We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Hotel Las Dunas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Las Dunas
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Ica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Fantastic for families. Loads for kids to do while adults can relax in the sun, sipping some cocktails from the great bar.
The facilities and staff are excellent. The only downside is that the food is average.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruggius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vastus73, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear guest:

Thank you for sharing your experience in our Hotel through Trip Advisor.

We are proud to know that while the kids have fun parents can relax.

We have shared your feedback with our meal to the chef manager to improve our food.

Sinceraly,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

The grounds of this resort are stunning, the restaurants very good and pools beautiful. This is a great place for a relaxing time. As all over Peru, service is excellent.

Although the bathrooms will be relieved for the upcoming updates, we would return happily.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidTXNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vastus73, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear guest:

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel through Trip Advisor.

No doubts our infrastructure and location is also a great feature to highlight.

Thank you very much and hopefully we will welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
Las Dunas Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed this weekend in Las Dunas and had the most wonderful relaxing weekend, although the hotel was full it didnt feel like it because it is very spacious, the gardens with the dunes at the back offers a spectacular view. The breakfast buffet is excellent and the food is Peruvian gourmet, very good. It has a very nice bar with good atmosphere and the swimming pools are one of their main attractions, it is a great hotel for families and also a great getaway from the city, very sunny. Highly reccomend it.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Maria Pia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vastus73, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing our Hotel Las Dunas. Your comments are very valuable for us.

We hope you come back soon.

Sincerely,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
Las Dunas Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Las Dunas is great for a weekend getaway. The daily buffet is amazing with a great variety of food; from Peruvian to international. Everyone is very welcoming and all your requests are attended quickly and cordially. The rooms have Direct TV which is great for some down time! Finally, Las Dunas is located in Ica, the land of the sun: great weather year round. + it is 10 min away from a real life oasis!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joaniejochamowifz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vastus73, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear guest:

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us througt Trip Advisor.

We are very glad to know that you enjoy your stay with us.

We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

My family and I wanted to get out of the city for a bit and drove from Lima to Ica for a couple of days. We found a decent rate for two nights at Las Dunas, booked it, and headed out. Our first impression was "WOW!" The site is beautiful with lots of things to do. Unfortunately, our first room had an ant problem, so we requested another. They let us into another room, which was decent at best. We were surrounded by construction and were in the only room in the zone that was occupied. They told us that was the only available room. Laughable!
The restaurant is quite expensive, so we decided to eat in Ica and bring our own breakfast food. We saved a lot of money that way.
If you're going to Las Dunas, prepare for awesome pools, fun playgrounds/activities for kids, and beautiful grounds.

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room. The ground floor rooms all seem to have ant issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siervo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vastus73, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear guest:

Thank you for sharing your experience in our Hotel through Trip Advisor.

Your comments are very important for us.


Sincerely.

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Somewhat disappointing when entering room, three (3) twin beds somewhat shoved around. Minimal, cheap bedding. Bathroom had basic utility. Breakfast was decent, bar was expensive but service was good. Grounds were very tourist oriented with pools everywhere and tour stands set up everywhere. There must be a way to get a larger bed when paying up front for a single room instead of the cattle car I was given.

Room Tip: Ask how many beds are in your room or you will sleep in a twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyH566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vastus73, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear guest:

Thank you for choosing Las Dunas Hotel on your last trip.

We are developing a plan to refurbish all rooms that includes beds, linens, closets, etc.

Your feedback is very important to our efforts to continuously improve guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We spent 3 days and 2 nights at Las Dunas in April and it was better than ever! It is a pristine oasis in the dessert. It had been six years since our previous visit, and they have added 2 pools (one adult pool and one fountain park for kids), a beautiful bar and more children's play places. The place was very clean, the staff was supremely attentive, the climate was perfect, and the food was delectable. (The almond crusted trout with quinoa risotto is highly recommended.) It is a bit pricey, and the onsite activities that you pay for are way overpriced also. We rode dune buggies for 1/3 the price by locating our own off site. Overall, we very much enjoyed out stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tonya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Guest:

We appreciate how you toke the time to advise us through the Trip Advisor.

We recently opened our Splash area for recreation for the entire family and we are happy that you enjoyed it.

Our Dune Buggie Tours has a different route of which you can find in the city. We take care of the overall safety of our passengers that is why our Prices are different.

We hope you come back soon.

Sincerely,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
LAS DUNAS HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ica hotels
6.4 mi away
Hotel Vinas Queirolo
0.5 mi away
El Carmelo Hotel and Hacienda
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Jazmin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hacienda San Juan Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa de Valverde
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ollanta
Hotel Ollanta
#11 of 30 in Ica
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Dunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Dunas

Address: Av. La Angostura No. 400, Ica 11000, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Ica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Ica
Price Range: $98 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Dunas 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest and have fun in the middle of nature! Las Dunas Hotel is an oasis located in the middle of the desert at 300 km south of Lima, it owes its name to the sun shining all year round over its gardens, lagoons and towering sand dunes. From here you will be able to start your experience discovering the wonders of Peru. Let yourself be surprised by the vast natural desert of Ica, the enigmatic Nazca Lines, Paracas National Reserve, and visit the old wine cellars in the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Las Dunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Dunas Hotel
Las Dunas Ica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing