We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay when hiking.”
Review of Morales Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Morales Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 59 Huaraz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Riga, Latvia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay when hiking.”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Location of the guest house is good, not far from centre of Huaraz. Nice rooftop terrace, wide and clean room
Very good service for the price: pick-up at bus-station, early breakfast before hikes and coca-tea after.
We're very satisfied with Hisao Morales, because of professional advices when planning the hikes, good day-hike arrangements, detailed replies to e-mail questions.
The only inconvenient thing is Wi-Fi connection - periodically must go closer to rooter to stay connected.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gints V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    33
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
63
26
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I had a really awesome stay at Morales Guest house. It is located outside the centre of town, around the corner from Jose Ollaya street, which was the only street in Huaraz to 'survive' the 1970 earthquake. None of the buildings in this street were destroyed by the earthquake. It is an easy walk into town or just as easy to catch a taxi for 3 soles. And being out of town gives you lovely views of the mountains. The rooms are big, clean and nicely decorated. There are blankets and a heater for the cold nights. The shower has excellent pressure and hot water at all times of the day. Breakfast consists of the standard Peruvian fare of juice, bread, eggs and tea or coffee. Hisao, the owner of the guest house, goes out of his way to make sure that your are happy and comfortable during your stay. He is able to provide recommendations of where to eat in town, what to do and is happy to help with all your travel arrangements. I highly recommend staying at Morales Guest House.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We got to Huaraz really late at night, we have to admit, we had a hard time finding the place, but when we did, we were glad to have chosen Morales Guesthouse. Morales, the owner, and Giovanna were very nice and took us to a restaurant near by. The rooms were clean, organized, big and comfortable, also the blankets were the best we've ever used. The breakfast was awesome and the orange juice is real good. Morales helped us to plan our activities in the city and made snacks for our days. The hotel also has wifi in all the rooms.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We've stayed at Morales Guest House during the end of August, 2013.

We were picked up from the Huaraz Cruz Del Sur terminal by the kind staff of Morales GH and taken to the hotel.

Rooms:
We are a couple so we slept in a double bedroom. The room was large, clean, and had all the things you would need.
A thing to note is that some of the rooms are on the third floor, and carrying luggage that high and with the lack of oxygen that typifies Huaraz was a bit difficult. We received kind help with that from Hisao, the owner.

This is a guesthouse so there are no pools or gyms or whatever you might expect from a hotel. You get a room and common spaces to lounge, as well as a dining room of sorts. There is also a large balcony overlooking Huaraz and the surrounding mountains, it has a nice view.

Staff:
Hisao is the owner of the establishment and also runs an upscale travel agency. The prices for the agency were too high for us, so I can't comment on their value, as we haven't tried them. But to Hisao's credit he did not try to sell us any services and was very helpful when we tried to pick and choose from other agency packages.

As a host Hisao is very gracious. Our every request was fulfilled with a smile, from the simple things like extra blankets and heater for our room, to more demanding like preparing breakfast especially for us at 5:45 AM because we had to leave for a trek.

Hisao speaks very good English and he can usually be found around the Hotel. The rest of the staff does not speak English very well, but communication is possible.

Location:
One of the few shortcomings of this hotel is the location - it's about 10-15 minutes walk from the city center, or a 2 sole ride in a taxi. Not far or expensive, but it's far enough removed from the center to discourage you from going there to eat dinner.
There's a nearby restaurant in San Sebastian hotel which Hisao recommended to us. It was pretty good and I have reviewed it as well (prices are not cheap there).
Another annoyance with the location is the fact some trek agencies won't pick you up from the hotel because it's too far from their pick-up route. One such agency was Qechuandes. We had to make our own arrangements to get to the meeting place on the morning of the trek.
The benefit of the location is that it's relatively quiet and we slept very well.

Value:
We paid around 35$ a night, and we consider it money well spent. We had overall a very good experience, and I would highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone looking to step up from the general backpacker level accommodations you would usually find in Huaraz.

Room Tip: Go for lower floor, to save yourself the trouble to hauling luggage upstairs, but I didn't stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This place was amazing to stay at. Everyone that worked there was so nice and extremely accommodating. We were on a very tight schedule, with climbing and exploring, and it was these folks that helped us reach our goals. I will definitely be back to climb and I'll be staying here. The food was very good, sleeping was very comfortable with plenty of space in the rooms. The craftsmanship of the guesthouse was impeccable. The views were unreal. Thanks You!!!

Room Tip: The Fitness center is the mountains Swimming pool is the natural spring pool in town
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psulli21272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We reserved a room through email and received a quick response. We were picked up at the bus station free of charge. Stayed for several nights in a generous sized room with a comfy bed, portable heater and lots of hot water for a shower. The room and the common areas were extremely clean. Very helpful hosts--cooked delicious breakfasts daily(also included in the price).
The location is away from the main action of the town so you can get a quiet night's sleep.
The area has restaurants and stores for your needs.
The rooftop has a fabulous view of the mountains!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phyllis667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We staid 3 nights in Hostal Morales and it was well worth it.
The hostal is situated in a quiet part of town and has a nice view from the rooftop (if the November clouds allow it) of the surrounding Cordillera Blanca.
The room was big and clean, the bed comfortable and the water in the shower hot.
The breakfast is really super, with eggs or fresh fruit salad, as you like. All served with a big smile by Joana.
The friendly Morales brothers can arrange everything for you, like a trip with a local tour to the Chavín ruins or bus tickets to your next destination. The also run their own trekking company (Peruvian Andes Adventures), with whom we did two very nice day trips.
Next time we go to Huaraz we will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BubblesAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huaraz hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Colomba
Hotel Colomba
#7 of 16 in Huaraz
74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andino Club Hotel
Andino Club Hotel
#5 of 16 in Huaraz
109 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Galaxia
Hotel Galaxia
#8 of 16 in Huaraz
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel El Tumi Huaraz
Hotel El Tumi Huaraz
#9 of 16 in Huaraz
141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Andes Warak
Andes Warak
#10 of 16 in Huaraz
46 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arawi Pastoruri Hotel
Arawi Pastoruri Hotel
#6 of 16 in Huaraz
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morales Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morales Guesthouse

Property: Morales Guesthouse
Address: Pasaje Ucanan #132 | Barrio de Jose Olaya, Huaraz 043, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Ancash Region > Huaraz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Huaraz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Morales Guesthouse, a small private family bed and breakfast hotel in Huaraz, the heart of trekking & climbing in the Peruvian Andes. The guesthouse is owned and operated by the Morales Family who delights in providing friendly, personal service to their guests and to making you feel “at home” during your stay with them. The family and staff take great pleasure in sharing with you their knowledge of Huaraz and the surrounding areas, and in helping you with your plans for day tours, trekking, hiking or climbing activities, or just chatting and spending time with you over a relaxing cup of coffee.We also invite you to join with us for a trekking, hiking, climbing holiday in the Peruvian Andes or for Cuzco Machu Picchu treks and tours. A local Huaraz experienced UIAGM qualified family agency offering exceptional personalised service in a friendly family atmosphere.We go the “extra mile” to provide our guests an exceptional Peru cultural experience with superior service & attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Morales Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing