We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Las Dunas
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Ica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night as part of my tour around Peru. I found this hotel to be ideal. I went in the pool as soon as I got there, which was very refreshing and had fun on the slide.

The room I was in was large and had an impressive bathroom, with a lovely hot shower and 2 sinks.

Food in the restaurant was great, it was my second day in Peru and I opted to have Alpaca. This was lovely and breakfast the next day was also excellent, a large choice of foods and various juices.

I heard that there is a small alpaca garden in the grounds but missed this; I would have loved to see them. The only problem is noise during the night, I could hear noises but it didn’t stop me from sleeping well. I would definitely recommend this hotel when staying in Ica.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MexicoPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear guest:

Thank you for sharing your experience in our Hotel through Trip Advisor.

Your comments are very important for us.

Sincerely.

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 1,171 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, and enjoyed our rooms (overly firm beds but otherwise nice). The grounds are incredible, and very peaceful when the music from the pool area isn't overwhelmingly loud, which it was for at least 5 hours in the afternoon. We were not impressed with the breakfast (runny eggs, fruit, cold deli meat, and croissants). The restaurant was ok, and of the 3 dinners I had while there, only one night was amazingly good - I recommend the Pecan Chicken stuffed with asparagus. Family friendly, but sound carries.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShanAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear guest:

Thank you for choosing Las Dunas Hotel on your last trip.

We received your comments and we are glad to know that you like our garden.

We have shared your suggestions with our executive chef and our entertaiment manager to improve our services.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Been there for a family weekend. Activities are great for the kids ( relatively to Peru). A bit loud especially around the pool and during dinner.
Breakfast is nice and rich. Dinner was poor! a big buffet but ...
Rooms are big and clean but old fashioned.
Activities include horsebackkriding (extra), Tennis, bikes, sand dune surfing. You could go dune bugging nearby, which is an amazing experience. (the one near paracas is better though)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YTA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear guest:

Thank you for choosing Las Dunas Hotel on your last trip.

We received your comments and we are glad to know that you enjoy the dunebuggy tour.

We have shared your suggestions with our executive chef and our entertaiment manager to improve our services.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Ica.

Sinceraly,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Hotel is located very close to the panamericana sur and its easy to find. The reservation process was rather complicated and took to long for a hotel that claims to be the best in the area. A double room was booked, but a room with three single beds was provided. The problem was solved quickly, however should not even have happened in the first place.
The hotel is clean and meets local high standards.
The Spa and the gym are very nice and deserve a better rating than the rest of the hotel.
The bar provides very good drinks and good food.
The main restaurant is not worth trying though.
The real downside is the service. I have visited the hotel during the week and the hotel was basically empty. Even though the hotel was fully staffed, they had a hard time to serve us or get anything done in time.

Room Tip: Ask for corporate rates before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear guest:


Thank you for choosing las Dunas Hotel on your resent visit. We look forward to seeing you again .
We had chance to review your comments. We have followed up with our restaurant manager regarding the service you receive in our main restaurant and with our reservation department the inconvenience with your accomodation.

Your feedback is very important to our efforts to continuously improve guest satisfaction.

Besr regards,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Hotel is 5 hours away from Lima by Bus.

The place was really beautiful but a little old. There were a lot of families around (not many young couples).
Regarding the rooms they were big and comfortable, on the other hand we didn’t reach good internet signal.

The alcohol they use for cocktails was really cheap , I had a Pisco sour and got a terrible headache during the afternoon. The only way to get a good quality alcohol is to buy a bottle or drink bear.
The front desk wasn’t that helpful either, we ask them to buy us some cigarettes and the girl almost hang up the phone on us.

Overall It was an average experience, is a good option to take a family trip (maybe a little too expensive for the services you will receive). I wouldn’t rate it as a 4 stars hotel, 3 maybe.

Room Tip: Near the pool the rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariella_Garcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear guest:

Thank you for your comments through Trip Advisor.

We are a Hotel for over thirty years and we are making improvements in all our facilities.

Your feedback helps us to improve our service, we will consider all your comments.

Sincerely,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

A classic of Peruvian hotels south of Lima, this large hotel lies on the outskirts of Ica with a large sand dune sitting in its back yard. The rooms are spread over a large ground, built to replicate a small pueblo, with small streets and named squares and dome shaped roofs. Romantic to look at and fun for the family, the hotel offers several pools, including a large slide, gardens, plantations, horse back riding, dune climbing, sand boarding and a large array of family and children activities. Some forty years after its founding this hotel is still very well up kept and continuous to be a favorite winter escape for Lima’s society (today no just high society any more). I suggest avoiding weekends on high-season as it may get a bit too crowded and loud.
The hotel is also a good starting point to visit several wineries in the area (don’t expect much, yet some like Queirolo are OK) as well as the Nazca lines. The Huacachina oasis and the sand buggy rides through the surrounding dunes are classic activities here that almost can’t be missed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoltan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear guest:

Thank you for sharing your experience in our Hotel through Trip Advisor.

Your comments are very important for us.

Sincerely.

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here, pretty location with plenty of space to walk the attractive grounds, the rooms were fair, beds could have been better, be a good place for kids, food good, extensive buffet breakfast with no restriction on what you could eat, I gave it a 4 star rating more like 3.5, great location for visiting the local area, would I revisit ? answer yes.
Look out for the lady tour operator in the foyer area, she was great and took us around the local places of interest, plus a great visit to Paracas with boat trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TezFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear guest:

Thank you for your comments through Trip Advisor.

We have several investment proyects for our romos to offer you comfort.

Your opinion is very valuable for us.

Sincerely.

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ica hotels
6.4 mi away
Hotel Vinas Queirolo
0.5 mi away
El Carmelo Hotel and Hacienda
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa de Valverde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Jazmin
1.8 mi away
Hacienda San Juan Resort
1.8 mi away
Hotel Las Flores
Hotel Las Flores
#4 of 30 in Ica
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Dunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Dunas

Address: Av. La Angostura No. 400, Ica 11000, Peru
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Ica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Ica
Price Range: $94 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Dunas 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest and have fun in the middle of nature! Las Dunas Hotel is an oasis located in the middle of the desert at 300 km south of Lima, it owes its name to the sun shining all year round over its gardens, lagoons and towering sand dunes. From here you will be able to start your experience discovering the wonders of Peru. Let yourself be surprised by the vast natural desert of Ica, the enigmatic Nazca Lines, Paracas National Reserve, and visit the old wine cellars in the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Las Dunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Dunas Hotel
Las Dunas Ica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing