We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveler rating
188
14
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
14
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local community horseback riding the main lodge eco lodge composting toilets condor suite cordillera blanca local women roaring fire big table family style other guests home grown cozy mountain friendly dogs the owner great place to enjoy
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 207 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Lazy Dog is by far the most beautiful place I have stayed at during my entire South America trip. It's a tastefully designed adobe building, high above the noisy and hectic city of Huaraz, with breathtaking views and a great warm welcome by the lovely couple who built and runs this place with a lot of enthusiasm. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabaidii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Myself and 2 other 20 year old friends went to the Lazy Dog Inn for 4 nights and stayed in one of their cabins. It's not cheap at all by Peruvian standards but it's an absolute bargin coming from Australia and the service, experience, comfort and atmosphere were all absolutely fantastic. We spent every second we could out hiking or horse riding in the Cordillera Blanca mountains which are beyond stunning and extremely accessible from the Lazy Dog Inn. Staying up in the mountains at the Lazy Dog Inn saves you a 30 minute taxi ride (or extra 10km walk) from Huaraz for many treks so this is another great feature. Aside from the great scenery and accessibility, it was also fantastic to be able to come back to the Lazy Dog Inn after a long day hiking and be able to come back to a nice warm fire, have a few cold beers and enjoy the company of lots of very interesting people from around the world over dinner, which is served over an hour or two at a big table with all the guests of the lodge. A 5 star experience and I definitely intend to return.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We came to the Lazy Dog Inn at the end of a cold, rainy trek, and the comforts were even more than we had imagined while in our cold tent in the mountains. We stayed in the Rima Rima cabin, and reveled in having a fireplace (with unlimited wood outside our door), a hot shower, and all the comforts of home. Our cabin was spacious and tastefully decorated, and well-supplied with fresh drinking water every day, tea, and coffee. The rate included breakfast and dinner, and all of our meals were wonderful and imaginative. Breakfast included fresh fruit, and dinner always had fresh vegetables from the LDI gardens and greenhouses. Diana and Wayne were gracious and fun hosts, and provided all of the information we needed for hikes starting right outside the door. The location is spectacular, in the Cordillera Blanca, and wonderfully quiet and peaceful. We were sorry to leave, and hope to get back for another visit.

Room tip: They are all good. It depends on how many people you are traveling with, as there are rooms for couples or families.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

What a lovely place to stay! Spent a night acclimatizing before mountaineering in the Andes in July/2012, then for a few days recovering from my adventures! I cannot think of a single thing about my experience that was less than stellar. The staff are lovely, helpful, very involved with supporting the local community. And oh the food! Every night we had a delicious sit-down dinner in the great room with Diana and Wayne and all the guests, everyone sharing their stories. Evenings were spent relaxing with a book, socializing by the fire, or melting away in the sauna. My highest recommendation - I'll be back!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Len_Chackowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This has to be one of our favorite places to stay... And this comes from a couple who is quote widely traveled ( Alberta Canada, LOT of the US, Spain, France, Italy (thrice), Austria, Germany, India, Peru, Czech Rep, Swizerland)... We are very discerning and critique well... This place was just outstanding... Set away from Huaraz, in its own little land of heaven... Beautiful views... Very nice lodging... LOVED the owner Diana who was extxremely helpful, very good correspondent on email, a very gracious host, a great conversationalist and she runs this big farm VERY well... The main home has very nice ambience with the common room where you can exchange conversation with fellow travelers... That is where the food is prepared fresh every meal, in front of you... That experience was amazing to see the local cooks come in, go get some fresh greens and fruits from the farm and then make it right there in front of you... Straight from farm to the table in a few hours... The fresh farm fruit for breakfast with the yogurt was to die for... The dinners were very good and varied every night... They accomodated my husband's veg needs very well... They even helped when my son'd tummy was not well with some chamomile tea... Dessert was fresh and yumm as well... Diana also arranged a very nice personal horse grooming and riding class for my son, which he absolutely loved and we will always cherish... Diana's suggestions for hikes to do, driver to hire with car and ideas for the trip, were all outstanding... The driver and car she arranged for us was perfect as well... Again, cannot say enough good things... All the BIG things you look for in a lodging are very well taken care of... But the best part is that even the small things are very well taken care of... Best example - They always have the best dry firewood in the firebox outside the cottage along with plenty of dry twigs, newspaper and even many eucalyptus dry leaves which burn with a fabulous aroma... But here is what takes the cake! We were in the main house lounging after dinner... it was drizzling outside and it was cold... We would have had to walk 2 mins outside to get to our cottage... Diana told us to take the umbrellas and to let her know 5 mins before we were ready to go back to our cottage... She sent over someone 5 mins before and he lit up a raging big fire in the fireplace so that when we got to the cottage, it was already burning and warming up!! That is amazing hostess!! We will never forget that gesture!! Looking forward to visiting again in a few years!!

Room tip: Stay in one of the cottages... Amazing!
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sakshi_singhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews