We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice if you can get a room further a way from the Main Street or reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel El Huacachinero
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Huacachina
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel on a friday night. The room was clean and the staffs were helpful. We stayed on second floor right above the reception area. At night, there were party crowds from disco playing loud music and chatting until 3 am in the morning. We tried to ask for a different room, but they said the hotel was fully booked. Their complimentary breakfast was the worst I had compared to other hotels I stayed in Peru. It has bread, three different kinds of fruits, tea bags, and juice. I wouldn't stay here again if I don't get the room near pool area.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silverstar2163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo B, Propietario at Hotel El Huacachinero, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013
Google Translation

Buenas tardes EL HOTEL HUACACHINERO le agradece por su opinión ,vamos a mejorar el desayuno, y sobre el ruido de la calle son cosas que escapan del hotel ya hemos hecho quejas a las autoridades ,pero también estamos en proyecto de poner los vidrios y puertas antiruidos
Gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 559 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel has a beautiful swimmingpool restaurant area which is clean and well maintained. The room itself was really small for 3 people as we were constantly tripping over our bags. The electricity shorted out every now and again which made it cloyingly hot in the room without the fan. The disco next door kept us thumping till the early hours of the morning. The breakfasts were fabulous with their fresh juices. I highly recommend climbing the sanddune behind the hotel in the early morning while its still cool to admire the view over the town and oasis. We booked our buggytour/sandboarding with Desert Sands (situated on the left side of the Oasis) and had an amazing adrenaline filled experience with a sunset view over the dunes as the cherry on the cake!

Room Tip: Choose a second floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Compared to the rest of The scruffy hotels and accomodations in huacachina this Hotel is perfect. Nice pool, Great restaurant ate there twice. You Can walk straight up the dunes trom the pool area. The downside is that its noisy the discotheque next door kept us awake for along time. Booked the sandbuggy tour which was awesome!! And the Same price als nextdoors touragency

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I only went to Huacachina because I want to see the dunes, which were absolutely amazing. I actually picked El Huacahinero at random, but was lucky with the result. The pool was excellent and clean, as were the rooms. Reception staff were also extremely friendly and set me up with a tour of the dunes.

After walking around Huacachina, I noticed that it looked like Ica´s party place (the nearby town). That said, I had a room near the courtyard and was pleasantly surprise with the good night´s rest that I had.

All in all, I would recommend this to anybody who is not party-inclined as a way to see the dunes of Huacachina and have a good night`s sleep in the process.

Room Tip: Something adjacent to the courtyard is best because of the view of the gardens and pool and added di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dray17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our experience at this hotel was not very good. We were provided a beautiful room near the hotel lobby, on the first floor. The first night, (Saturday) we were kept awake from music coming from a discotheque next door. Once the music stopped at about 5:00 AM, we were kept awake by people trying to gain access to their room. The front door was locked and the custodian was fast asleep on a sofa next to our room in the lobby. He would not wake-up and the banging on the glass door did not stop for over 45 min. Finally, someone let the people in and the banging stopped. The second night, people were talking in the lobby of the hotel and the poor soundproofing seemed like they were almost in our room. The hotel is beautiful, and the location in the oasis is wonderful. They have a beautiful pool and view of the sand dunes is magnificent, so if you reserve at t his hotel, request a room on 2nd floor away from the lobby!

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor or at the back of he hotel should be OK. Stay away from the rooms near the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

And yes, I'm kidding on that Title, as it IS located near an oasis in the middle of the desert! Regarding the hotel, WOW, what a great unexpected find! I spent 10 days in hostels throughout Peru and came upon this hotel online. I noticed they had dorm rooms for $25 USD per night (the "backpacker" hostels - aka dirty and not as nice - down the road were $20 a night, so this to me was a steal to be in a proper hotel with a pool, restaurant, etc.) Upon checking in it was like a breath of fresh air to walk to the dorm room and see the wonderful pool (clean, very well maintained) located right under the sand dunes. I spent the day lounging by the pool and even ordered lunch at the restaurant (also ordered a few Pisco sours, which they served to me in my lounge chair poolside!) Overall, a GREAT little hotel in Huacachina. The hotels rooms are most likely worth every penny - but the dorm rooms at $25/night were SUPER clean, organized, had good water pressure in the showers, and beds were comfortable and clean feeling. The best 'hostel' I've stayed in ever, and a GREAT find and I highly recommend this hotel. Also, the front desk gal was very helpful in booking me a Sand Dune Buggy tour (a must!) as well as a Winery tour - she handled it all and they even accept Visa. I'd go back here time and time again! I just wish someone had told me about it prior to my stay - I stayed one night in Ica and would NOT recommend that - it's a dirty/ugly little city. Just take a cab (5 soles, no more) to Huacachina right when you get in and you'll be happy - especially if you stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: Dorm room is the only option - but a great deal and super clean. You get all amenities of this lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaime J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hotel sits at edge of dune in small 'oasis' town; firstly - town is not worth the stop if travelling to Lima or nazca go direct.
Secondly - the hotel:
Sleep deprivation is a form of torture prohibited by the geneva convention but practised at this hotel. Some simple solutions would be if you insist on locking guests out then provide a system for said guests to wake the receptionist and not ALL the guests when they try to get in. So a bell only thy can hear, an intercom connected to reception only, a mobile phone number (not reception number because that can only be heard by guests trying to sleep if the reception is unmanned) even a pager just for the nightshift person!!! Also carpets, this will muffle the sound of bags being rolled along hall ways sounding like Abrams tanks rolling into Baghdad.
If unwilling to upgrade to any level of soundproofing the rooms then provide staff who are prepared to control other guests (after midnight)... PLUS Remove benches/seating from underneath guest room windows as this encourages other guests to sit and chat into the night.
Entertainment is a plus when staying away from home so providing
Internet that actually works (either could not get on or, if did connect, was too slow to do anything other than check emails, sometimes not even that!), or even a tv.
Was 'with breakfast' but that was a bread roll and fruit.
Insufficient water pressure made it difficult to get wet in the shower.

Room Tip: No such thing in this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulmcalpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huacachina
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Curasi
Hotel Restaurant Curasi
#2 of 5 in Huacachina
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
DM Hoteles Mossone Ica
DM Hoteles Mossone Ica
#3 of 5 in Huacachina
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hosteria Suiza
Hosteria Suiza
#4 of 5 in Huacachina
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Las Dunas
Hotel Las Dunas
#2 of 31 in Ica
1,218 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Las Flores
Hotel Las Flores
#4 of 31 in Ica
246 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Jazmin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Huacachinero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Huacachinero

Address: Av Perotti s/n | Balneario de Huacachina - Ica, Huacachina, Peru
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Huacachina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Huacachina
Price Range: $64 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Huacachinero 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the huacachinero hotel, we are a company dedicated to tourism providing lodging and food. In our establishment you will find quality of service, tranquility, relaxation and good attention. We inform our visitors to be careful with the taxis that they take in the bus station, many of them are informal and they tend to offer tourist services without having travel agency so it does not have any guarantee of the sold being in the end scams. Take as a suggestion our recommendation so that your stay in our country is of your total pleasure without spending any unpleasant moments. We look forward to your soon visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel El Huacachinero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Huacachinero Hotel
Hotel El Huacachinero Huacachina, Peru - Ica Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing