We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveler rating
202
10
5
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
10
5
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner friendly dogs yellow room beautiful hotel andes mountains small details pisco sours an amazing view wonderful stay peruvian andes highly recommend this place visiting huaraz overnight bus hot water mariana mara hammocks
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 224 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

This place exceeded my expections from the beginning to the end and I’d difinitley recommend it.

We arrived very early (we took the night trip in bus in Cruz del Sur and we take the “colectivo” to make it to Cuesta Serena; that it’s 23km away from the center of Huaraz)

The check in was 3pm (we arrive 10am or so) but we could use the services and walk around (trust me, you’d love to walk around) the concierge was sooooooooo nice with us, she offered us the breakfast (even it was past the breakfast schedule) and the teas (there’s a tea bar 24/7 open) and we stay there until we get the room, we also have lunch there (try to try all the menu : the food is AMAZING)

The views from the rooms (we stayed at the yellow room) are incredible, you will always have a view to the cordillera blanca (all the rooms has a special color and a unique view)- the bed is comfortable, the bathroom is great, there’s hot water 24/7, they clean the room every day, you have the option to turn on the floor warmer or the electric heater if the days are too cold.

The pool, if the day is sunny the water will ven warm... but if not... I recommend you to take a hot bath at your room.

The attention was A1- the food, the location, everything...
We just loved the place and of course we are going back...

Thanks Mariana for everything!!!!

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank GiaPflu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuestaSerenaHuaraz, Gerente at Cuesta Serena Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Dear GiaPlfu,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your recent stay in Cuesta Serena.
We enjoyed sharing our little paradise with clients that truly understands what nature is. Here at Cuesta Serena have the motto of 'just relax" and enjoy.
We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

Great place to relax, enjoy the beautiful nature environment and see every morning the majestic Huascaran. The food delicious and daily lunch boxes available for those hicking trips in Huaraz. Friendly personnel eager to help you with the every day trips. Main attraction their loving dogs Max & Mara.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
Thank PP1716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuestaSerenaHuaraz, Gerente at Cuesta Serena Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Dear Client,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
We hope to see you again and share this little piece of heaven.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2018

This was a fabulous start to my sightseeing in Peru! The location is great, quiet and away from the main population so the views of the stars at night are spectacular, as are the mountain views during the day. Food was great, very fresh ingredients. Room comfortable with great views. Staff very friendly, only a few speak English but everyone is there to help. Two large and very friendly dogs also there to greet guests. Highly recommend...I hope I can stay there again sometime!

Stayed: June 2018
Thank DiveShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

Built as a country retreat for family, now converted into 7 room hotel. Still family operated, so you feel like a guest in someone’s home - which is good and bad. Relaxing, but when things aren’t quite up to scratch, it feels awkward to mention. Visually stunning on arrival. Fantastic setting and generally a blissful oasis. Warm welcome (though a bit too effusive if I’m honest). Cute, tastefully decorated rooms. Good food. They will plan your activities for you and try pretty hard. So flaws ? In fairness, we were unlucky our stay overlapped with a noisy family who just didn’t care about other guests. Made it miserable for 3 nights and highlighted that rooms in the annex have thin doors and little or no sound-proofing. If your group takes all 3 rooms, you’ll be fine - but no secrets will be left between you ! The other rooms are scattered about the main single storey house . Again, if you’re in a big group using most rooms, it’s fine, otherwise privacy may be limited. Service is good, but let down by details. If you don’t speak Spanish, you are disadvantaged. Mariana (owner/operator) and Megan her assistant run the show. They are keen and super friendly, but Megan is not full-time and Mariana went away on a trip while we were there. The main sights are quite a distance away. Be ready for 4-5hour round trips by car. Our driver was late every day and not really a service orientated guy. Our flight out was cancelled, but nobody had checked beforehand although this is a common occurrence. Small and certainly first world problems. They are running an ultra lean operation, so I guess that’s the compromise. My previous hol was budget trip to Nepal with a small tour company who were just completely on top of every detail to compensate for much shakier national infrastructure. Maybe that raised expectations too high for this stay. Once the neighbours left, we were much happier and maybe if that hadn’t happened, I wouldn’t even have noticed the shortcomings.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Jeremy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuestaSerenaHuaraz, Propietario at Cuesta Serena Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Dear Jeremy,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.
We take clients opines as positive criticism and room for improvement. Recently we have hired a full time manager to keep clients activities, schedules and needs so there is no room for error. As for privacy, currently we are remodeling little by little the flow of our bedrooms with their own private entrances and more solid doors to keep noise out.
Once again thank you for your stay and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018

This hotel has top-class view of Huascaran, the highest summit in south america. Very well decorated interior, convenient facilities including smal swimming pool, restaurant, beautiful play ground and so on. The owner and manager, Mariana, was very kind and helpful. She gave us many useful informaton about tours in Huaraz. If you have no idea about Huaraz, just go this hotel, ask her and take her advice and supports. She even has portable oxygen tanks.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Curious680606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuestaSerenaHuaraz, Propietario at Cuesta Serena Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Dear client,
Thank you for your recent review.
We are glad you had. a memorable stay with us and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews