We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel - overpriced tours - awful breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Huacachinero
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Huacachina
Ica, Peru
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel - overpriced tours - awful breakfast”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This hotel is a mid-range two star hotel located in Huacachina. Huacachina is a very small town surrounding the oasis, so every hotel has a good location. The rooms are very average at the hotel. What is great about the hotel is the pool area - it is large, clean and surrounded by a lovely garden. Like just about every hotel in Huacachina, there is no TV and the internet is slower than molasses.

However, the tours here are a complete ripoff. Every single tour here is 50% more expensive than it should be. If you want to get a great price on a tour, just walk outside and the tour agency located right next door charged us excellent prices. I think the name was Pelican Travel or Pelican Tours.

The breakfast is terrible as well.

So there is nothing wrong with staying here, but definitely buy your tours elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeruIsCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    225
    100
    32
    23
See reviews for
69
267
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

When we arrived at El Huachinero they said they had no knowledge of our reservation which we had paid for through minihostel. I even showed them my printed online reservation confirmation but they simply refused to acknowledge it. All they said was that it is not in their system and not their problem, and said that they were all fully booked and cannot help us. We checked in instead at Curasi and there they told us that it was a busy weekend in Peru and this hotel always just cancels reservations if they can get other guests at a higher price.

This is a very shameful practice and I suggest if anyone is staying at this place, please double and triple check your reservations with the hostel. However, even then, if they decide to cancel your stay at the very last minute, I guess there's nothing you can do.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerantauDunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed two nights at this place. The room was very nice and clean. The pool area was very nice and the pool itself very clean. The hotel has an own restaurant which serves very good food. But as other reviewers observed the breakfast was a joke. I mean for the money you spend I think you can at least expect some eggs included in the rooms price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewZHCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I slept in a dorm with 8 beds which where empty therfore I had the wohle room for me ! Rooms and bathrooms are clean. At night it was noisy since the street is very close. The dinner was very good mashed potatoes (had it two times how good it was) the pool is nice an clean and enough sun lounge to lay down. I asked for a blow dryer which never came. Still I recommend this place because it was clean an nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReJoSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Hotel Huacachinero is an expensive place in Huacachina. The rooms are average,the breakfast poor for the price. I booked a Pisco tasting tour with them which after the guy turning up over an hour late,then wanted me to wait some more. I decided to take a taxi to the Tacama vineyard & was a fraction of the cost they quoted me. After this fiasco I cancelled my sand buggying with them in the afternoon & booked for less than half price a few doors down. This place is over priced & run by unfriendly staff,go elsewhere!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadicnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Rooms simple and clean (right standard for price), however the pool, restaurant / bar and service all exceeded standards for price range. Very relaxing and welcoming. Dune buggying / sandboarding and wine / pisco tour offered by the hotel all great fun and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AVtravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Although the rooms were clean and spacious, it is very noisy SO close to THE road with the sand buggies leaving very early. Most disappointing was THE extremely poor breakfast and unfriendly treatment at breakfast.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Vermeren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huacachina
0.1 mi away
Hosteria Suiza
Hosteria Suiza
#4 of 5 in Huacachina
212 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Las Dunas
Hotel Las Dunas
#2 of 28 in Ica
1,113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hospadeje Rocha
Hospadeje Rocha
#5 of 5 in Huacachina
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Las Flores
Hotel Las Flores
#4 of 28 in Ica
235 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hacienda San Juan Resort
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Jazmin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Huacachinero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Huacachinero

Property: Hotel El Huacachinero
Address: Av Perotti s/n | Balneario de Huacachina - Ica, Huacachina, Peru
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Huacachina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Huacachina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Huacachinero 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the huacachinero hotel, we are a company dedicated to tourism providing lodging and food. In our establishment you will find quality of service, tranquility, relaxation and good attention. We inform our visitors to be careful with the taxis that they take in the bus station, many of them are informal and they tend to offer tourist services without having travel agency so it does not have any guarantee of the sold being in the end scams. Take as a suggestion our recommendation so that your stay in our country is of your total pleasure without spending any unpleasant moments. We look forward to your soon visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel El Huacachinero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Huacachinero Hotel
Hotel El Huacachinero Huacachina, Peru - Ica Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing