We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean hotel with a central location”
Review of Hotel Galaxia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galaxia
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Huaraz
Certificate of Excellence
Quito
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice, clean hotel with a central location”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hotel Galaxia is pretty central, it's only 2 blocks away from the Plaza de Armas and 3 blocks away from the Casa de Guías (where most adventure agencies are located), so it was pretty easy to get by.

The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, we had hot water (plenty of it :)), and we even had cable TV and free Wifi.

We stayed there on two different nights (in between our adventure tours), so we slept in different rooms. I personally preferred the room on the 4th floor because we heard less noise than on the 1st floor, but on the other hand, carrying your luggage up to the 4th floor can be a burden.

You can leave your luggage in the hotel without any extra charge. If you need to take a shower when you return from your trip, you only have to pay 7 soles.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the street because it's pretty loud and try to get a room on the sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mfjaramillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    44
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
13
32
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Clean rooms, reasonably priced, and great tourist information all under one roof.
The little old lady that runs the place is a sweetheart.
Wish the beds were a little more comfortable but everything was clean and we even had a tv in the room.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Threezdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

To be fair in my appraisal, I had just come off a long trek with beautiful vistas and quiet nights, arriving in Huaraz, with all its constant horn-honking and radios blaring was a bit of a shock. Having said that, I was expecting (from reading the other reviews), a quiet, but simple place. Unfortunately, while the room was away from traffic noise, the building itself is very echo-y. There were people in the lobby (or perhaps a lower room) who were chattering away until quite late, and the sound was carried into our room clear as could be. If noise bothers you, bring ear plugs. Additionally, the bed and pillows were hard as rocks (and I had been sleeping on rocks for two weeks - so it's a fair comparison!). The next time we stayed in Huaraz we stayed in a different (cheaper) hotel that was louder - so maybe by Huaraz standards the Galaxia is a quiet sanctuary.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seacliffs2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I'm so glad to have found this place, and I can't give anything but a glowing review to this superb 3* hotel.
It's a big hotel (three or four-storeys high) with a roof terrace which offers amazing views of the snow-capped mountains in the distance.
The hotel is run by a charismatic lady and her young, energetic daughter. This guarantees a personal attention and service throughout your stay.
The lady doesn't speak English, which was a perfect opportunity for me to practice my Spanish. This would, sometimes, lead to comic situations, when I would misspel words, and both the owner and I would start laughing (she's got a great sense of humour!).
Needless to say, these situations wouldn't arise with the owner's daughter, who speaks good English, yet she's so pleasant and accommodating, that sometimes I'd be left speechless at how kind a person she is (she even waited for me, at 7:00am, to let me in into the hotel!).
I smirked when I read other people's reviews on Tripadvisor, who went to other, more expensive hotels in Huaraz, and then complained about poor service, or lack of hot water, or dishonest staff. Expensive hotel rates in Huaraz (even those claiming to have 4 stars!) do not, necessarily, translate into an impeccable service and top-grade accommodation. So, why pay 80 or even 100-120 soles to others, when you can get a decent accommodation with personal service, hot water, cable TV in your room (with BBC and CNN channels in English), and a working (!!!) Wi-Fi for 35 soles per night (if you are on your own), or 50 soles (if you're a couple).
The attention to guests at this hotel is so good that when, during the initial period, I failed to poke my nose out of the hotel room for quite a while (headaches due to altitude sickness), the owners, with genuine sympathy, enquired about my well-being, and then, for two days in a row, were bringing "coca mate" to my hotel room....gratis. It's small details like that that make the world of a difference between the commercial hotels, driven by profit, and a family-owned hotel like "Galaxia".
In terms of its location, its located next to some inconspicuous square, a few blocks away from the Plaza de Armas.
If you are in Huaraz - give this place a go (and if you get hungry, go and visit the best grill restaurant in Huaraz - "Ajo Picante" - conveniently located a few steps away on the right-handside, when you exit the hotel).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors, if you want some bright room with sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Lukas999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights and it was a good base for our visit to Huaraz. Very central location, and despite arriving at 7am after our overnight bus, we were shown straight to a room where we could catch up on some sleep.

The old lady who owns the place speaks no English and was a bit hit and miss in her moods, but her daughter was really helpful and arranged several tours for us.

The rooms can get a bit noisy and would really benefit from a lick of paint, but there is hot water 24 hours a day and wifi throughout. Overall it served us very well.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lateralus83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The innkeeper and her daughter were both friendly and helpful. We especially appreciate the fact that Hotel Galaxia is pet-friendly. They also arranged for our laundry to be done, at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This spot was a good find. We walked in with no reservation, but were given a great room with a reasonable rate. Excellent internet, hot water. Nice sunny patio on the roof. Staff/owners were very nice and helpful. Close to the bus stops and central plaza, lots of shops and restaurants all around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aguafijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huaraz hotels
0.5 mi away
La Casa de Zarela
La Casa de Zarela
#2 of 16 in Huaraz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andes Warak
Andes Warak
#10 of 16 in Huaraz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Tumi Huaraz
Hotel El Tumi Huaraz
#7 of 16 in Huaraz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Cuesta Serena Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Arawi Pastoruri Hotel
Arawi Pastoruri Hotel
#6 of 16 in Huaraz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.7 mi away
San Sebastian Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galaxia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galaxia

Property: Hotel Galaxia
Address: Jr. Juan de la Cruz Romero 638 | Huaraz, Huaraz 0051, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Ancash Region > Huaraz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Huaraz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galaxia 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galaxia is a pleasant hotel in Huaraz, a 30-minute drive from airport Anta. It has comfortable rooms with private bathroom, hot water 24 hours, cable TV, Wi-Fi and views of Cordillera blanca ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Galaxia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing