We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote and cozy”
Review of The Lazy Dog Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huaraz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lazy Dog Inn
Ranked #1 of 59 Huaraz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Lazy Dog Inn for five days in mid November. The inn is located
About fifteen minutes up the mountain from Huarez ,Peru. For anyone wanting to stay at this property you must remember that it is located at around 11,000 ft. Up in the mountains. THAT IS THE BEAUTY of the experience. By staying at this inn you are at the doorstep of an amazing amount of hikes and outdoor beauty.The owners of the inn, Diana & Wayne, are very environmentally motivated to insure a pristine setting.They were wonderful at attending to our every need including taxi calling and helping us hire local tour guides for our many outings. One day we had the taxi drive up up into the lake area to 15,000 ft. So we could hike down to the inn......FUN. There is really no negative aspect to staying at The Lazy Dog other than the fact that life at altitude and in a remote setting is different than staying at a luxurious beachside resort yet in many ways a lot COOLER.

Room Tip: We stayed in a separate cottage in the lower pasture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JdogRossCa.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 180 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Lazy Dog is by far the most beautiful place I have stayed at during my entire South America trip. It's a tastefully designed adobe building, high above the noisy and hectic city of Huaraz, with breathtaking views and a great warm welcome by the lovely couple who built and runs this place with a lot of enthusiasm. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabaidii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Myself and 2 other 20 year old friends went to the Lazy Dog Inn for 4 nights and stayed in one of their cabins. It's not cheap at all by Peruvian standards but it's an absolute bargin coming from Australia and the service, experience, comfort and atmosphere were all absolutely fantastic. We spent every second we could out hiking or horse riding in the Cordillera Blanca mountains which are beyond stunning and extremely accessible from the Lazy Dog Inn. Staying up in the mountains at the Lazy Dog Inn saves you a 30 minute taxi ride (or extra 10km walk) from Huaraz for many treks so this is another great feature. Aside from the great scenery and accessibility, it was also fantastic to be able to come back to the Lazy Dog Inn after a long day hiking and be able to come back to a nice warm fire, have a few cold beers and enjoy the company of lots of very interesting people from around the world over dinner, which is served over an hour or two at a big table with all the guests of the lodge. A 5 star experience and I definitely intend to return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We came to the Lazy Dog Inn at the end of a cold, rainy trek, and the comforts were even more than we had imagined while in our cold tent in the mountains. We stayed in the Rima Rima cabin, and reveled in having a fireplace (with unlimited wood outside our door), a hot shower, and all the comforts of home. Our cabin was spacious and tastefully decorated, and well-supplied with fresh drinking water every day, tea, and coffee. The rate included breakfast and dinner, and all of our meals were wonderful and imaginative. Breakfast included fresh fruit, and dinner always had fresh vegetables from the LDI gardens and greenhouses. Diana and Wayne were gracious and fun hosts, and provided all of the information we needed for hikes starting right outside the door. The location is spectacular, in the Cordillera Blanca, and wonderfully quiet and peaceful. We were sorry to leave, and hope to get back for another visit.

Room Tip: They are all good. It depends on how many people you are traveling with, as there are rooms for coup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

What a lovely place to stay! Spent a night acclimatizing before mountaineering in the Andes in July/2012, then for a few days recovering from my adventures! I cannot think of a single thing about my experience that was less than stellar. The staff are lovely, helpful, very involved with supporting the local community. And oh the food! Every night we had a delicious sit-down dinner in the great room with Diana and Wayne and all the guests, everyone sharing their stories. Evenings were spent relaxing with a book, socializing by the fire, or melting away in the sauna. My highest recommendation - I'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Len_Chackowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This has to be one of our favorite places to stay... And this comes from a couple who is quote widely traveled ( Alberta Canada, LOT of the US, Spain, France, Italy (thrice), Austria, Germany, India, Peru, Czech Rep, Swizerland)... We are very discerning and critique well... This place was just outstanding... Set away from Huaraz, in its own little land of heaven... Beautiful views... Very nice lodging... LOVED the owner Diana who was extxremely helpful, very good correspondent on email, a very gracious host, a great conversationalist and she runs this big farm VERY well... The main home has very nice ambience with the common room where you can exchange conversation with fellow travelers... That is where the food is prepared fresh every meal, in front of you... That experience was amazing to see the local cooks come in, go get some fresh greens and fruits from the farm and then make it right there in front of you... Straight from farm to the table in a few hours... The fresh farm fruit for breakfast with the yogurt was to die for... The dinners were very good and varied every night... They accomodated my husband's veg needs very well... They even helped when my son'd tummy was not well with some chamomile tea... Dessert was fresh and yumm as well... Diana also arranged a very nice personal horse grooming and riding class for my son, which he absolutely loved and we will always cherish... Diana's suggestions for hikes to do, driver to hire with car and ideas for the trip, were all outstanding... The driver and car she arranged for us was perfect as well... Again, cannot say enough good things... All the BIG things you look for in a lodging are very well taken care of... But the best part is that even the small things are very well taken care of... Best example - They always have the best dry firewood in the firebox outside the cottage along with plenty of dry twigs, newspaper and even many eucalyptus dry leaves which burn with a fabulous aroma... But here is what takes the cake! We were in the main house lounging after dinner... it was drizzling outside and it was cold... We would have had to walk 2 mins outside to get to our cottage... Diana told us to take the umbrellas and to let her know 5 mins before we were ready to go back to our cottage... She sent over someone 5 mins before and he lit up a raging big fire in the fireplace so that when we got to the cottage, it was already burning and warming up!! That is amazing hostess!! We will never forget that gesture!! Looking forward to visiting again in a few years!!

Room Tip: Stay in one of the cottages... Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sakshi_singhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our 5 days in the lazy dog. The location is fabulous with lovely views. We enjoyed the meals although felt for what we were paying that lunch could have been included. There are numerous day hikes available although it's important to note that many require taxi transportation to and from the start points which is an expense we hadn't budgeted for. The taxi drivers used are very friendly and safe drivers. It is more expensive to do these trips from here than from huaraz itself, as they have to also do a round-trip to the inn which is 8km outside huaraz on poor roads. Laguna 69 is stunning and well worth the trip. The descriptions of the hikes were sometimes vague and we got lost on returning from Laguna churup (but when we got back Wayne had the sauna fired up!)
The Internet is unreliable - not a criticism as it is amazing that there is any Internet at all given the location - just something to be aware of.
We stayed in a cabin with open fire and skylight view of the stars for 3 nights and upstairs room with balcony for 2. Both lovely.
Cosy living room with fire and extensive DVD collection.
Nick, who is volunteering there at the moment, was very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoisinH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huaraz hotels
12.1 mi away
Cuesta Serena Boutique Hotel
3.9 mi away
La Casa de Zarela
La Casa de Zarela
#3 of 16 in Huaraz
178 reviews
3.7 mi away
San Sebastian Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
El Patio de Monterrey
El Patio de Monterrey
#5 of 16 in Huaraz
129 reviews
4.1 mi away
Andino Club Hotel
Andino Club Hotel
#4 of 16 in Huaraz
114 reviews
4 mi away
El Jacal
El Jacal
#4 of 59 in Huaraz
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lazy Dog Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lazy Dog Inn

Address: Km 3.3, Cachipampa Alto- Huaraz, Huaraz, Peru
Location: Peru > Ancash Region > Huaraz
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Huaraz
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mountain eco-lodge near Huaraz located at 3,650 meters (11,975 feet) situated at the base of The Cordillera Blanca. We have hand-made suites and cabins (and a luxury Tipi), fireplaces or heaters in all rooms, rooms with beautiful skylights, private and semi-private bathrooms, outdoor gardens and patios, free WiFi and access to our wood-burning Sauna. We are proud to have received tripadvisor's Travelers' Choice for the past four years (2014, 2015, 2016, 2017) and given tripadvisor's Green accreditation. We are an eco-lodge and so we use dry composting toilets, recycle all grey water and kitchen wastes in addition to plastics and such products. We have 8 greenhouses on the site, with outdoor gardens, which help to proved a wide variety of fresh produce for guests. We also offer horse riding lessons (for all levels including beginners) with our well-trained horses. Our close connection to the local area, community and its peoples has helped to build a local community center which houses many of the projects we have. Opportunities to have lunch with a local family, volunteer and be involved. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing