the town of Ica itself is not the safest for handbag snatching.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank imogen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, GA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Hotel is pretty run down - gloomy, no elevator for 3 stories of lugging luggage, VERY HARD to find w a car! Beds hard, pillows hard, no A/C. $44/night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaShrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ica hotels

Guelph
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

I spent 3 nights at this hotel, and although there had recently been an earthquake that had made a mess of the city's water mains, Luis, Felicity, Teofila and the rest of the staff did a wonderful job. They made sure water was available, and were extremely helpful and friendly throughout.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisRutledgeGuelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hotel was conveniently located about 5 minutes from the bus station and 5 minutes from Huacachina oasis. I chose Hotel Ollanta because I could book it ahead of time through Pacarama and I was travelling solo so I wanted to be sure I had a place to stay. Transfer from the bus station to the hotel and back was included in the rate. As others have mentioned, Luis and Felicity were both very helpful and made all my tour arrangements for me by email before I arrived. I only had 24 hours in Ica and they made sure I was able to fit in everything I wanted to do: a dune buggy / sandboarding tour, a tour to the Islas Ballestas and a visit to the Museo de Ica. They arranged everything for me and made sure I was back to the bus station by 4:00. The hotel itself was ok. There are definitely nicer hotels in Peru but it was fine for one night. It was clean enough, there was hot water and it felt safe. As far as sleep quality went, I found it a bit noisy but nothing earplugs couldn't drown out. I was there over the holidays so the restaurant in the hotel unfortunately wasn't open. I can't comment about the area at all really because I wasn't there long enough. There were a couple of neighbourhood-style restaurants as well as a couple of small grocery stores just around the corner from the hotel. Moto taxis were aplenty and were easy to catch. I caught one from the hotel to the museum and back for 2 soles, each way.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moreleche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

The hotel itself is a two star, but the service is four. Luis and his Australian wife Felicity were more than helpful and made my stay in Ica quite pleasurable. The location while not directly in the city center, is an easy area to get a taxi in and the mototaxis are cheap (2 soles) for most runs. Huacachina is about ten minutes away...only about 7 in a real taxi and costs about 5 soles. There is a bar downstairs and in the morning they will make you some coffee and perhaps some rolls with it if you ask. Be forewarned that the two restaurants in the area don't open until around 11, but there are some small shops along the street. Highly recommended for a low-priced stay in Ica. Also free Wi-Fi.

Also for any tours such as to Paracas I recommend William "Le Tigre". His English is okay and his number is: 956-726464. Price to the Island from the hotel should be about 75 soles.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ica hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Las Flores
Hotel Las Flores
#3 of 27 in Ica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Las Dunas
Hotel Las Dunas
#2 of 27 in Ica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Jazmin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Challaca
Hotel Challaca
#13 of 27 in Ica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Carmelo Hotel and Hacienda
0.0 mi away
Matryoshka
Matryoshka
#15 of 27 in Ica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ollanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ollanta

Property: Hotel Ollanta
Address: Urb Divino Maestro G- 22 | manzana G lote 22, Ica 11000, Peru
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Ica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Ica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ollanta 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 30 distinctive guest room confortable, with telephone internet access, service room bar restaurant, wonderful view to the sunset tv cable private toilets, jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ollanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ollanta Hotel Ica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing