We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, hospitality, and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa de Maruja B&B
Ranked #6 of 59 Huaraz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I chose to stay at La Casa de Maruja based on a friend's recommendation and we were very happy with our experience. Gilf was waiting for us at the bus station when we arrived at 6:30 AM, drove us to the B&B and then made us a delicious breakfast. Neither of us speaks Spanish, so we were particularly grateful for Gilf's English skills and willingness to help us plan and schedule tours/hikes during our time in Huaraz. In addition to the amazing hospitality Gilf and his wife Maruja have to offer, the B&B is very comfortable, clean, spacious, safe, and affordable. Our only regret is that we didn't spend more time in Huaraz at this B&B!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krcasey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 113 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stay at La Casa de Maruja and you will be part of the family - Gilf and his wife Maruja live here with their charming children and run a quiet, spotlessly clean, completely safe and comfortable B&B on the northern edge of Huaraz in the Palmira neighborhood. The location affords great views of Huascaran from the rooftop patio and is an easy taxi or collectivo ride to downtown Huaraz. Each morning Maruja will get you started with a delicious breakfast and will even remind you to wear sunscreen as you head off for the day. Gilf offers helpful suggestions for sight-seeing or day hikes; he also owns Colonia Adventures and can organize any sort of trekking, sightseeing or mountaineering adventure you have in mind. He emphasizes *living wages* for the people who work for him, *humane treatment* of pack animals and *stewardship* of the environment. We did a 9 day trek in the Cordillera Blanca; we trusted Gilf to plan everything for us. Thanks to him and his team, we had an amazing experience. Our talented cook, Martin, kept us fat and happy, our hard-working arriero, Carasco, kept our gear moving forward and our fun, informative guide, Ricardo, provided us with a week of good views, good conversation and good laughs. He did more than merely guide us along the trails - we did interesting side-trips, learned about local flora and fauna, history and geology of the area, and gained valuable insight into the lives of the local people. Whatever you have in mind, Gilf and Maruja will make your trip an ideal experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventurista_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked our Santa Cruz trek through Gilf and Colonia Climb through the reviews we read on TripAdvisor. While it was more expensive than some of the trekking companies advertised in huaraz, we are so glad we made that decision. Our guide was great, the food was delicious and the gear was top notch. We had a great experience.

We also stayed in La Casa de Maruja after the trek. The breakfast was great and they let us use the room until we left for our bus at 9 pm, which was super nice.

Definitely book your treks and stay with Gilf and Maruja!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My other half and I stayed here for 4 nights and absolutely loved it. The double room was huge, the hot water is genuinely 24 hours, the kitchen is big and well equipped and the location is perfect for catching collectivos to Yungay/Caraz etc and is walking distance from the start of the path to Wilkawain (as others have said, it's also really easy to get into the centre of Huaraz).
Maruja cooks a great breakfast (bread, jam, butter, tea, coffee, a choice of eggs or pancakes every day along with a choice of fresh OJ or banana smoothie) and Gilf is a fantastic source of trekking and local info depending on what you're looking to do in Huaraz. They were so kind to us and looked after us whilst we were there (one day we came back exhausted from trekking and couldn't face cooking so Gilf brought us a pizza back from town and Maruja brought it up tp our room with plates and cutlery!)
They let us use the room right up until our 10pm bus which meant we could go trekking on our last day and be able to shower and rest before the night bus.
You will have a warm welcome if you stay here and you'll be looked after fantastically. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Internationalgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Recently completed our second trip with Colonia Adventures who also own and operate La Casa de Maruja. Our first trip was four days to see Machu Picchu followed by a nine day trek in the Codillera Blanca in 2007. We enjoyed the trip so much we booked with Colonia for our recent ten day trek in the Hauyhuash followed by a three day climb of Mt Ishinca. Colonia can make all the arrangements for your trips. Transportation, hotels, guides, equipment, everything in Peru. You only need to concern yourself with international flights. Very convenient, everything happens when it should and the prices are very competitive. The hotels and guides arranged for when not in Huaraz are first rate. The guides have good english/spanish and quechua and really add to the trip with their knowledge of flora, fauna, history, geology and culture. The guides for treks and climbs are very experienced and you always feel you're in good hands. The cooks used for treks are clean and prepare plenty of good food so no worries of stomach ailments. When in Huaraz you will of course stay at Casa de Maruja. Actually they own two hotels. One near downtown Huraz the other on the edge of town. We have stayed at both, they are comfortable and the hospitality and food are great.
We have had only one problem. On our arrival in Lima we could not locate our greeter at the airport. The people at the tourist help desk were able to contact Colonia for us and get things rolling again.
You can't go wrong with having Gilf and Maruja arrange your trip to Peru/Huaraz.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Gilf and wife Maruja will ensure your stay in Hauraz is an enjoyable one. They have a wealth of local information, just ask, like walks to do while acclimatising in and around town. With nice clean rooms, hot water and comfy beds this is the place to stay. Not to mention the sun drenched rooftop with mountains in the background. Do not be turned off it's location. It's less than 1 sol per person to get into the city. 5 sol to thermal baths. Gulf is also a world renowned tour guide and can organize you a specialized tour or book you into a generl tour.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanDerSack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a fabulous place to stay and is set up with the needs of the traveller foremost in mind.

From the moment we arrived (early at 5.30am from an overnight bus) we were given a warm welcome and made to feel at home by Maruja and Gilf the owner/managers. Despite our early arrival, Gilf showed us to our room where we were allowed to catch up on a few hours sleep in a comfortable bed before breakfast. Allowing us to check-in early like this really made a difference.

Throughout the stay, Gilf and Muruja were always friendly and could not have been more helpful.

The hostel is located on the outskirts of the town centre which in my opinion is a good thing. Collectivo minibuses run up and down the main road into town and one passes every few minutes. You just jump on, pay your 20p and in 5 minutes you are in the main shopping / restaurant part of town. Alternatively, there are some corner shops and a couple of eating options within 2 minutes walk of the hostel so no need to go into town.

While in Huaraz we naturally wanted to take part in outdoor mountain activities. Gilf (a qualified mountain guide himself) saved us the hassle of trawling the many tour agencies and put together for us a tailored package which included exactly what we wanted. We did a four day (3 night) Santa Cruz trek and two day excursions to Laguna 69 and a glacier. As an added benefit, Gilf provided us with sleeping bags, walking poles and air mattresses free of charge. The gear he gave us was top quality, performance gear in A1 condition and better than some of that provided by the tour companies. While away on the trek, the hostal took care of our excess luggage that we did take with us.

In terms of the accommodations itself, the rooms are comfortable and cleaned daily. The is a fab sunny roof terrace for enjoying a beer and the amazing vistas of Huaraz in the afternoons. The breakfast is excellent with a good choice of fresh bread, jam, fresh juice, eggs, pancakes, tea, coffee. There is an in-house laundry service. The wifi is strong, there is a shared PC and there is cable tv (with international news channels!).

A late check-out was offered to us as we were departing on another night bus - just one more aspect of the great service offered here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reedois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huaraz hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Galaxia
Hotel Galaxia
#7 of 16 in Huaraz
95 reviews
1.8 mi away
Andes Warak
Andes Warak
#10 of 16 in Huaraz
51 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Casa de Zarela
La Casa de Zarela
#3 of 16 in Huaraz
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Casa de Ana
Casa de Ana
#3 of 59 in Huaraz
45 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casa Jaimes
Casa Jaimes
#49 of 71 in Huaraz
38 reviews
1.7 mi away
Akilpo Hostal
Akilpo Hostal
#1 of 71 in Huaraz
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Maruja B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Maruja B&B

Address: Las Esmeraldas #146 | Palmira Neighborhood, Huaraz, Peru
Location: Peru > Ancash Region > Huaraz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Huaraz
Price Range: $16 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Casa de Maruja B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unforgettable experience along with spectacular views of the Cordillera Blanca right from your room. Our spacious private rooms offer 24 hours hot water,comfortable new mattresses and carpeted floors.Clean bed linens and towels are also included.Start each morning with a FREE hot breakfast made from scratch including coffee,tea,juice and vegetarian options. We also speak English and can assist you in making any arrangements needed. As an experienced mountaineer of the Cordillera Blanca I can assist you in making arrangements for climbing or trekking including the Santa Cruz Trek. We also offer free Bus Station pick up, just e mail us your itinerary. Other amenities include computer workstation,Free WIFI, TV and a wide array of bools on the area. Our family would like to make this your Home away from Home.NEW: Recently we remodeled our hostel with an spectacular terrace and our cozy fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Casa de Maruja B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing