We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best curry in Peru” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chilli Heaven

Chilli Heaven
Ranked #4 of 105 Restaurants in Huaraz
Cuisines: Mexican, Indian, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Whether you send your appetite to India or Thailand, the fiery curries at this English-run hotspot will seize your taste buds upon arrival, mercilessly shake them up and then spit them back out the other side as if you've died and gone to chili heaven (hence the name). They also bottle their own hot sauces here and bring in loads of English beers you don't often see. Critical comida peruana antidote.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best curry in Peru”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

After our Santa Cruz trek we just wanted a nice big plate of curry and we found it here in Huaraz and what a treat it was. I had the Rogan Josh and my partner had the Tikka Masala. Both were full of flavour and tasted like you get back home.

If you like your curry then Chilli Heaven won't let you down would go back tomorrow if I was still in Huaraz!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    80
    21
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice food, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We ate here just the once. The food was nice and arrived quickly, but the owner who served us was surly to say the least. Not rude exactly, but his approach to customer service does make you wonder why he wanted to open a restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lateralus83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Greate time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We accidentally got here. The owner was so nice. We had a chicken fajita and a beef borito- both AMAZING!!!
service was excellent. If u like Mexican- highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michal208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, but high prices and not more than average service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This restaurant was very good for us as vegetarians as there were lots of veggie options in chicken-crazy Huaraz. We had a Thai tofu curry and an Indian veggie curry, which were delicious and pretty spicy. However, the prices were ridiculous compared to other restaurants in Huaraz (25-40 soles per dish, excluding bread). We ended up sharing a dish between two people, and because the portions were relatively large there was almost enough for both people. The owner/waiter was not very friendly, but the food did come quickly. So if you're a rich vegetarian that misses spicy food this place is perfect for you!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dishonest owner!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I'll start on a positive - the food once it finally arrived was actually quite good...but in getting it you have to out up with a rude waiter service by a Brit who can barely be bothered to speak to you. Then you have to wait absolutely ages for it to be cooked in the tiny kitchen out the back. But it gets worse...not only did he roll his eyes every time more people came in (you'd think he'd be happy to be making so much on a Sunday night!) he had the nerve to rip us off! We all counted the money and left the full amount plus some extra and handed it over whilst one member of the group used the toilet. We headed off and when this last member of our group came out the owner claimed he was short by 26 soles, plus someone had a put a Cuban note in. The poor guy paid up believing him but it was defiantly a scam, too many of us had seen the money be counted and no one had been to Cuba or got hold of any random Cuban money! So be warned if you do decide to go there, check your bill adds up and count the money to him, don't let him touch it first or he'll magic away some of your notes!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank kateoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilli Heaven also viewed

Huaraz, Ancash Region
Huaraz, Ancash Region
 
Huaraz, Ancash Region
Huaraz, Ancash Region
 

Been to Chilli Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing