We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, room for improvement”
Review of Hotel Las Dunas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Las Dunas
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Ica
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, room for improvement”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

First things first - if you're planning on using the discount voucher from Trip Advisor, make sure you email the hotel to confirm that the voucher is redeemable and then print your email correspondence to present at check-in. On arrival, the receptionist tried to inform me that the voucher was not valid when reservations were made online. Only when I showed her the voucher AND my prior email to management was I given the 20% discount in credit with which to pay for food, drinks and other services.

Overall, the hotel is decent. The grounds are beautiful but there is some work being undertaken to build a new pool. It's by no means disruptive though. The rooms could do with a bit of improvement, however. Our room was clean but the paintwork needed retouching and the beds were pretty uncomfortable (especially when a wheel broke off one unexpectedly). The mosquito screen also had a hole in it, while the plywood placed over the window above the door (presumably to minimise light into the room at night) was flimsy and poorly fitted.

Food is good but a little overpriced but given that there is little on offer in Ica itself, this is perhaps understandable. The staff are very friendly and everyone made an effort to say hello when we passed them. Additionally, the tour operator in the hotel, comes highly recommended. If you want a good value and personalised trip to Paracas, Huacachina, the vineyards or Islas Ballestas, she's worth paying a visit.

In summary, this is a perfect place for families with plenty on offer to keep kids occupied. Once renovations are complete (hopefully in the rooms too), this will surely be a 4 star resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foggyhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you for sharing your suggestions of our Hotel through Trip Advisor.

We are improving communcation with Trip Advisotr, but we suggest you send and e-mail confirmation of your reservation to no have drawbacks. Currently we are building and interactive pool in the área of the golf corse to our customers suggestions, wich will be ready by the end of the year. We regret any inconvenience this has caused you go.

We also are making renovations in our romos to improve our facilities.

We apreciate your comments

Sincerely.

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    359
    77
    16
    11
See reviews for
583
175
13
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We spend one night and the kids without parent supervision was horrible! The noise and knocking at the door and running away, draging things and playing at all hours made me call for help twice. The spa was nice. The room simple and the team nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orlyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you for your comments through Trip Advisor.

We regret that you could not have a good rest during your stay. It is school holiday season and many families with children come to our hotel. We are taking precautions for this situation is not repeated.

Sincerely,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Comfortable, clustered-rooms in a charming maze around a little lagoon. Pool area lovely where breakfast buffet is pricey but delicious. When I didn't like our assigned room, the staff was accommodating and moved us to one more to my liking. Need to take taxi to the center of Ica where there are some good restaurants and a vibrant central plaza. The Cruz del Sol bus out of Ica will stop to pick up passengers but note: it may arrive early and it may arrive late and you must go downtown to buy your tickets.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riveredge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear guest:

We appreciate your comments through Trip Advisor and hope you to return soon.

Best regards,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and three boys (11, 9, 6) had a great time at Las Dunas. It was my third time there, but my first time with children. The resort is easy to get to from Lima, yet it is isolated and quiet. We had one room with 5 beds on the first floor, which was fine. We essentially swam all day and used Las Dunas as a hub for other places ( such as Paracas, etc). The room was just to relax in the afternoon and to sleep at night, so it served it's purpose at 3.5 stars. The AC worked fine and the shower was hot. They are making improvements ( which was the cause of loud noise), but we booked a room online and found a nice rate. They have done well with improvements to the resort, so it's very accomodating for families. Many organized activities for all ages, plus the gym is new. We played basketball in the pool, tennis, pitch/putt golf, and sand boarded. I would suggest to bring a cooler for snacks and water. You can safe quite a bit if you bring water (it's the desert). Plus there's a fridge to help keep things cool. The staff is friendly and the beer is cold! We had such a good time that we decided to stay two extra nights.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rneps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear guest:

We are glad to receive your comments through Trip Advisor.

Our services have been created with the comfort of the family. Our location is ideal for visiting the Nazca Lines and Ballestas Islands.

We are glad you thoroughly enjoy your visit.

Sincelerely,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Arriving by bus from Lima, we were dropped off directly at the hotel which was a true oasis. The grounds were spectacular and the rooms spacious and comfortable. The restaurant food was gourmet and we were only sad that we had only two nights at this spectacular resort!

Room Tip: Just beware that the hotel is not near any other restaurants..... But, you will not miss going out a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue31nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank your for sharing your experience through Trip Advisor.

We hope you can visit us again and stay a little longer.

Sincerely,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The reception staff were very unattentive when we arrived and the promised map and list of available activities did not exist.

The spa was good.

The restaurant seemed average, but when my argentinian steak arrived, it was way beyond medium, which I ordered,, more like rubber sandals. When I complained, they told me it was my fault for ordering the steak prepared that way. After a little argument I got alpaca steak in stead. This was much better but still no more than average.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grethe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your experience through Trip Advisor.

We are very sorry for the inconveniences you had during your stay. We are working to improve our services. You comments are very helpful.

Sincerely

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great hotel set in nicer surroundings. Rooms are a walk from reception and are separate from the actual hotel, steps up to some of the rooms so ensure you book according to your requirements otherwise you will end up walking and clambering up stairs with your luggage. Hotel has displays of historic Peruvian pottery and artifacts. Rooms are very spacious with good air conditioning with a balcony. The best thing about this hotel is the food and the friendly waiting staff in the evening. Breakfast in the morning is outside so a lot of the food is not covered, all of the bread is covered so cannot view selection, also could do with a better selection, person there to cook you an omelet in the morning. Good place to stay if you are visiting Peru.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bumbleweed_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your experience in our Hotel through Trip Advisor.

Your comments are very important for us to keep improving our services.

Sincerely,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ica hotels
6.4 mi away
Hotel Vinas Queirolo
1.8 mi away
Hotel Las Flores
Hotel Las Flores
#4 of 28 in Ica
229 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Carmelo Hotel and Hacienda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Jazmin
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa de Valverde
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belle Sand
Hotel Belle Sand
#9 of 28 in Ica
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Dunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Dunas

Property: Hotel Las Dunas
Address: Av. La Angostura No. 400, Ica 11000, Peru
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Ica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Ica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Dunas 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest and have fun in the middle of nature! Las Dunas Hotel is an oasis located in the middle of the desert at 300 km south of Lima, it owes its name to the sun shining all year round over its gardens, lagoons and towering sand dunes. From here you will be able to start your experience discovering the wonders of Peru. Let yourself be surprised by the vast natural desert of Ica, the enigmatic Nazca Lines, Paracas National Reserve, and visit the old wine cellars in the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Las Dunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Dunas Hotel
Las Dunas Ica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing