We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly”
Review of Alpa-k Montanero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alpa-k Montanero
Ranked #12 of 60 Huaraz B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Clean and friendly”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here for one night before heading further into the mountains. I arrived after dark and it was a little hard to find. I included a daytime photo to help others. If I'd known it was in the same building as the well-labeled Montanero climbing gear store, i would have been fine.

The room was clean. The owner was friendly and attentive. I recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazmine319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    21
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
34
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our holidays in Peru were wonderful and one of the best accomodations we found was in Alpa-K!

The location is really good. In the center of Huaraz, near to restaurants and bars, automatic bank machines, drugstores, tour agencies, etc.

The service in Alpa-K B&B is very good and the staff is always ready to help you with your questions regarding where to go, how to go anywhere or with whom you should travel. They (Bertrand and Ludovic) are very flexible and they give many advices for the diverses tours you can make and this is very appreciable specially when you dont know how to start to plan your tours.

The breakfast is delicious and unforgettable. You get a very good peruvian coffee, milk, fresh juice (papaya, banana), scrambled eggs, bread from the region (miamm), mermelade, butter, etc...Ana (who is working there) is very friendly and we had breakfast always in the terrace, where the sun shines and we had at the same time a pretty view of the beautiful mountains around Huaraz.

The installations in the B&B are very good. We were in double room with a common bath. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are cleaned and tidy every day, so every day after a long exhausted tour, we were happy to find our room ready for getting relax. We could sleep very very well, without noise... The bath is also good, hot and cold water the whole day and big enough!

To finalize our comments, we strongly recommend the Alpa-K B&B. You will be happy there in good hands. There is almost nothing else you can ask...

Best regards, Paul and Aurélie

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_HL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Nice big comfortable rooms with hot shower and toilets. Great and friendly staff, great location. Wifi in the hotel in all areas. Some of the staff do speak english. Check out according to your needs, that is if you need to take a night bus they let me use the room till late

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_Strasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huaraz
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Alpa-K is a lovely hotel situated in a delightful square right in the centre of Huaraz. Despite its central location the hotel is very peaceful and quiet. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. The double rooms with private bathroom are especially nice, being spacious and bright with a lovely view of the square. There is a nice breakfast area as well as a small terrace where you can enjoy breakfast with wonderful views of the surrounding mountains, a real treat! The place is run by the very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful Bertrand, who is Swiss, and his Peruvian wife. Many good restaurants and bars are located nearby. I think this hotel offers excellent value for money, it is just a bit more expensive than the typical backpackers place, but you get a lot more for your money. The low season rate are incredibly good value. An excellent choice for those searching a quiet, clean and well-run place to stay in a central location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed in a double room with private bathroom. The room was huge, had a balcony overlooking a small square, king sized bed and good hot shower. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit juice, rolls with jam, eggs and tea/coffee. We were met at the bus station and the friendly, helpful staff helped us arrange tours. All in all, we would highly recommend this hostel as nothing was too much trouble and the staff went out of their way to help us.

Room Tip: The two private doubles with bathroom are highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumbalumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Very good and quiet location next to a nice small park (Ginebra) in the center of Huaraz. Our room (private ensuite) was nice, spacious, clean and with a good shower and a small balcony. The breakfast was good too. There is free WiFi with a fast connection. The staff is friendly and helpful. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globetrotter09-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chez-le-Bart, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

A Swiss family of 5, on tour in Peru...

Huaraz was our last milestone place on our tour in Peru, before returning to Switzerland. We heard about Huaraz as the "Chamonix de la Cordillère Blanche", and thought this would be a nice place to visit in contrast with the the other well-know spots in Peru.

The place is owned by a Swiss person whose wife is Peruvian. The hotel is located at the Plaza de Ginebra, a cute little plaza that is very close to the Plaza de Armas, hence right at the heart of the city. Plaza de Ginebra is more quiet than Plaza de Armas, which was also quite agreeable. The rooms are very tidy and convenient, although quite simple. Same for the bathroom. We got two double-bed rooms, one of them was accomodated for 3 persons, hence that was perfect for us five. Breakfast was good, with enough food. There are a couple of small restaurants on the same Plaza de Ginebra, nice place to have a drink or a meal.

The owners were very helpful and recommended us a number of places to visits and typical restaurants. They also helped us to organize a trekking & camping tour, their advice was valuable considering our family requirements with small kids.

Room Tip: Contact the owners in advance, they provide valuable advice about Huaraz and also Peru in general
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vincentp2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huaraz hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Galaxia
Hotel Galaxia
#7 of 16 in Huaraz
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa de Zarela
La Casa de Zarela
#2 of 16 in Huaraz
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akilpo Hostal
Akilpo Hostal
#1 of 63 in Huaraz
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ebony Hotel
Ebony Hotel
#8 of 60 in Huaraz
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Jacal
El Jacal
#3 of 60 in Huaraz
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alojamiento Soledad
Alojamiento Soledad
#13 of 60 in Huaraz
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpa-k Montanero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpa-k Montanero

Property: Alpa-k Montanero
Address: Parque Ginebra, Huaraz, Peru
Location: Peru > Ancash Region > Huaraz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Huaraz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parque Ginebra, 50 meters from the Plaza de Armas, in front of the "Casa de guia", terrace with view to the Cordillera Blanca. Tourist information, we speak French and English. Swiss/Peruvian family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Alpa-k Montanero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing