We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice and cozy hostel”
Review of Benkawasi Hostal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huaraz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Benkawasi Hostal
Ranked #6 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Huaraz
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very nice and cozy hostel”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

we had a great time in Benkawasi- the family who ran the place are incredibly friendly and helpful, there is hot water in the shower, fine location (about 10 minutes walk from the main square). Not too many people, so it is recommanded for travelers who are looking for quite place. there is also a fully equipped kitchen. the place is basic but good- worth the price (about 15 sol per night in a 4 bed dorm with privet bathroom).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dafnaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    24
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
16
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Today I am staying at this place. I wanted something functional, convenient. Nothing fancy. Just a good place to rest. This place went beyond it. I got all that plus excellent customer service from the owner. She was kind, really cared for my needs and and she is an excellent advisor when it comes to getting around.
Place is tidy, functional, a few blocks away from pretty much everything. Next time I am here and I want functional basic lodging with excellent customer service I will come back to this place.

Room Tip: I chose single room. Shared dorm is cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidRojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Benkawasi is a clean, cozy and and well kept place.

Its owner, Benkello, is its strongest asset. Besides being friendly, open and cheerful, he belongs to chamber of tourism of the local government so has the best tips of where to go and what to do... as well as recommending the best agencies to not get scammed (nor will people try to scam you when knowing you are staying with him).

He owns a club in town and is keen on forming groups for going out and having fun either to just share a beer or go hard with hot and spicy chili spirits.

Would not consider going anywhere else in Huaraz... which btw, is lots of fun!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrizleiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

I went to Huaraz a few days ago and stayed at this awsome place. Its clean, safe, close enough to the main square and many places to have fun. The owner (Benkello) is a great guy, he was really helpful to all of us and also gave us a tour by the city's best bar called Garden's Club and Extreme Bar, the most funny places in Huaraz (If you love the 80's and 90's, this is your place).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gustavo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huaraz hotels
0.5 mi away
Andes Warak
Andes Warak
#10 of 16 in Huaraz
43 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Galaxia
Hotel Galaxia
#8 of 16 in Huaraz
95 reviews
0.6 mi away
Akilpo Hostal
Akilpo Hostal
#1 of 62 in Huaraz
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hatun Wasi
Hatun Wasi
#15 of 62 in Huaraz
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Jacal
El Jacal
#3 of 58 in Huaraz
141 reviews
0.7 mi away
B&B Santa Cruz Trek Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benkawasi Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benkawasi Hostal

Property: Benkawasi Hostal
Address: Parque Santa Rosa # 928, Huaraz, Peru
Location: Peru > Ancash Region > Huaraz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Huaraz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge offers 15 rooms with wall-to-all carpeting, private restrooms with hot water 24 hours a day, dining room, TV room, game room and a sitting room with a chimney. The third floor has a great terrace with a spectacular view of the Cordillera Blanca (White mountain range) as well as 360 degree view of the area surrounding Huaraz. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing