We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Las Dunas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Las Dunas
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Ica
Certificate of Excellence
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here in July 2012 for 3 days with 2 teenagers and had a wonderful time. Rooms very comfortable and spacious. Facilities or hotel very good. Staff friendly. Food was very good. Very convenient for visiting Nazca Lines and Paracas. Perfect spot for a family vacation. We visited in the Peruvian winter so it was quiet but can imagine that there would be a lot going on in the summer. Even so we were very happy with our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RME497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments through Trip Advisor.

Your opinion is a very important tool for us.

We hope to return again.

Sincerely

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    350
    76
    16
    10
See reviews for
566
170
13
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Park, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Love the resort, even though this is for families, it was very relaxing and romantic. Karaoke, great buffet, awesome nightshow, great experiance. because we had to do the Nazca and Paracas, not enough time to go swimming, horseback riding, wall climbing, wish had more time to spent. Good service. If i come back to Ica, will stay again at this resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertpuessi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to visit again.

Attentively

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
Hotel Las Dunas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Fantastic hotel i would recommend to anyone.

We stayed here in January 2013 in suite 102 and it blew us away. There is a small pool in the suite itself in addition to a fireplace. Realy relaxing and romantic to be in this warm pool and night and then warm up by the fire. I've never been in a hotel room that had both of these pluses, and at the price of $120? Oh my.

In addition to the really nice room, the food is quite good (recommend tequenos) and at no inflated price.

The big thing that las dunas are all the sports and other activities available. They have near everything you may want to do. Football (soccer), tennis, golf, horseback riding, wall climbing, sandboarding, sapito, table tennis, and more.

I also highly recommend a trip to the Nazca lines. We did this with Jose Oliveros who is on staff at the hotel. He talked to us when we checked in and made the process easy for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrstling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your good comments through Trip Advisor.
We are glad you enjoyed the up grade obtained.

We hope to see you soon.



Sincerely,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

the resort is superb.... and you truely feel like you are in desert... in a good way...
the architechture... the sand dunes in backyard.... with the luxries of awesome swimming pools, bars, restaurant... garden. plenty of water..hot water.. almost all amenities,
Take the sand buggy and sand boarding tours from the hotel itself... they are much better and great value.
Sometimes the breakfast is not included in the hotel price... confirm before you book it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msn_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your great comments through Trip Advisor.

We are constantly working to improve our service and comments like yours are incentive for further progress.

We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

This property is well established with older style facilities in a rustic family style with some modern touches like air conditioner and flat screen tv in room which is spacious. We stayed in a triple room with one extra bed for our son, and my mother inlaw and wife. The pool and castle facilities are great for kids, there is a kids pool, 2 other pools, one with a slippery slide. The castle has a great play facility for young children. The pool side bar with happy hour was good at night, we went there to eat and drink with our son and infant daughter all 3 nights. The golf course is a pitch and pitch, only bring you high irons and the greens are so basic you cannot put on them, the resort offers you some clubs that are older than me, so if you want a basic practice, bring you own. For the price and compared to the rest of Ica this hotel is a high class offering, but don't expect 4 star luxury or pampering, it does have a massage place, and a modern gym, but its more a rustic get away place for families.

Room Tip: All rooms are old spanish villa style in same location. We had one backing onto golf course and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GribbsRiyadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us through the Trip Advisor webside.

Your opinion about our services is an invaluable tool we use to improve in search of the excellence.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

I found a quite place, standard room, tennis court that needs maintanance, swimming pool very well kept, food was Ok, service was Ok, it is a family resort, excellent sunny days during the day, has a place to dance, but need a better DJ

Room Tip: facing the golf area, top floor away from swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OakvilleCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are glad you had a good expierence in our hotel and hope you come back to visit us soon.

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel calls itself a spa and resort but the rooms are anything but spalike. I expected nice amenities in the room but found only shampoo and a bathtub full of ants. No robe or slippers nothing to make me feel like I was pampered. Our friends woke one morning to a snake in the bathroom! The food at the one and only place to eat was great can't complain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank camox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us through Trip Advisor.

We are sorry you didn't like our in rooms amenities, our apoligies for any inconveniences this might cause.

It is the first time in 12 years that a guest reported a snake in our facilities. In this part of the country there is enough wind and some insects can enter the room that way from or from our gardens. We are working to prevent this from happemimg.

Sincerily,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
Hotel las DUnas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ica hotels
6.4 mi away
Hotel Vinas Queirolo
1.8 mi away
Hotel Las Flores
Hotel Las Flores
#3 of 28 in Ica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Jazmin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Carmelo Hotel and Hacienda
1.8 mi away
Hacienda San Juan Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa de Valverde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Dunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Dunas

Property: Hotel Las Dunas
Address: Av. La Angostura No. 400, Ica 11000, Peru
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Ica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Ica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Dunas 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest and have fun in the middle of nature! Las Dunas Hotel is an oasis located in the middle of the desert at 300 km south of Lima, it owes its name to the sun shining all year round over its gardens, lagoons and towering sand dunes. From here you will be able to start your experience discovering the wonders of Peru. Let yourself be surprised by the vast natural desert of Ica, the enigmatic Nazca Lines, Paracas National Reserve, and visit the old wine cellars in the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Las Dunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Dunas Hotel
Las Dunas Ica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing