We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Las Dunas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Las Dunas
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Ica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great hotel set in nicer surroundings. Rooms are a walk from reception and are separate from the actual hotel, steps up to some of the rooms so ensure you book according to your requirements otherwise you will end up walking and clambering up stairs with your luggage. Hotel has displays of historic Peruvian pottery and artifacts. Rooms are very spacious with good air conditioning with a balcony. The best thing about this hotel is the food and the friendly waiting staff in the evening. Breakfast in the morning is outside so a lot of the food is not covered, all of the bread is covered so cannot view selection, also could do with a better selection, person there to cook you an omelet in the morning. Good place to stay if you are visiting Peru.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bumbleweed_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your experience in our Hotel through Trip Advisor.

Your comments are very important for us to keep improving our services.

Sincerely,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

This property was not my first choice. I saw it was family friendly so I was concerned about chaos and noise. There was no need for those concerns! The grounds were very well maintained and peaceful. The breakfast buffet was well above average and the lunches and dinners were good too. Service was as you would expect. Our room was huge and comfortable. I did not know that the Cruz del Sur stopped here. So, on arriving I did continue into Nazca and then returned. Upon leaving, we caught the bus at Las Dunas.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob1eddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear guest

We appreciate your comments through Trip Advisor.

We are glad you enjoy our services and hope you come back soon.

Sincerely,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

After travelling around Peru for weeks, Las Dunas hotel was our oasis - large rooms and beautiful surroundings to relax in as well as friendly staff and excellent food. The menus offered numerous choices. We mainly chose from the bar menu which had smaller, lighter options such as sandwiches. The breakfast buffet is also very good, The only problem, mentioned by another reviewer, is the music around the pool & dining room - much too loud and intrusive but this seems to be common in Peru. Another common problem is the lack of information about the facilities. There's nothing about the spa and its services, for example, nor that the Cruz del Sur bus stops at the hotel, information we only learned at the last minute.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are working to change the activities to another area to keep quiet in the pool.

We regret that has not received full information on our services and look forward to your upcoming visit.

Sincerely

Ugo Gherardi
Gerente Residente
HOTEL LAS DUNAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Loud music and annoying entertainers all day. Very difficuly to relax with all the noise.
It's a shame because the place is beatiful.

The hotel will great if they would just turn off the music and the microphones in the pool area

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jjabrahms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your commentes through Trip Advisor.

Your opinion is a very important tool for us and we will work to improve our service.

We hope to see you soon and enjoy our improvementes.

Sincerely

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The lovely grounds, the swimming pools, and the resort style dining all add up to a relaxing time while here to visit the Nazca lines, the Ica Museum and Paracas. We had a twin room with a huge bathroom.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjrg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us.

We truly appreciate your comments.

Regards,
Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here in July 2012 for 3 days with 2 teenagers and had a wonderful time. Rooms very comfortable and spacious. Facilities or hotel very good. Staff friendly. Food was very good. Very convenient for visiting Nazca Lines and Paracas. Perfect spot for a family vacation. We visited in the Peruvian winter so it was quiet but can imagine that there would be a lot going on in the summer. Even so we were very happy with our stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RME497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments through Trip Advisor.

Your opinion is a very important tool for us.

We hope to return again.

Sincerely

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Love the resort, even though this is for families, it was very relaxing and romantic. Karaoke, great buffet, awesome nightshow, great experiance. because we had to do the Nazca and Paracas, not enough time to go swimming, horseback riding, wall climbing, wish had more time to spent. Good service. If i come back to Ica, will stay again at this resort.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertpuessi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to visit again.

Attentively

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
Hotel Las Dunas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ica hotels
6.4 mi away
Hotel Vinas Queirolo
0.5 mi away
El Carmelo Hotel and Hacienda
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Jazmin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hacienda San Juan Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa de Valverde
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ollanta
Hotel Ollanta
#11 of 30 in Ica
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Dunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Dunas

Address: Av. La Angostura No. 400, Ica 11000, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Ica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Ica
Price Range: $98 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Dunas 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest and have fun in the middle of nature! Las Dunas Hotel is an oasis located in the middle of the desert at 300 km south of Lima, it owes its name to the sun shining all year round over its gardens, lagoons and towering sand dunes. From here you will be able to start your experience discovering the wonders of Peru. Let yourself be surprised by the vast natural desert of Ica, the enigmatic Nazca Lines, Paracas National Reserve, and visit the old wine cellars in the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Las Dunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Dunas Hotel
Las Dunas Ica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing